Coles Pay & Benefits reviews

Found 342 reviews matching the search See all 2,253 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Stock Accounting Co-ordinator (Former Employee) –  Tooranga7 November 2018
Did not enjoy my time at Coles. Satisfying al your bosses is the hardest part in the job.enjoyable part is good xmas party and you get lot of free stuffs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
team
Baker (Former Employee) –  South Morang VIC6 November 2018
most of the time it was good working as a team member, didn't like packing much, I preferred baking bread. most of the time it was enjoyable working as a team member
Pros
pay there every week
Cons
early hours pay not great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible
Cleaner, Vehicle Operator and Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Perth WA5 November 2018
The benefits of working for Coles supermarkets is the flexibility in both hours and location. There are so many options for stores to work at and roles to perform.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay to work at
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Balgowlah NSW5 November 2018
Flexible work hours though is not the most fulfilling job. The hours are long and it can be bad to work in customer service as the breaks are unpaid and only 15 minutes for 4 hours minimum
Pros
sunday rates
Cons
not very exciting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No shifts or work place standards
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Carindale QLD26 October 2018
If your getting bullied at work especially if it's by a disabled worker they won't do anything! I have no roster when I tell them they act surprised. Please avoid at all costs it's not worth the bullying and unorganisation they put you through
Pros
some friendly staff
Cons
Benefits are bad, hours, management, bad pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay starting point
Bakery Assistant (Former Employee) –  Shellharbour NSW26 September 2018
Coles is a great company to work for, however it depends who you work for. Store and department managers can either make or break you. Sometimes its hard to follow procedure and be taken advantage of. Overall, good environment but not a long term career.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working at coles in high school
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Sunnybank QLD25 September 2018
good place to work at with friendly people and a great cultural environment. i worked there part time during high school and the pay was pretty good for a high school job.
Pros
free food in lunch room and good discount
Cons
low hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked hard & the pay was great
Order Picker/Packer (Former Employee) –  Smeaton15 September 2018
Not the cleanest place to work. Picking of dry goods in a shed as big as 3 football ovals. I lost 10kg in 3mth and got paid top dollar with bonus on top
Pros
Pay
Cons
Long hours and very tried
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's good experience at work place
Deli Team Member (Current Employee) –  Alice Springs NT9 September 2018
It's good supermarket.work a lot always there.
They giving us choices which department you would like to work..always learning new skills
Offer us benefits .
I am at deli department it's great place
Pros
Discount always offer
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people
Coles Team Member (Former Employee) –  Parkinson QLD4 September 2018
there a good company to work for but they don't honour the agreement from the union as far as hours and age if you are loyal and old you'll be let go in dc
Pros
there is a union
Cons
your a number not a name
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Kareela NSW28 August 2018
Working in a supermarket is always fast-paced. I worked in a number of different departments but I think the most enjoyable was the deli. On service you are pretty much confined to a small area, but in the deli you are always moving around and doing a variety of tasks which is easier on the body and mind.
Pros
Salary, colleagues
Cons
Short staffing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace, positive attitudes.
Retail (Former Employee) –  Berkeley NSW15 August 2018
I would rate Coles Berkeley very high as they were positive people when working and explained jobs very clearly without confusion. I would recommend working at Coles Berkeley.
Pros
Good manager
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and organised work
Checkout Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW15 August 2018
easy to learn and helpful system of progression. Good and helpful culture and store organisation. Working with the different workers was very fun. It was easy to correct mistakes
Pros
lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very busy hands on job.
Customer Service/Night Fill (Current Employee) –  Mildura VIC12 August 2018
Its a great environment to work in. Most of the team members are easygoing and great to work with. Management is great and they make a point of getting to know a little about you and where you’d like your career to go.
Pros
Good salary
Cons
Late nights
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work PLacement
Work Placement (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD9 August 2018
Honestly, I enjoyed doing my work experience at Coles. It was unpaid but the people I worked with were really nice and the hours weren't too demanding. I definitely recommend Coles.
Pros
Flexibility, Work Culture, Breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Hours
Deli Manager (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC8 August 2018
I have worked for coles twice and both times have been very different. I worked in Hobart as a duty manager and in Melbourne as a Deli manager. Melbourne pays a lot more. In TAS I was on 65k and in VIC I'm on 75k. You can make good money but you'll work a lot of hours for free.
Pros
High Salary
Cons
Too many hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Made alot of good people
Shop Assistant (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Western Australia1 August 2018
Worked there for 5 yrs.Moving back to Perth, hopefully get a transfer.Worked in most departments during this time,was always overlooked for any progression and constantly overlooked when asking for more hours. Never stopped me still asking tho, persistence pays off they say....Maybe another store may open more opportunities in the future.
Pros
Nice people
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace with lunches for special occasions
Team member (Former Employee) –  Marsden QLD25 July 2018
Coles was a great environment to work in, very friendly co workers and great support from management. Everyone was always kind and greeted eachother whether we knew eachother personally or not.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
Not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understaffed and overworked in most cases
Customer Service Member/Meat Casual Manager (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW24 July 2018
Coles in most cases is understaffed in order to boost top managers bonuses. Employees are often taken advantage of, with many cases of unpaid overtime.
Pros
Good pay for adults
Cons
Overworked and understaffed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lovely place to work, wrong people get rewarded and other get the benefits
Team Member (Part Time) (Current Employee) –  Taree NSW13 July 2018
good company to work for works well with family people just wish there was more opportunities and more full time work im a butcher by trade worked in Syd doing the new servey set up and now I’m working in taree deli because i wanted to be closer to my son I had to loose a lot of hours and my pay rate
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Coles. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 2,254 reviews
5763
4716
3541
2135
199

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture