CSIRO Employee Reviews

Found 30 reviews matching the search See all 37 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average place to work
Research Technician (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD13 February 2019
It's not possible to review the whole of CSIRO as it's a large organisation.

In my area, work ranged from very interesting to pointless. It's a slow moving workplace with a lot of wastage.

Hardest part of the job is dealing with management, who often use bullying tactics and the like to improve their position.

But this is only in my section, I believe most of the organisation are very good to work for.
Pros
Interesting place to work
Cons
Bad management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Still a research culture, but constrained by politics, finances
Senior Research Scientist (Former Employee) –  Perth WA16 July 2018
As a research environment, there is a lot of emphasis on administration and management. Blue sky thinkers will be disappointed, but industry-focused research is supported by some good middle management personnel.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place and health well being
Data Entry Officer (Former Employee) –  Canberra ACT20 May 2018
My role at CSIRO was a very attention detail which I enjoy greatly the team very professional at all times.They also encourage us anticipate all of us
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed most of time with CSIRO
researcher (Former Employee) –  Melbourne Eastern Suburbs VIC24 February 2018
I had wonderful time with CSIRO. This was my first and last job. I think myself I was very lucky guy because I worked at very good organisation and worked with very good people for around 30 years.

My main working area was experimental work involving
* creation of novel ideas
* negotiation with possible clients
* application of knowledge
* carrying out experimental work
* writing report, publishing professional journals and patents
* supervising junior staff and PhD students
Pros
very interesting variety works
Cons
some pressure
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very professional and had a great table tennis competition
Filing Clerk and Mail Distributor (Former Employee) –  Mount Waverley VIC15 December 2017
Filing and preparing files for delivery to different departments. Interesting subjects, included mining information. Prior to computers I learned how to use a word processor. Wonderful place to work at. Hardest part was filling in at reception and trying to learn the telephone system. Social aspect was great
Pros
Lunchtime table tennis competitions
Cons
Not understanding a lot of the work that was being done by the department
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic work environment
Research Student (Former Employee) –  Canberra ACT26 November 2017
A busy schedule, and practical rather than theory. I learnt most techniques that I hadn't been exposed to. I was led and mentored by a wonderful supervisor. Hardest part was when the weather was unbearable. Most enjoyable part is the willingness of former colleagues to help when consulted.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
research assistant
Research Assistance and Technical assistant (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD15 November 2017
Duties: involved with proteomics project: using HPLC and MS/MS Spectroscopy, Sample Preparation, Protein extraction with different protocols then compare results to find the best Protocol for protein extraction, digestion, identification and quantifying protein using proteomics, mass spectrometry (5600 TripleTOF, 6500 QTRAP) and software (Multiquant data analysis and Protein Pilot DB searching) also report to supervisor and present the result at meeting.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
environement de travail agréable
researcher (Former Employee) –  Perth, Western Australia9 July 2017
L'équipe avec laquelle j'ai pu travailler était agréable, prête à discuter et échanger. L'accès au matériel était facile.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, relaxed and focused
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD23 May 2017
Excellent learning environment, exposure is high with researchers there always wiling to teach you and land you a helping hand.
One must go all out if he/she wants to learn and pick up new skills and knowledge.
Pros
Willing to teach
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CSIRO was an interesting and innovative place to work at
Research Intern (Former Employee) –  Lindfield NSW21 December 2016
A typical day at work:
Meeting with my supervisor to discuss the day's work. Setting objectives for the day. The rest of the day cover checking and sending emails, programming and research. In addition to these task I would often meet up with my supervisor or other team members for a second meeting.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and challenging workplace
Research Intern (Former Employee) –  Sydney Eastern Suburbs NSW14 October 2016
The most important part was what I learned. I went from having no experience with Java at all, to over 6 months on the job experience. My level of understanding of Java would now sit at a intermediate to advanced level.

Learning how to program for serial communication, create GUIs, populate tables, translate GPS messages and develop network communication.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoy working with great people
Administration Officer (Current Employee) –  Clayton North VIC29 June 2016
A good balance of administrative tasks.

Extensive diary management for the Research Director, coordinating meetings, travel and various administrative duties.
Pros
Flexibilty
Cons
Location
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting workplace
Research Project Officer (Former Employee) –  Werribee VIC30 May 2016
I enjoyed a wide range of projects and learnt a wide range of skills.
Work was varied and allowed for great learning opportunities.
The people are friendly and helpful
I made some good friends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Ravenshoe QLD28 March 2016
yesterday was old and many people are birds in they're own minds however the moon is made of gravy and the sun is purple like a flying koala.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 21Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Software engineer (Former Employee) –  Hobart26 March 2016
Great place to work with outstanding work-life balance. Some research will progress to real world products and businesses. Talented coworkers and managers.
Pros
Great hours, interesting research.
Cons
Must be self motivated to achieve great things.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High School Work Experience
Materials Science and Engineering Faculty (Former Employee) –  Clayton VIC8 March 2016
Enjoyable experience where i was taught to program in C+ and analyse various photos and using C+ to examine various things as well as program a light sensing vehicle that i built and successfully programmed to manoeuvre around a given circuit. The material science and engineering department was very friendly and helpful and taught me many things during the two short weeks i was there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very supportive team
Personal Assistant to the Executive HR Manager (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD28 February 2016
Working for CSIRO has given me lots of opportunities to learn and grow.
My team and my manager are very supportive and help each other.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic people, high importance on the agriculture industry, rewarding career
Disease Assay Technician (Former Employee) –  Black Mountain ACT15 January 2016
All round excellent place to work, rewarding and exciting, gained various skills and knowledge, everyday was different.
Pros
rewarding career
Cons
long hours sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent experience
Student Placement (Former Employee) –  Highett, VIC5 January 2016
Varied work learning all aspects of engineering projects.

Worked hands on in fields of mechanical and electrical working with steel and timber fabrication and electronic instrumentation and data logging.

Worked with an American Grad student doing software programming and gaining experience working in a team of multi-disciplined engineering and technical staff.
Pros
Great experience working in a team
Cons
low pay (student placement), sometimes boring work
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great institution
Research Scientist (Former Employee) –  Perth WA1 November 2015
CSIRO is proper example of what a scientific institution should be. Sadly, it cannot compete in salaries with the institutions from the private sector ,reason why they loose continuously qualified man power.
Pros
life balance
Cons
Salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 12Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at CSIRO. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 37 reviews
516
415
35
21
10

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.0Culture