Coles Employee Reviews in Brisbane QLD

Found 78 reviews matching the search See all 2,454 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun fast pace great work place employment oppatunities
dawn&night fill (Former Employee) –  Brisbane, QLD2 November 2014
great place to work very fast pace type of work can be long hours of work make new friends great oppatunities to learn new skills if you are a school leaver looking for work
Pros
great working conditions
Cons
good payments fast pace work place
Was this review helpful?Yes 33No 12Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good workplace
Service Assistant (checkout operator) (Former Employee) –  Brisbane, QLD28 October 2014
i was working at Coles Fremantle in WA, Australia for over four years, i enjoyed working there with all the team, then i had to move to Brisbane, QLD. So i continued (transferred) to work at another Coles there, which was at Coles Myer Centre. It was another very busy place and great place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retail Assistant
Customer Service Rep/ Front Counter (Current Employee) –  Inala, Brisbane AUS5 August 2014
A day at work includes serving customers at the check out, finding product that cannot be found, assisting customers with any enquiries, general house cleaning, refunds or exchanges, handling of smokes and working in the deli. Management are very helpful and our team is great. Hardest part of the job is seeing customers unsatisfied with the service they have received. Most enjoyable part is meeting new people and building rapport with customers.
Pros
free dress day, free luch sometimes
Cons
prolong standing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Service Night Manager (Former Employee) –  Brisbane, QLD8 July 2014
I enjoyed working at Coles! A typical day would include making sure the store was presentable, the staff was organised and the flow of customers was steady.
It was sad to leave my co workers but luckily it is my local Coles so I still see them in and out of work!

The most enjoyable part of Coles is they where very helpful of helping me advance in Coles! The hardest was leaving.
Pros
Making friends, work celebrations
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
customer service officer (Former Employee) –  Brisbane, QLD25 June 2014
A typical day at Coles was getting into work, make sure everything was presentable, then serve customers, and if there were not many people, clean up my area or stack shelves. My co-workers were very friendly and so was management. The hardest part would be when complaints about products were made, the most enjoyable part was making customers happy!
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work is good with nice and understude customers
Team Member (Night Filler) (Former Employee) –  Brisbane, QLD7 April 2014
1. When customer want item which is the not available in store and load is too much such as not enough team member.

2. Better customer experience and work in team.

3. Management is very good as I want.

4. My Co-workers is very helpful.

5. Talk with the customer who is very aggressive.

6. All work is done time to time and bosses is happy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 44No 23Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sense of achievment after hard day
2IC Nightfill (Current Employee) –  Brisbane, QLD10 March 2014
good people, who have become family. ability to learn new things everyday due to pressures of retail.
Pros
free lunches, great christmas party
Cons
hours, advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun chilled out work place
Deli Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brisbane11 February 2014
Serving customer, Slice/Shave meat, clean
How to talk to and great customers in a polite manner
fun, easy to get along with hardworking people
learning how to slice the meats with the slicer
Seeing the regulars come in and having a chat to them always makes my day
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
More like a friendship club than work.
Deli Manager (Current Employee) –  Brisbane, QLD7 December 2013
Most people are positive, interesting and fun. You have some that can sometimes bring down the vibe but generally its a hectic but happy place to work! Some people are set in their ways and find it hard to adust to small changes, it is always a work in progress! The best part of my job would be personal satisfaction on getting the job done. The worst would be dealing with team members who tend to not want go with change.
Pros
Free breakfast and always some type of food avail in team room.
Cons
Long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learnt different aspects of this company
Checkout Operator (Former Employee) –  Chermside, Brisbane19 November 2013
I was very happy with Coles but was working at Kedron Wavell Services Club at the time in a permanent part-time position. I was offered a permanent position, it was beneficial to my living arrangements so I took the position and sadly had to quit my positon at Coles.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the diverse cultures and personality out there
Service Attendant (Former Employee) –  West End, Brisbane City8 November 2013
Store Manager was a brilliant person.
service managers changed and my first she was great, second not bad for a young person he was fair and good to work alongside.
All my supervisors were great, enthusiastic and created good vibes.
Hardest part was changing the mindset that self service is an amazing technology due to, speed, doing your self and that we are in a society world wide that rely on debit cards not sole cash.

Loved it out there as there were so many diverse cultures being from a small country I met some amazing people.

Store manager and all managers present were pretty great to work for and alongside.
Pros
Always busy, friendly crowds awesome team to work alongside
Cons
Wages
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safe place to work
DEPARTMENT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Brisbane, QLD12 August 2013
is one of Australias biggest employers and offer so many opportunititys for everyone that works for them they have a very strong culture for health & safety .they also have great team culture which makes time fly when you are there.
Pros
free tea & coffee, team discount
Cons
no overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
happy working there, sad to leave
Checkout Operator (Former Employee) –  Brisbane, QLD1 June 2013
I enjoyed making friendships with management and employees, always worked extra shifts and it wasn't for the money either.
Pros
loved working with the employers/employees
Cons
wasn't offered full time position which made me sad
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy environment with plenty of customer service experience.
Checkout operator (Former Employee) –  Brisbane Queensland7 January 2013
Working on the checkout serving a variety of people.
Efficient service and dealing with customers in a friendly manner.
At times it can be hard when a customer is difficult but remember to stay calm and polite is the main focus.
My co-workers were helpful and I got along well with them.
The most enjoyable part of the job was being busy and talking to customers while you serve them.
Pros
discount card for groceries and petrol
Cons
sometimes you can be run off your feet
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average work experience
Grocery Assistant (Former Employee) –  Toombul, Brisbane, Queensland16 December 2012
Coles toombul was your run of the mill jobs in a big company, just get in, get the job done, clock off, good bye. alright job, pay was average as well.
Pros
was easy job
Cons
to far from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace with free lunches
customer service representative (Former Employee) –  brisbane5 July 2012
thursday
how to work in the team
my co-workers were so helpful and kind
the most enjoyable moment of the job is when you working on teams
Pros
free lunches
Cons
short hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and help customers with my seafood information and skills
Seafood specialist (Former Employee) –  Albany Creek Brisbane25 June 2012
I worked 6.00am to 3.00 p.m
I learned that supermarkets hide a lot from the public
management - no room for compromising
most co-workers great to work with very uniformed
the hardest part of the job I found was the management
the most enjoyable part of the job was giving customer service
Pros
did not find any
Cons
lots of unpaid overtime hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport

See more Coles reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Coles. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 2,454 reviews
5825
4770
3581
2156
1122

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture