Compass Group Australia Employee Reviews

Found 168 reviews matching the search See all 188 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Compass Group is a very incompetent company.
Mine Site Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Central Queensland30 April 2019
I have just quit Compass after 8mths because when you DIDO for me it was 9hrs driving in the beginning. They are forever messing up accommodation, 3 times now for me. Wages are minimal for the amount of work expected of you. Never paid my bonus which is owing, and wages always wrong or late. Management in Queensland and now WA is totally incompetent and never there to assist staff. Paperwork is horrendous and expected to do on your time.
Pros
None
Cons
Heaps
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff that is where it ends
Manager (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW23 April 2019
sub standard management. Employees could work on their own micro management just frustrates them to the point of no longer caring. Complete lack of recognition for efforts
Pros
Nil
Cons
Penny saving pay terrible management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place ever worked at
Chef (Former Employee) –  Longford VIC19 April 2019
Worse place I've ever worked at. Expectations were exorbitant with limited staff and the bullying if jobs weren't completed was awful. Had site manager threaten us with job losses at morning meetings every day if we didn't get work completed. Staff were nasty to each other and snappy due to the pressure placed on them. Site manager would cut your hours if you couldn't work on short notice. I could keep going. Caused me severe anxiety that I had to leave immediately.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Bullying, short ataffed, family never taken into consideration
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad moral
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD29 March 2019
Constant walking, team moral back stabbing,
Casuals do majority of the work.
Huge turnover of staff.
Management back stabbing.
Would not suggest to work there.
Pros
A Job
Cons
Walking non stop, low pay, bad moral.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Abc
Catering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gympie QLD24 February 2019
Great people to work with. No support from management. Wanted you to work for nothing. No time for personal needs. Non stop until your shift was finished.
Pros
Short hours
Cons
No respect
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely hostile work environment
Kitchen Hand (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD12 February 2019
After working diligently at an organisation for over a decade, Compass took over business and has driven me to seek new employment. The manager is manipulative and has no respect for their loyal employees. The manager refuses to engage in constructive communication and has turned a place of enjoyment into one not at all conducive to mental wellbeing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job security but at a terrible cost
Chef (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC24 January 2019
As an experienced qualified chef I hoped to make a difference by joining Compass Group. Upon resigning I was disillusioned, burnt out and quite frankly appalled at the quality of workmanship from fellow chefs and the non existent professionalism from so called managers and the ah hem, management team (old adage, there's no I in team).

Hire unqualified chefs....pay them low wages and wonder why the results are disappointing with high staff turnover. No care from these 'chefs', no inspiration/leadership/discipline from highly paid senior chef who played with the computer all day while subordinates slaved to reach unattainable targets. Severe lack of qualifications. Jobs for unskilled, inexperienced and image obsessed mates at management level and nepotism rife at base level. WHS not complied with, horrific breaches were commonplace, communication non existent except for the usual bully boy tactics.

Stress cascades down from leaders at Head Office through to the scurrying mice Area Managers down to the overloaded Site Managers. Quality leaders/staff end up rejoining the outside world of hospitality leaving gaps that cannot be filled. Resultant situation of much outsourcing of apparently 'green' friendly food items with a massive carbon footprint, suppliers/supply chain not interested in quality just the lowest agreed price for the lowest quality raw food items....folks, you're eating this rubbish at venues around Australia, target levels aren't met, KPI’S aren't achieved, business initiatives lack spark and are woefully behind contemporary hospitality directions/trends
  more... and look out if you don't tow the line in adopting these so called revenue generating strategies as the affectionately titled Business Analysts will be monitoring the site. The CIM's are brought in to fix the mess. Guys, put a broom through some sites and start afresh.

For free thinkers, those with passion, drive, focus and energy stay away from this company or get out quickly before it vacuums every ounce of life out of you. Expected unpaid overtime, vile co workers, harassing one up managers, no rewards or recognition....the pittance of a salary isn't worth selling your soul for.
  less
Pros
Stable employment
Cons
Low wages, awful management hierarchy lacking any direction
Was this review helpful?Yes 19NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unlawful trick
Chef (Former Employee) –  Sydney8 January 2019
Unfortunately has no other option to rate them below one star. Over twenty years working in hospitality industry and never received such offer they made. My expectation was clearly expressed under their mandatory requirement of application process and believed was taken under consideration as application progress further.
Surprisingly an offer made below kitchen hand wages after completion and fulfilling all requirements. As per my observation none of their advertisement has ever disclose any salary cap nor discuss before or during the recruitment process.
Was this review helpful?Yes 22NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized and messy
Chef (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC7 January 2019
Paid: They pay award rate but they would try to negotiate as much as they can, you finally get lower paid than you are entitled.

Work load: The work load is not clear and very depends on the relationship between you and the managers. You will have to do lots more extras just because somebody is being lazy.

Self development: Unless you are the managers, you will get a chance for some training, otherwise you are just a pair of hand.

Management: Direction, timeline, goals are always be changing, you don't know what you should achieve.

Culture: Between the employees are okay, people feel unstable for the job due to the vibe created by the managers.
Pros
Correct paid (but still try to negotiate to pay you less than you are entitled)
Cons
Unorganized and unstable work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The system and management are excellence
Food and Beverage Attendant (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW17 November 2018
I work in there almost 2 years, its really nice with the team work. They are very professional. The manager, supervisor and leader are very professional aswell and always care with the staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible unstable company to work for!
ALC (Current Employee) –  Australia21 October 2018
I have worked for this company now for roughly 3 years and can say that I would NOT recommend anyone to work for this company! Site managers are usually not trained up correctly, employees are always put under pressure to perform way too many jobs in a short amount of time which causes the quality to be thrown out the window. No support from Head Office when issues arise. Culturally insensitive and always have problems paying their employees on time and shortage of pay is very common.
When things break down from the HO, it shows out in the field.
Pros
Working along side great colleagues
Cons
Unstable company overall.
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high turnover, reasonable experience
Food Assistant (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC7 October 2018
There is a high turnover rate and therefore little communication or connection between management and employees. This can produce problems as the functions run by compass involve lots of understanding and communication. In order to combat this, compass will promote its valuable employees and delegate them to lead smaller groups of new workers. The relationship between the employees is positive and the corporate community is also, however it is very obvious that profit is there first priority as they ask you to take your breaks when you are payed the least (so they aren't paying you loaded wages on breaks) and they will tend to hire as cheap labor as possible. Quick to not give more shifts without reasoning if they need to
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Company who bully staff
Catering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Canberra Bruce ACT2 October 2018
You will get bullied to go into a part time position.
You will get bullied from Chef Manager to work extra hours with no overtime.
You will get no support and get ignored if you speak up.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Expect to do more than your role requires.
Was this review helpful?Yes 30No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for short term work and little else
Business Unit Manager (Current Employee) –  Broadbeach QLD26 June 2018
Only real downside is that the business is contract based and at any moment your job/career with them can end...HR is a bit hopeless and support direct to site is usually up to the competency of the direct Unit Manager and not the Area Manager.

As we work for a client, they can be ridiculous to handle as most have zero Food and Beverage experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company I have ever worked for!
Catering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Canberra ACT24 June 2018
Staff are not paid overtime but are expected to finish the job requiring an extra hour of unpaid overtime on a 3 hour shift.

Staff are bullied into going part time so that they can save money but they wont pay you sick leave and often deny you paid leave.

No thanks is ever given to any staff.

Company pays the min award.
Pros
None
Cons
Unpaid overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 40No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with many opportunites
CLEANING SUPERVISOR (Current Employee) –  Burpengary QLD11 June 2018
I transferred from working at the mines to join Delta FM on another Project and have gained so much experience and worked with some great people and an all round great place to work.
Pros
car, phone and computer
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard work for minimal pay
Cleaner - Part Time (Former Employee) –  Adelaide SA26 May 2018
you work hard and are kept busy, which for me is a good thing, however to work with other team members that don't adhere to the requirement of the business and management doesn't make changes to improve team situations. Pay is very low for what you do, youre expect to do two peoples job for almost minimum wage. lack of support in regards to well being, or job loss due to change over, loss of client contract.
Pros
star awards- recognisation of staff that go above and beyond
Cons
lack of support from management
Was this review helpful?Yes 24No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fine while it lasted
Chef de Partie (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW7 May 2018
Its A Company that you can grow in many sectors. The time i had with Compass Group was good while it lasted. I made some good contacts and learned lots. I don't think I could do a long-term stint with large organizations. Personally, it gets a bit monotonous.
Great for younger Chefs to get a leg up in the industry.
Pros
Work/life balance, free meals
Cons
No filtration when recruiting Management, Just recruit, low pay for senior Chefs
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company who do care about their employees
Catering Assistant (Former Employee) –  Healesville VIC29 April 2018
Management very good, very hard work but excellent workplace culture, fast paced working environment which I loved, all courses paid for with Certificates, Health and Hygeine and Catering Assistant Courses
Pros
Staff discounts with company for entertainment
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 20Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not good
TECHNICIAN SPINAFEX VILLAGE, YANDI MINESITE (Former Employee) –  Newman WA21 April 2018
This company does not know how to manage people there are the worst company I have ever worked for and will never have a nice thing to say about them .
Was this review helpful?Yes 25NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Compass Group Australia. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 188 reviews
548
453
348
211
128

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.3Culture