DHL
3.7 out of 5 stars.
Write a review

DHL Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
Australia184 reviews

Ratings by category

3.5Work–Life Balance

Search reviews

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 184 reviews matching the searchSee all 21,939 reviews

Good place to work at

Indeed Featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
Recommend to people for sure, very friendly staff, good customer service and management willing to listen!! Modern fleet for drivers and very safety conscious!
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

11 April 2022
Hello, Wow! You make us glow with pride receiving your remarkable 4-star rating. We are delighted that you had such a memorable time with our big yellow family. It is important to us that the superiors in our teams always have an open ear for their employees to clarify possible problems in an individual, personal discussion. We are pleased that you felt that you were in good hands with your manager during your time with us.Reading your review gives us the confirmation that we are doing our job of taking care of our employees and appreciating them very well. Greetings to Altona!Your DHL Team

Working with idiots.

The managers dont have a clue, the line managers are also clueless.There is nothing enjoyable about this job, DHL need to kick themselves up the backside.

Pros

Not a lot im afraid.

Cons

Terrible managers who dont seem to care, or have a clue what they are doing.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

23 June 2022
Dear colleague,Thank you for your input. We are sorry to hear that your experience at our site in East Mids Gateway has been far from satisfactory so far. Our ranks are driven by a strong desire to continuously improve every aspect of our organization. We want you to arrive at work smiling and feeling appreciated.As a result, we rely on our employees to provide constructive criticism and feedback for improvement. Please discuss these concerns with your manager or human resources colleagues. It is critical for us to change this so that we can do better in the future.Stay safe, and please let us know if there is anything we can do to assist you.Your DHL Team 

Sub contractor

Great place for training, organisation, and efficiency with deliveries. Employees and fellow couriers are great middle managent is a house full of lazy arrogant self serving old boys club members

Pros

Free coffee good income good exoerience

Cons

Terrible middle management non existent work life balance
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

9 June 2022
Hello,Thanks very much for sharing your feedback with us through this review.We regret that you were not satisfied with the management of our company. A desirable work-life balance leads the individual towards feeling less apprehensive about their ability to manage work and non-work commitments.We are always willing to offer our employees opportunities for development within the company and appreciate that you took advantage of them during your time with us.The trainers understand that training content is integral to enhancing overall performance and achieving business objectives.Efficient delivery is a part of offering a high-quality delivery service while also maintaining the highest possible profit.It's great to hear that you had great colleagues. That is how it should be. The fact that you felt the management was inadequate is a concern and something we will look into.We wish you best wishes in all future professional challenges and personal projects. We hope your experience with us can be of use.Your DHL Team

The best place I've every worked

The work place culture here is the best. The company gives back to their employees all the time providing lunches and team building events. Everyone is happy here.

Pros

excellent work culture
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

30 May 2022
Dear colleague,What a delight to receive your 5-star review!Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with such valuable feedback.Thank you very much for being a part of our DHL family and for your efforts to make our company the world leader in logistics. It is fantastic to hear that you are so passionate about your work and that the management is very supportive. And we are happy to hear that you were satisfied with the benefits we offered. In our view, this is a great incentive for employee motivation. That is how it should be!We encourage managers to be aware of stress in the workplace and take steps to combat it before it gets out of control. You are all setting an extraordinary example of commitment, professionalism, and solidarity.Best wishesYour DHL Team

storeperson

I work five days a week, from Monday to Friday. I really like the job because I have experiences and skills for this job. I do picking and packing different orders, labelling, final checking before the order goes out. I do counting the products as part of inventory. I also use RF scanner for picking. The hardest part of the job is pending to wrap the pallet and standing too long at the same spot but working everywhere like picking, packing, making boxes, stacking, labelling, helping others, its better. But I like picking orders doesn't matter how much orders to pick. At work, everyone is respectful, no one says bad things to the other person. Employees do not quarrel but we help each other to finish our work for the day before we go home.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

5 April 2022
Hello,Thanks for popping in here and leaving us such an excellent review - we appreciate it!You are right that sometimes the workload can be pretty high and demanding, especially during peak seasons, but it's exactly the team work and the supportive and respectful work environment that makes the work feel easier when working at DHL. Your review shows that we are on track to being an Employer of Choice. We would like to thank you for the effort and commitment you had with our purpose of "Connecting people, improving lives".Best wishes,Your DHL Team

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Was ok at first few days. But once they not happy, you’ll be sacked.

It was ok at first few days. They want you fill as many KPIs within 10 seconds or under. It’s a challenge that some need few weeks to maintain but DHL was quick on firing people without notice and no chance given.

Pros

Good people to work with. Very multicultural.

Cons

If you don’t live closer to the airport, but hard to get there on time, due to heavy peak traffic both morning and afternoon.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

17 February 2022
Hello, We appreciate that you took the time to leave us your review. Great to hear that you enjoyed the work initially and that it was so multicultural. Your satisfaction, as well as the satisfaction of our customers, is our priority. We are sorry that the work was stressful. The fact that you felt the training was inadequate is a concern and something we will look into. Work-life balance is a key part of self-care when juggling the responsibilities of your workday, home life, and relationships with your family members and other loved ones. We wish you the best in your time with us and that you can take advantage of the growth opportunities that you have seen already. Your DHL Team

Uncommunicative & poor work life balance

Depends on your location you work at with the company, whether the workplace is enjoyable or not.But the HR team have a lack of communication with anyone & aren't always specific in their job ad's.They do not provide a good work life balance.

Pros

Free lunch every month Learning Opportunities

Cons

Can't accommodate part time work for parents No equality
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

17 February 2022
Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We have carefully read your detailed feedback and we are very sorry that you are not 100% satisfied with DHL. We work continuously to offer our employees additional benefits. In our opinion, this is an important form of appreciation. We are pleased that you have received it so positively and have been able to use it to your advantage. It is part of our corporate philosophy to offer our employees individual opportunities for advancement within the company. We greatly appreciate that you have taken advantage of these opportunities. Work-life balance is a key part of self-care when juggling the responsibilities of your workday, home life, and relationships with your family members and other loved ones. We regret that you felt that the management did not have an open ear for employees. Thank you for your dedication and loyalty during the time you spent with us, all the best for your future projects. Greetings to Sydney! Your DHL Team

Was a good place to work.

Free Site lunch every month for all employees full time or casual, good teams, and great management. Unfortunately I have to leave due to family circumstances.

Pros

Free site lunch for everyone.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

26 January 2022
Hello, Thank you very much for your 4-star rating. It shows us that you experienced working with Deutsche Post DHL as a positive experience. This is great. It is important to us that the superiors in our teams always have an open ear for their employees to clarify possible problems in an individual, personal discussion. We are pleased that you feel that you are in good hands with your manager. Sorry to hear that you had to leave due to family circumstances. Whenever the time is right, please look at our career portal, maybe there is a vacancy in your area. Who knows, you might become one of us again. https://careers.dhl.com/ We wish you all the best for your professional development and hope you and your family remain secure in these difficult times! Your DHL Team

Everyone deserves to know the truth then it’s up to each person to decide!! Dhl express

Well I spent almost 14 years at Dhl express working at all sites in Melbourne especially at south east in Mount Waverley and SO SAD to say it’s another one of those companies like most if you ask questions or challenge the management team in any way even after over a decade of service to the company YOU ARE A MARKED TARGET to performance base you out so bad , and being a Christian in that place from the beginning was hard to say the least always picked on for my strong godly beliefs and the worst of all instead of promoting and looking after there workers who have been there a long time even to this day the hire from outside the company fresh people so the management team can control the company even more in a even greater toxic way the place is very very toxic .

Pros

Not much worthy to mention, if you want to work in a dirty environment mental, physical, emotional then go work for Dhl ..

Cons

Too much to mention, if you want to be more down it life and be lied to to your place picked on for your godly benefits, and watch unjust happen right before you eyes then go right ahead and work at Dhl it’s, gone from bad to badness to even worst down down down !!
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

18 January 2022
Hello,Your feedback helps us to improve continuously, which is why we particularly appreciate it. It is very important to us that our employees enjoy coming to work. Bullying at work is therefore a behavior that we as a company will not tolerate under any circumstances. We are sorry that you have had negative experiences in our company in this regard.The diversity of our employees is our genuine strength. We promote an inclusive work environment that values the diversity of our employees and in which everybody feels accepted and can be their best every day. It is our firm belief that diversity and inclusion contribute to our company’s success.The main criteria for employee selection and promotion are skills and qualifications. We would like to thank you for your confidence in us as an employer and for the efforts you have invested during your time with us.Your DHL Team

Fast paced environment, but I enjoyed it.

The crew of guys and girls I worked with were great. Management was supportive and available. Picnic days were always well supported by all staff members from all divisions of the company.

Pros

Job security

Cons

Long set hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

18 January 2022
Hello,It is nice that you find joy in your job and feel valued in our company. This mindset also applies to all of us as colleagues. Due to our unique culture, we often refer to Deutsche Post DHL as a family. By working together, sharing together, and supporting one another, we will come through these difficult times as stronger and more united community.Greetings to Silverwater,Your DHL Team

Friendly working place

Working at DHL, albeit a fleeting 3 months was a lovely experience. I got to meet lovely people and the premises were pretty cool. It had an onsite cafe, which was the bomb and an amazing chef. Given the opportunity, I would return to work there in a heartbeat. Unfortunately I was laid off due to covid and the company never called me back, I wish they did, but got someone from the warehouse to come in and take over. Sad that I was not called back, but like I said I would return in a heartbeat.

Pros

Cafe on site

Cons

None
Was this review helpful?

Lots of work, organisational key

Good place to work for, the staff were very helpful. The Managerment expectations were unrealistic & lacked experience. But was able to complete everything if you were organised properly.

Pros

Monthly lunches

Cons

Long day
Was this review helpful?

Fast-paced Import/Export organisation

Fast-paced global private postal and transport organisation.Daily toolbox meetings are great. Do stretches and review daily targets and requirements

Pros

A chance to win a trips to DHL sponsored Sporting events e.g. (Rugby World Cup)

Cons

Little career progression (Within my particular department)
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

22 October 2021
Hello,Thank you for taking the time to share your transparent review with us. Our First Choice approach, which entails our meetings methodology, is an important part of our excellent performance globally and also of the satisfaction of our employees and partners. We're sorry to hear that you didn't find many development opportunities in your area. DHL is actually a great place to advance your career and develop important business skills. As a company we provide multiple learning and development resources for our employees at all levels, including global certifications, eLearning modules and coaching sessions, the possibilities to grow are countless.We wish you all the best in your personal and professional endeavors,Your DHL Team

Productive, safe and enjoyable working enviroment which respect family values and not too demanding.

Excellent enviroment for those pursuing a carrer in Warehousing and Logistics with customer focus, quality and control, doing it right the first time attitude and important of all, SAFETY Awareness and managements

Pros

4days/week permanent roster

Cons

Pay rates average
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

31 May 2021
Hello, We are very grateful to you for putting such kind and warm words and, of course, for giving us 5 out of 5 stars! Thank you so much!You have truly managed to give a great recommendation for DHL with your review. We are very proud to see our former colleagues being our ambassadors! It definitely means that we are on the right track of being an Employer of Choice on a global level. It is true that we are customer oriented, but we do not lose sight of our employees either. The only way for us to have happy customers is to first have happy employees on every level of the organization. Thank you for recognizing that and emphasizing it. Should you want to join us again in the near future, please take a look at our most recent vacancies here: https://www.dpdhl.jobs/.  We wish you all the best in your personal and professional projects,Your Employer Branding Team

Productive and fun workplace

It was nice Fun environment It has some heavy lifting and hard work The payment is decent but it could be more If you looking for a salary and to increase your experience it’s good

Pros

Work hours

Cons

Work hours
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

1 March 2021
Hello,Thank you! We are very happy to read your 4-stars rating for your experience as a Picker/Packer in Canning Vale. We are pleased that you feel sufficiently valued in our company. We are always keen to offer our employees appropriate remuneration for our employees, specially to those whose tasks are physically demanding.We wish you all the best in future job experiences and personal projects.Take care!Your Employer Branding Team

Floor staff amazing, management need help

Its all about reaching KPI's and not having the tools to reach them. Higher managers from different sectors can not get along even tho its all under the DHL umbrella. Transport dont like operations, retail dont like health care etc. Excessive amount of training which its not even related to your position. Work load is massive and even tho managers see you struggle they will continue to bombard you with more with the expectation to meet deadlines. Work 8 hours at work then another 8 or more from home, plus weekends or even when you are on leave. There is some fantastic people there and you will learn a great deal to add to your resume. Very clean ware houses and a great focus on safety which is commendable.

Pros

Great floor staff, monthly Lunches and great at donating to charities.

Cons

General managers and above are not leaders, not enough equipment to do the job, insufficient training to complete the job you are employed for then made to feel bad if you fail.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

12 November 2020
Hello,Thank you for taking the time to rate us as an employer on indeed.You highlight in your feedback especially - the fantastic colleagues, the great team spirit, the great focus on safety, the cleanness in the ware houses and fabulous the monthly lunches. The points you enumerate are together already a really good package. With this description, you quickly get the impression that the working atmosphere in Western Sydney is pretty good. At the same time you specifically underline several areas of improvements: high workload, excessive amount of training and lack of leadership. All these topcis should be evaluated on site and any problems that arise should be solved in a constructive cooperation in close communication with superiors and with the responsible HR department. We are fully aware how difficult it can be - especially when the pressure of work is high, conflicts arise or unpleasant decisions have to be made. This requires a high degree of openness and willingness to approach each other, but only with the joint effort of all stakeholders this can be solved. Only doing this we will become better as a company. And this is always our goal: To become better every day a little. Stay safe and healthy,Your Employer Branding Team

Great support network

I was greatful and disappointed with this global supply chain at the same time. Nothing can prepare you for the culture shock, after 6 months you become used to working with the insane amount of kpi's to manage and achieve.As an Operations Supervisor you quickly find out that upper management will throw anyone under the bus for self preservation. Great experience, learnt valuable lessons that I can take with me for future growth in new environments.

Pros

Great pay, great on your cv.

Cons

Meetings all day, long hours, sneaky management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from DHL

4 November 2020
Hello,Thank you for your 4-star rating and for sharing your experience with our company. It looks like you have learned some lessons for life. We hope that once you have recovered from the culture shock, you have enjoyed your time in a vibrant work environment. We like that you mention a great support network. Such a network can help you find your way and make things happen. Please always share your experiences, even if they are not expected. Only with the feedback of our employees we can improve where it is needed. We hope that you will be able to use the experiences you have made for your future projects. We wish you good luck. Best regards,Your Employer Branding Team

Productive

Typical days Learned systems Management is good Multicultural diversity Hardest part is when trying to work with different types of incoming guests and drivers Enjoyable part working with good colleagues

Pros

Free meals in every ocassion

Cons

Unpredictable adjustments
Was this review helpful?

Best thing I did was leave

One piece of advise is to avoid the place. Especially if you apply for a customer service role under Direct to Market at Number 5. The so called National Service Manager is the rudest person ever. She talks down to everyone like they are stupid and all she does is talk behind you back. Avoid at all circumstances!!! Everyone is scared to raise anything about her as she will probably fire you.
Was this review helpful?

Productive and Fun Place to work

Collaborative work culture. Process adoption and Innovation is at forefront with opportunities to excel within Logistics and Supply Chain Industry. One 1 logistics player in Industry
Was this review helpful?

Productive workplace.

It is a safe environment, get along pretty well with the co-workers. Pretty easy work but fast-paced. everyone is friendly and willing to help each other out when it gets busy.
Was this review helpful?

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at DHL. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 21,939 reviews

Ratings by category

3.5 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
3.5 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
3.3 out of 5 stars for Job Security/Advancement
3.3 out of 5 stars for Management
3.5 out of 5 stars for Culture
  • Companies
  • DHL
  • Employee Reviews