Coles Employee Reviews

Found 2,339 reviews matching the search See all 2,415 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Ballarat VIC24 February 2019
A amazing place to work at a typical day at work
i learned many things
good management and amazing Workplace culture
The hardest part about the job is long hours
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Nightfill Associate (Current Employee) –  Perth WA23 February 2019
I work with a great bunch of people so makes the night go faster.
I wouldn't say its a hard job, just a little pressure when its a big load & you are required to fill in the allocated times given.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing work experience
Produce Clerk (Former Employee) –  Kununurra WA21 February 2019
I had a great time working here. The pay rate was fantastic, especially on casual rate and the work was in general quite enjoyable. Healthy job atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working for Coles express excellent environment
Store Manager Shell (Former Employee) –  Adelaide SA21 February 2019
Can’t advance any further in my career looking for something that I can strive towards to better my self
And the company wanted to always be loss prevention
Pros
Excellent team
Cons
Don’t follow through with helping with your career
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management within store was poor
online shopper and stocker (Former Employee) –  Kellyville NSW19 February 2019
poor management with constant changes getting worse. went from casual to then being made part-time forced to do 10 hours a week or use up annual leave.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible Managment, decent pay
COLES TEAM MEMBER (Current Employee) –  Carindale QLD18 February 2019
I have now worked for Coles for over 3 years. I have constantly asked about progression and even just more hours, but the management seems to never want to respond to such requests and even ignores messages that I send to them about such topics.
Pros
decent pay
Cons
terrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning opportunity and appreciation for staff
Delicatessen Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ayr QLD17 February 2019
I enjoyed my job and looked forward to going each day. I interacted with customers which I enjoyed. I was a respected team member and my accomplishments were appreciated and acknowledged. I would recommend Coles as a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and supportative place to work
SUPERVISOR/DUTY MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Melbourne Western Suburbs VIC17 February 2019
You always have a great team to work with and an even better management team no matter which store you work at.
There is always room to progress your career and become something higher eg. a department manager and store manager.

they have a great work life balance and very flexible with their hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Shitt workplace with full of politics
Csr (Current Employee) –  North Melbourne VIC16 February 2019
The management is bad and there is no security of your job. One weeek you might not be getting any hours. Managers just think about themselves and there is no support.
Pros
None
Cons
No breaks, no appreciation, no support
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coles service team member
Coles Services (Current Employee) –  Bondi Junction NSW16 February 2019
The weekly tasks are hard work. Customers are always approaching you and asking you where things are. All you do for most of the shift is sweep the floors or mop the floors which gets boring over time. It is a very repetitive and brain dead job being a cleaner. No matter how hard you work the managers do not show appreciation it is just something that is expected. When you ask for more shifts they lie to you and say their budget is not enough. They also lie to you if you want to change departments so don’t bother. Coles Services lacks career progression as well I have had the same job for 4 years. The good thing is that there are a lot of team members that you can talk to if you get bored of the job.
Pros
Discount card, friendly team members
Cons
Short hours, bad area manager, hard work, repetitive job and can be boring
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team like family
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Goulburn15 February 2019
Was nice to have the social aspect in you're career, Meeting new people was interesting and you learn new things daily.
The workplace environment was always friendly and kind of like family which made it that much easier to get up daily and go to work.
The managers were always willing to help you in any avenue, Such as trying new departments and any issues that may arise.
The whole dynamic was great thoroughly enjoyed working for coles
Having the opportunity to work in different departments such as Deli etc was a great learning curve and brought up other opportunities in the customer service field.
I would probably say the hardest part of the job was the number of hours in which you stand, can be quite painfull although they do accommodate by having rubber mats.
Pros
Friendly staff
Cons
Standing for long periods of time
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coles Services Area Manager
AREA MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Australia15 February 2019
DONT EVER ACCEPT THIS ROLE

Money is poor on call 24/7 business can’t accept there is a work life balance issue ROMs are useless!

Who in a area regional manger has to replace sick calls of 130plus direct reports
Pros
Big company
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my 1st job in aus
Team member (Former Employee) –  Palmerston NT14 February 2019
i was worked coles
The atmosphere depends on the manager of the store but you can make a good atmosphere by good cooperation with the manager of each department. The best thing is the continuous income.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very enjoyable, excellent and productive.
Stacker (Former Employee) –  Victoria11 February 2019
It is a very good environment to be around.
Good and productive.
Every employer is kind and outgoing.
The group there is just very caring.
Alot of hard workers.
Teamwork is key.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I literally only did a week of work experience but it was good
Work Experience Student (Former Employee) –  Tooronga VIC8 February 2019
I did a week of work experience in their 'store support centre' and it was great, its such a cool facility but since i haven't actually worked there i can't really give a review.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be a easy place to work
Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC5 February 2019
I work 4am to 9am shifts as a cleaner (recovery clean) relatively easy
Sweep the produce area
Mop/use a machine to do the store floors and the back
Trolley collecting

If you finish quick i suggest you go back and sweep the produce cause people mess it legit while youre cleaning lol just clean as you go really
Not really a hard job its pretty brain dead just got to have common sense
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work, once used to working.
Customer Service Representative (Part Time) (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC4 February 2019
Good place to work at. Would have been better if the head office did themselves, as much as they require the team members to do. Work force is chill, majority of the work done there is easy and straigh tforward .
Pros
Team member benefits, like discounted movie tickets.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Managers
Online Team member (Former Employee) –  New South Wales3 February 2019
I had the opportunity to work with amazing managers and team members who were very supportive and helping.

Never faced any issues with holidays or leaves. The managers were very considerate and tried to helped with every obstacle that we faced.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Member
Team Member (Part Time) (Current Employee) –  Rhodes NSW2 February 2019
Best place to work with good team and good work environment.
Very understanding and safety first
Given equal respect and opportunity to grow.
Appreciation and work recognition
Pros
Healthy working environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fact paced workplace with over expecting management
Nightfiller (Current Employee) –  Toowoomba QLD2 February 2019
Working as nightfill for two years in Toowoomba for coles. The management was bad but colleagues were the best. Management Lacks communication to staff members especially nightfill. No appreciation for hard work. Managers Can be rude and very demanding, doesn’t matter if it’s the best you are giving. Almost always understaffed but nonetheless they imply as if there is always enough staff to do the job. But it’s all corporate manipulation to get more done in less time and with less staff to save more money so the managers can get the credit for saving money. Casuals aren’t given enough hours ever unless you go to manager every week and almost beg for more hours to pay the bills. Not a fair workplace as they make it look like. Really stressful. Only suited to those who can work really fast and put up with managers acting like CEOs.
Pros
Employment
Cons
Lack of communication and enough hours. No appreciation or feedback.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Coles. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 2,415 reviews
5813
4762
3572
2151
1117

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture