CIVMEC Employee Reviews

Found 52 reviews matching the search See all 53 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job great team
Painting Supervisor/inspector (Former Employee) –  Tennant Creek NT12 July 2019
Tennant Creek gas pumping station dry camp which was good town 30 ks away bus in once a week if wanted to go in for supplies or a drink good gym if need great company to work for
Pros
food was avg in the camp however you could go into town once a week if wanted
Cons
10 hours a day 21 straight good $
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced - Can be forgotten
Project Administrator Traineeship (Former Employee) –  Tomago NSW9 July 2019
Fast Paced - Can be forgotten
Most people are friendly
I was given 1 weeks notice outside my probation period
Didn't get to complete my full contract.
Put off for no reason to do with the work i produced
I wasn't secure.
Pros
Pick your starting and finishing time
Cons
Put off 1/4 through my contract
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just don’t do it!
Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Grafton NSW21 February 2019
I worked at the Grafton correctional centre for around 6 months. The safety on the job was appalling, a lot of incidents went unreported. The management was just push push push and more worried about hitting targets and new records every week than safety of the guys out on the floor. Management were continually in breach of contract, trying to change the goal posts all the time. The redundancy pay outs, were almost impossible to receive as it was written into the contract so as to be paid out at the descretion of Civmec HR. Getting any tools or materials was impossible due to the ridiculous budget that they had set. As Civmec put a roof over the precast yard that was on site on the jail grounds, Civmec employees were not entitled to all of the benefits of the rest of the site, ie no rdo’s, no site allowance. I have black listed Civmec as a company I would work for in the future.
Pros
Some good guys on site
Cons
Long hours, pushed to the limit and know nothing leading hands and supervision
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Camp life style
Mechanical Fitter (Former Employee) –  Weipa QLD16 October 2018
Job was a normal mining project had it's ups and downs, not run as well as it should have. Typical day at work was starting one job then moving onto another without finishing the first, partly supervisors doing.
Pros
20 days on 8 days roster
Cons
The way they demobilised employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun after work
Painter / Blaster (Former Employee) –  Henderson WA 616628 July 2018
nice and very tidy painting shed.
its a nice working place and very safe to everyone.
it's a lot of CCTV to review whats going on.
people and work mate are approachable,
Pros
free PPE
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good balance
Industrial Blaster/Painter - JKC Project (Current Employee) –  Darwin NT8 July 2018
I enjoyed working with the Civmec team. Managers and supervisors were good and fair. Management were understanding and supporting of all the crew. It was unfortunate the contract ended as I really enjoyed working for Civmec.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always have work
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Western Australia28 May 2018
An integrated multi-disciplinary heavy engineering and construction provider to the metals and minerals, oil and gas, infrastructure, water and energy, as well as marine and defence markets.
Pros
Win a lot of work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 10Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never again terrible management
Boilermaker/Welder (Former Employee) –  Tomago NSW6 May 2018
Even if you are desperate steer well clear of this company, covering up safety issues to having shoddy work practises is all in a day's work for them. Supervisors scream at you if you put the tools down for even a second, no talking and don't get me started on the manager who intimidates and threatens his staff because of not working on a weekend.

Would not be surprised if they have a death real soon numerous injuries not reported or if so covered up.

Hardest part of the job doing 6 sometimes 7 days a week and being burnt out.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Long hours, supervisors scream in your face, threatening manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace Culture
Role - Project and Site Administrator (Current Employee) –  St Leonards NSW4 May 2018
Management and work culture is best for the new starters. A lot to learn and experienced by learning new things. Management is very friendly and supportive.
Pros
weekend Treats
Cons
Frequent Travels
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 10Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful on all levels
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Grafton Gaol11 March 2018
Safety was an absolute joke. Management pushing to get the job done without the right gear for the job. They deserve to be shutdown on the job i was on. Basic safety protocols not adhered to or non existent. Unprofessional and embaressing to be part of it.
Office clowns with no idea telling the boys how to do their jobs. Engineer given too much power with bad attitude and socially inept. Was above everyone.
Everything was about budget budget budget.
Wouldnt even supply tea or coffee for the workers !!!
Never again.
Pros
Leaving
Cons
Dodgey work practices across the board
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never Assume
Safety Advisor (Commissioning-Nightshift) (Current Employee) –  Darwin NT26 February 2018
Civmec is a organisation on the move. The company is growing constantly and have a will do can do approach to all scopes of work on the Ichthys project.
Management are constantly checking with Superintendents, supervisors and leading hands to ensure workers safety, welfare and work life balance is not only achieved but maintained.
Pros
On arrival greeted by company rep, issued with ordered PPE and made to feel welcome.
Cons
Technology challenges when working remote to HO
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 14Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good oportunity
Mechanical Fitter (Former Employee) –  Henderson WA30 January 2018
Good company to work for, good opportunities , close to home, great people to work with, good learning opportunities and experience gained on their projects.
Pros
Full time work
Cons
Less time with family
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 12Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Quality Inspector (Current Employee) –  Darwin NT8 January 2018
Growing Company. Good people. The company is growing and doing a variety of work all over Australia. I am working at Darwin site and the work culture here is fantastic. The management is happy to help.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 10Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place to work with
Graduate Mechanical Engineer (Current Employee) –  Henderson WA8 November 2017
no self development, poor management skills, extreme long working hours, salary is below average market rate. Every project has tight budget, push the guys on floor too hard. Working environment is also a disaster
Pros
everything
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work mates were great and we worked as a team
Fluxcore/Stainless steel Welder (Former Employee) –  Henderson WA18 June 2017
I really liked the bosses, i know some may seem they are tuff on people at first, but that's how to motivate people! And get the job done. we worked to a high quality standard, i worked for them 4 or 5 times. i would love to go back
Pros
good welding machines, well maintained
Cons
long hrs and want you to work sat/ sundays, but were ok with just the sats
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 13Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team focused on end results without compromising safety
Mechanical Project Engineer (Former Employee) –  Roy hill Project WA9 June 2017
Camp food was mediocre while team moral was quite strong. Unfortunately they were not successful in obtaining the final commissioning work and had to let the team dissolve.
Pros
Good team from tradies through to manager
Cons
Salaries were below market rate in order to compete with goodline
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 7Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
could improve but overall not to bad of a place to work
Boilermaker (Former Employee) –  Tomago NSW23 May 2017
not a bad place to work will be better once they have there facility up and running properly. only bad thing was the drawings not the best to understand and they had lots of measurement and welding details missing
Pros
interesting and challenging work
Cons
drawings
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Pre cast concrete / labourer (Former Employee) –  Tomago NSW9 May 2017
It is a very good work site n workforce safety comes first at civmec they are a top Bush of people regret leaving there , they have a good work ethic n many areas to work in n plenty of ongoing work
Pros
Friendly workforce
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good bunch of lads,mainly civil dirt scratchers,
Scaffolder (Former Employee) –  Port Hedland WA3 May 2017
An unusual collection of people,lots of 457 visa holders,who by the way were great lads trying to earn a buck.
Management seemed a bit fractured and struggled with the client.
We made it fun and caught a few fish plus had a good time at the camp.
Pros
Fishing
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
supporting company in all your needs.
Pipe Fitter (Former Employee) –  Port Hedland WA13 March 2017
very friendly all my co workers, no discrimination, I love work in civmec. at all time, I hoping get the job in civmec in construction.thank you thank you
Pros
yes
Cons
yes
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 6Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CIVMEC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 53 reviews
515
416
39
25
18

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture