CIVMEC Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good balance
Industrial Blaster/Painter - JKC Project (Current Employee) –  Darwin NT8 July 2018
I enjoyed working with the Civmec team. Managers and supervisors were good and fair. Management were understanding and supporting of all the crew. It was unfortunate the contract ended as I really enjoyed working for Civmec.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never again terrible management
Boilermaker/Welder (Former Employee) –  Tomago NSW6 May 2018
Even if you are desperate steer well clear of this company, covering up safety issues to having shoddy work practises is all in a day's work for them. Supervisors scream at you if you put the tools down for even a second, no talking and don't get me started on the manager who intimidates and threatens his staff because of not working on a weekend.

Would not be surprised if they have a death real soon numerous injuries not reported or if so covered up.

Hardest part of the job doing 6 sometimes 7 days a week and being burnt out.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Long hours, supervisors scream in your face, threatening manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace Culture
Role - Project and Site Administrator (Current Employee) –  St Leonards NSW4 May 2018
Management and work culture is best for the new starters. A lot to learn and experienced by learning new things. Management is very friendly and supportive.
Pros
weekend Treats
Cons
Frequent Travels
Was this review helpful?YesNo 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful on all levels
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Grafton Gaol11 March 2018
Safety was an absolute joke. Management pushing to get the job done without the right gear for the job. They deserve to be shutdown on the job i was on. Basic safety protocols not adhered to or non existent. Unprofessional and embaressing to be part of it.
Office clowns with no idea telling the boys how to do their jobs. Engineer given too much power with bad attitude and socially inept. Was above everyone.
Everything was about budget budget budget.
Wouldnt even supply tea or coffee for the workers !!!
Never again.
Pros
Leaving
Cons
Dodgey work practices across the board
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never Assume
Safety Advisor (Commissioning-Nightshift) (Current Employee) –  Darwin NT26 February 2018
Civmec is a organisation on the move. The company is growing constantly and have a will do can do approach to all scopes of work on the Ichthys project.
Management are constantly checking with Superintendents, supervisors and leading hands to ensure workers safety, welfare and work life balance is not only achieved but maintained.
Pros
On arrival greeted by company rep, issued with ordered PPE and made to feel welcome.
Cons
Technology challenges when working remote to HO
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good oportunity
Mechanical Fitter (Former Employee) –  Henderson WA30 January 2018
Good company to work for, good opportunities , close to home, great people to work with, good learning opportunities and experience gained on their projects.
Pros
Full time work
Cons
Less time with family
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Quality Inspector (Current Employee) –  Darwin NT8 January 2018
Growing Company. Good people. The company is growing and doing a variety of work all over Australia. I am working at Darwin site and the work culture here is fantastic. The management is happy to help.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible place to work with
Graduate Mechanical Engineer (Current Employee) –  Henderson WA8 November 2017
no self development, poor management skills, extreme long working hours, salary is below average market rate. Every project has tight budget, push the guys on floor too hard. Working environment is also a disaster
Pros
everything
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 24NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work mates were great and we worked as a team
Fluxcore/Stainless steel Welder (Former Employee) –  Henderson WA18 June 2017
I really liked the bosses, i know some may seem they are tuff on people at first, but that's how to motivate people! And get the job done. we worked to a high quality standard, i worked for them 4 or 5 times. i would love to go back
Pros
good welding machines, well maintained
Cons
long hrs and want you to work sat/ sundays, but were ok with just the sats
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 11Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team focused on end results without compromising safety
Mechanical Project Engineer (Former Employee) –  Roy hill Project WA9 June 2017
Camp food was mediocre while team moral was quite strong. Unfortunately they were not successful in obtaining the final commissioning work and had to let the team dissolve.
Pros
Good team from tradies through to manager
Cons
Salaries were below market rate in order to compete with goodline
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
could improve but overall not to bad of a place to work
Boilermaker (Former Employee) –  Tomago NSW23 May 2017
not a bad place to work will be better once they have there facility up and running properly. only bad thing was the drawings not the best to understand and they had lots of measurement and welding details missing
Pros
interesting and challenging work
Cons
drawings
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace
Pre cast concrete / labourer (Former Employee) –  Tomago NSW9 May 2017
It is a very good work site n workforce safety comes first at civmec they are a top Bush of people regret leaving there , they have a good work ethic n many areas to work in n plenty of ongoing work
Pros
Friendly workforce
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good bunch of lads,mainly civil dirt scratchers,
Scaffolder (Former Employee) –  Port Hedland WA3 May 2017
An unusual collection of people,lots of 457 visa holders,who by the way were great lads trying to earn a buck.
Management seemed a bit fractured and struggled with the client.
We made it fun and caught a few fish plus had a good time at the camp.
Pros
Fishing
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
supporting company in all your needs.
Pipe Fitter (Former Employee) –  Port Hedland WA13 March 2017
very friendly all my co workers, no discrimination, I love work in civmec. at all time, I hoping get the job in civmec in construction.thank you thank you
Pros
yes
Cons
yes
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working environment & good compensation package
Quantity Surveyor (Former Employee) –  Henderson WA6 March 2017
Civmec has great people to work with and a good working environment. Most of the staff are friendly and motivated to work with and has a lot of experienced to share.
Coping with the amount of work that the company took on, the time frame & deadlines are some of the challenge that you must get over the line.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay rate is too low
Welder (Current Employee) –  Newcastle NSW20 February 2017
Big company but pay rate is too low. And hard working. Its too hard for workers.

You need to think before working.
Thinking first. Its important
Pros
Close to home
Cons
Low pay rate
Was this review helpful?Yes 20NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive but not enjoyable
Pipe Fitter / Special Class Welder (Former Employee) –  Perth WA15 January 2017
you get treated as a dog no body says good morning the,management wont even acknowledge you, there is no thanks for the effort you put in or over time done, the work is good it is very exciting and precise but i resigned on my own accord because i refuse to work in a place like that.
Pros
close to home
Cons
English is the third language
Was this review helpful?Yes 22No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Boilermaker (Former Employee) –  Henderson WA29 October 2016
safety meeting,reading and signing of JSA prior to start of works start at 6;30 am, I learned how to adjust my self meeting new people new environment, The hardest part of my job is being layed off,meeting new people
Pros
great pay and binifits
Cons
not enough works
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work
Boilermaker (Former Employee) –  Kwinana WA3 October 2016
Well paid, but hard working
Not much chance of job advancement
job security not very good, very big turnover of people
if not got excellent knowledge of trade you will not work here.
Pros
good pay
Cons
bad reputation of how men are treated
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sweat shop
Senior Fabrication Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Henderson WA10 August 2016
civmec is a sweat shop with a my way or the highway attitude and a basically do as i say attitude. Management at civmec flex there muscles all the time and will stomp on anyone who doesnt agree with them
Was this review helpful?Yes 45No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CIVMEC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 47 reviews
513
414
39
24
17

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture