City of Greater Geelong Employee Reviews

Showing all 14 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to test ones skill set
Casual Team Member (Former Employee) –  Geelong VIC19 October 2018
Great area to work, some people ok but very in-house culture. Don’t expect to get to get a job here if a casual unless you know someone in management, nepotism is rife and there is no way they live up to their so called “ values” . Culture is based on popularity and nepotism.
Pros
Field work
Cons
Micro management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, hardly any progression opportunity
Leisure Services Officer (Current Employee) –  Geelong VIC21 August 2017
Overall, I enjoyed work here, but found there was no real chance for career progression. Positions are either casual or temporary contract. The people in full-time positions are more concerned about covering their roles than giving credit where it's due and often take the ideas of others and pass it off as their own.
Pros
Flexible hours, great pay, great environment
Cons
Hardly any chance to progress, management tend to be secretive
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional organisation who values employees.
SCHOOL HOLIDAY PROGRAM LEADER, CARER, EDUCATOR (Former Employee) –  North Shore NSW23 June 2017
Working with a great team of like minded people who are focused and pro-active.
Very supportive management structure.
Opportunities for professional development that is paid by employer.
High levels of professional knowledge and practice expected.
Pros
Flexible shifts and management support for all staff.
Cons
Lack of funding for vital intervention support.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
satisfying work
cogg (Former Employee) –  Geelong VIC30 January 2017
good management and satisfying clients and carers needs.
work experience as it was first job in this field.
quality and satisfying job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing
Futsal Referee (Former Employee) –  Geelong VIC29 December 2016
Amazing enviroment for work and a great place to get experiance. Well payed employees and great place to meet new people and gain great relationships with other people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working team
Town planner for Workshop (Former Employee) –  Geelong VIC19 June 2016
. good work balance and friendly treatment
. great co - workers
. responsible superiors
. good paymant
. independent work and also team work
. good paymant on weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work environment
Business Internship (Former Employee) –  Geelong VIC23 May 2016
My time at the CoGG was positive. I was very fortunate to have experienced an internship in the Finance Department. The team displayed respect for their manager and were hard-working. I was made welcome and feel very fortunate to have had such a positive introduction back into the workforce.
Pros
flexibility
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seemed a great place until you started
Room Leader (Former Employee) –  Geelong VIC8 March 2016
The workplace did not give you an induction. There were many forms that you were not told about. The computer system was slow. When you asked for something you were told to get someone else to do it. You were asked to voice your concerns that you had with staff to them, but this was only for a certain few. Private meeting were not always held in private. There was a culture of if you do not fit we will make your life difficult.
Pros
higher pay bigger organisation
Cons
culture of uindermining
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
every day is different and rewarding
Personal Care Worker (Current Employee) –  Geelong, VIC25 September 2015
i enjoy my role but my life style has changed and now i am looking for a afternoon or night job. management is well supportive and very understanding. decent amount of policies and very conscience of health and safety in the working environment.
Pros
great working conditions
Cons
doesn't suit my life style anymore cause of studing
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
holiday float
Early Years Educator (Former Employee) –  Geelong, VIC12 September 2015
as the holiday float I got the travel around the Geelong area working in 6 different centres. some hours may have been 3 or 8. depending on who i was covering.
i would walk into a new centre and would have to pick up on everything quickly. the children and staff names. the room routine and where everything was kept. it was full on and it was hard to keep up at some points once you get use to one centre its off to the next one.
Pros
the looked after you well being a council job
Cons
moving around too much
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working culture
Team Leader Parks Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Geelong, VIC13 May 2015
Good understanding and needs of all staff enjoy able place to work,provide training,organisation had terrific career path.Found it difficult to progress within the organisation
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 7Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
City Of greater Geelong
Group fitness instructor (Current Employee) –  Geelong, VIC26 April 2014
I currently have several permanent group fitness position with city of Greater Geelong teaching Aqua aerobics, Boxing, circuit and cycle classes and fill in on a casual basis where I am required.
Pros
Support and training
Cons
Lack of ability to gain full time employment due to OH&S council guidelines, point system they have in place that limits how many classes you can take in a 72 hour period.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 9Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All round. A good place to gain experience with local government
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Geelong3 July 2013
Many areas to move around in whilst being apart of local government.

Strong professional roles however a few and far between.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 4Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at City of Greater Geelong. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 14 reviews
55
46
31
21
11

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.5Culture

City of Greater Geelong Reviews by Location