Coles Employee Reviews in Perth WA

Found 81 reviews matching the search See all 2,455 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work environment and team
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Perth WA3 July 2017
Normally, I do evening shifts from 15-23 Tuesday to Saturday. And its quite busy at those times because everyone stops on their way home. I usaully work on my own and I like working independently. I have learned a lot from this job. I have learned things like Time management, Customer relations, Supply chain, Managing stock levels and a lot more. I really like the management particularly at my site and the team at my store is really very friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging workplace
Night fill worker (Former Employee) –  Perth,Australia12 June 2017
Loading and offloading supermarket goods
Refilling of supermarket shelves.

I learned a lot about occupational health and safety procedures

The workplace hard a very diverse workforce.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inconsistent
Online shopper (Current Employee) –  Perth WA25 May 2017
I was hired and given no shifts putting everything on the line. Other than that good pay and good member benefits for working at coles supermarkets :)
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace. Hard and easy work. Perfect work time for me.
Nightfill worker (Former Employee) –  WA Perth8 May 2017
Was a great workplace for me to work at as a I had another job during the day. Hard and easy work. Worked well with my team members. Relaxed environment. Easy going environment.
Pros
flexibility
Cons
late nights working hard
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fulltime good environment
2IC Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Perth WA5 May 2017
All good, friendly and willing to help. Coles is a good place to develop your skills. Easy to get to by public transport. They do try to support you if they feel you have concerns.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Organised, Fast Paced
Deli Assistant (Current Employee) –  Perth WA1 May 2017
Has its ups and downs but all in all a good place to work. Get to learn heaps of skills and meet lots of good people. You also get discount at Coles and at other supermarkets such as kmart, liquor land, First Choice Liquor and more.
Pros
Discount
Cons
You can get bad hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Une excellente opportunité d'apprentissage.
Responsable de rayon (Former Employee) –  Perth Australia15 April 2017
Une société qui m'a ouvert les portes et m'a formé. Lorsque j'etais jeune et sans expérience dans le domaine Coles m'a donné la chance de faire partie de l'un des plus grands marchés de chaînes en Australie. Ils m'ont également permis de continuer mes études tout en travaillant, en adaptant mes horaires a mes cours, et pour ca je serai toujours reconnaissant.
Une fois que j'ai fais partie de la famille Coles, j'ai rapidement fait mon chemin jusqu'à ce que j'arrive au poste de responsable des fruits et légumes
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good and steady environment
Checkout Operator at Coles (Former Employee) –  Perth WA1 April 2017
Busy dealing with customers, learned to operate the cash register and work alone at the check out. Pleasant. Very busy but also helpful. The hardest part of the job was carrying heavy objects. The most enjoyable was helping the customers, particularly the elderly.
Pros
employee discount card
Cons
standing for a long time
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible workplace
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Perth WA21 March 2017
A typical day at work involved an eye for details and safety.
Learned highly emphasized aspects of fuel station as safety.
Store manager is highly involved in store operations which makes us feel like a supportive team.
Excellent after hour managerial support is provided by the Area Managers.
Hardest part of the job was to completely prevent fuel stealing.
The most enjoyable part was to meet people from all walks of life
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Hard work with short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
difficult to manage work life balance
Store manager (Former Employee) –  Perth WA20 March 2017
Very fast paced business constantly changing to suit customer needs. Every day you get to learn something new whether it be people relations or product descriptions.Typical day would start at 7am and usually end around 7pm
Pros
good teams to work with
Cons
work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly workplace with unorganised managers.
Deli Team Member (Current Employee) –  Perth WA14 March 2017
I wasn't trained very well when I was initially employed at Coles, I had to learn by asking questions and trial and error. Extremely friendly staff but a concerning turn-over rate for store managers and department managers. A few unrealistic expectations and poor communication with casual employees.
Pros
Friendly staff, respectful customers, clean environment.
Cons
Outdated technology, no discounts or benefits for casual staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Coles sales assistant (Former Employee) –  Perth WA13 March 2017
You get a lot of exercise working in the grocery department. You spend your day filling over stocks from out the back so lots of walking and lifting involved. The hardest part was when it was super busy stil, trying to fill as much stock as you could while helping customers. It can be a fun job and you make lots of friends
Pros
Staff discount
Cons
7days a week and open 8am-9pm
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goods In
Nightfill Captain (Current Employee) –  Perth WA7 March 2017
Cole's as with may retail stores, is at the moment a highly competitive supermarket. A typical day's work requires a lot of physical commitment. The work place culture is generally good but due to a high turn over of staff this can change,
Pros
staff discount
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashier
Service deck (Former Employee) –  Perth WA5 March 2017
Worked as a cashier and when there is no trolleys i go out and get trolleys. And at night i restock the items people didn't buy
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed going to work
Deli Team Member (Former Employee) –  Perth WA21 February 2017
The people there were lovely and always welling to help. I learned a lot working there and every day was different. I didn't only work in the deil, I also go hours in the checkouts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High expectation minimal rewards
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Perth WA31 January 2017
Management culture places high pressure & demands but offers little to no reward or incentives to good workers without playing the political game - culture has gotten progressively worse making countless promises and delivering minimal
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Team Member (Casual) (Former Employee) –  Perth WA8 January 2017
Coles is the great place to work where you satisfy the daily needs of the customers. The working atmosphere is full of fun and the fellow employees are friendly and ready to help at every step.
Pros
Free eating stuff in team room
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team to work with
Cash handling/till registrar operations (Former Employee) –  All of Perth WA7 December 2016
Every shift was enjoyable. management was excellent and team members was great to with and the customers was always a pleasure to serve them and help them find certain items that they had trouble locating when they are in a rush.
Pros
Just bieng able to make the customers leave the store with a smile on there face
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced but enjoyable. Great fun and nonstop energy required
Customer Service Manager (Former Employee) –  Perth WA3 October 2016
Coles has a wonderful culture, which is great to be a part of (depending on the store you work in), There is always something to do, so boredom is non existent. Advancement opportunities are bountiful for the right people, all you need is a good attitude and a little ambition.
Pros
Learn the operations of more than one department, ensuring multiple skill sets.
Cons
Management can have extremely long hours. Monthly salary is hard.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hours but a few problems with the people
Deli Team Member (Former Employee) –  Perth4 September 2016
Not the most inviting work place for people who suffer with mental health.

The hours I was given were great but I did have some issues regarding some of the people and like I mentioned above, with my mental health.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Coles. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 2,455 reviews
5825
4770
3581
2156
1123

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture