Coles Employee Reviews

Found 2,338 reviews matching the search See all 2,414 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trainee ship taught me alot about retail
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Noble Park VIC1 February 2019
one i my first jobs in retail. Did a trainee ship which taught me a lot.
I learnt how to count tills, use a register and to fill stock.Had a lot of fun at coles.
Pros
long hours
Cons
travel to school
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet and peaceful
Night Filler (Former Employee) –  South Hedland WA31 January 2019
Coles nightfill was a good quiet job with added benefits they are very towards employees and customers when dealing in retail I would work for them in the future
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast and Enjoyable
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Canberra ACT31 January 2019
Was always looking forward to working. Coles online was such a great experience. The manager was friendly and there was so many things to learn about.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Coles Services manager (Current Employee) –  Oakleigh VIC30 January 2019
Everyday is a different day for me
I have to be ready for everything from team not turning up been sick
Customers from all different back grounds
I have to do rosters that can change from one day to the next
they change with weather and events that are happening
I am training a new 2ic as my old 2ic got her own store so l have one year to my new 2ic ready for her store
I love working with my team teaching them to work together up training team
Make work fun and enjoyable to work in
Pros
Have a great team
Cons
Little break Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job for people studying
Checkout Operator (Former Employee) –  Kippa-Ring QLD29 January 2019
Coles accommodates its staff well and gives them long enough breaks. Good part time job for nights or weekends if you are studying. Can be hard with difficult customers, if worked in retail before than that wont be new to you.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced, generally friendly
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Werribee VIC29 January 2019
at times the environment would become stressful and fast paced but it also allowed employees to learn how to handle situations like those and help prepare themselves for things like that in the future
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
big
Trainee management program (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD28 January 2019
very large highly competitive industry of retail shopping in the super market supply chain. Great grounding for young people to be part of a large organisation.
Pros
hrs
Cons
lots
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working atmosphere
Coles Services Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Forest Hill VIC28 January 2019
Coles is a great place to work. Great rostering options and not much work load. Very competitive and less growth opportunities. It is a great first job for students to gain experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waikiki
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Waikiki WA26 January 2019
Never walk for waikiki the store manager she's so evil heartless one of the staff was working and she didn't even care to check if she was ok and with team she's too harsh on them. Worse place to work there with her.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very socialble
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Toowoomba QLD24 January 2019
This job had me talking to customers 24/7, i enjoyed the challenge but there was some nasty customer complaints i had to deal with. I would have continued to work at coles if i hadn't have moved area.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
assistant manager
Assistant Site Manager (Former Employee) –  Adelaide SA23 January 2019
These people are like family. Was a great place to work but needed more hours. Now they are catching up again to other 24/7 businesses. Would gladly work there again. No worries about mtd as they close at night now.
Pros
good people
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High expectations
Night Filler (Current Employee) –  Capalaba QLD22 January 2019
Coes as a brand name are ok to work for but in regards to night fill, it is very strenuous work. Hours have been reduced to minimise cost but work load has not reduced.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Environment
Night Fill Team Member (Current Employee) –  Lisarow NSW21 January 2019
Putting stock on shelves, directing customers to products.
Face to face customer service interaction
Management very comfortable talking to them
Workplace culture easy going
Christmas period very busy.
Easy work.
Pros
Free food sometimes in the break room
Cons
Working late at night.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
store Cleaning and trolley collection
Store Cleaning and Trolley Collection (Former Employee) –  Shepparton VIC21 January 2019
The most enjoyable part of the job is that you can work as a team/group and meet new faces each day as you help them out with the trolleys. The workplace culture is friendly and supportive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coles
Store Person (Former Employee) –  Coles Northam WA 640121 January 2019
Coles is a great company to work for I wish I had never left respectfully for what I thought was a better opportunity. It is very hard to get employed by them again as everyone wants a job with them you find yourself competing with hundreds of people for one job there.
Pros
Good Work Enviroment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Various departments to work around
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Blacktown NSW21 January 2019
Being able to work in an environment where there are numerous departments ensures you're not doing the same thing day in, day out. Management can be a little tough.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace, always meeting new people
Department Manager, Fresh produce (Former Employee) –  Liverpool NSW21 January 2019
nice place to work.
It has some great benefits
Always on the go.
every day has challenges
always trying to get the best out of you.
learnt how to keep my order within sales expectations
also learnt how to keep my waste low.
Pros
free light meals.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Salary was ok
Checkout Assistant (Former Employee) –  Adelaide SA20 January 2019
The workers were lovely and made lots of friends there. However the managers weren't the kindest. The pay was good for my age whilst working there and is a good starting job
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well balanced and organised workplace.
Team Member (Casual) (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC19 January 2019
Coles offered me a fantastic first job experience. I learnt so much from other team members about work life culture and the responsible ways to conduct yourself in the workforce. The pay for a casual team member was very good and the Sunday rates were also phenomenal, but as soon as I turned 18, I began receiving one shift a week (3 hours) which is not substantial for a Univeristy student. Overall, I think Coles is a fantastic company to work for.
Pros
Sunday rates
Cons
Long periods standing in the one position
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work!
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kalgoorlie WA18 January 2019
Working at Coles(Hannans, Kalgoorlie) was an amazing experience. The store has such a lovely and pleasant atmosphere at all times. The staff is super friendly and the managers are very understanding to their team. The workload is always smooth and fun
Pros
Discount Cards, Awesome Team room, easy communication, decent hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Coles. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 2,414 reviews
5812
4762
3572
2151
1117

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture