Dan Murphy's Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job if you’re in Uni
Duty Manager /Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Corrimal NSW4 June 2018
I’ve worked here for quite a long time now and in my time I’ve had casuals get more hours then me, mornings shifts and I’m stuck with nights, no one taking responsibility for their actions. You can’t balance Work and life otherwise you’re a bad person. Girls get stuck on registers and us boys have to do all of the load all the time. It’s quite sexist if you ask me. I’ve been trying to get into management and they don’t teach you anything to pursue that. So you’re stuck being an assistant with terrible pay and casuals get to do less work and get better hours
Pros
Meeting friends
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job!
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wilsonton QLD14 May 2018
Vigorous learning and knowledge of all products at Dan Murphy's
Learning new customer service skills and up-selling products
Engaging with customers. Learning to have a friendly approach
Pros
Alcohol Tasting!
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Another horrible woolworths company
Customer Assistant (Former Employee) –  Queanbeyan NSW20 April 2018
I got treated like an animal. felt like i was not good enough every shift. AGAIN expect way too much from one person. Not paid well enough for what you have to put up with. One store manager is the reason i had to leave as he treated me so bad i burst into tears whilst serving a customer. Was very embarrassing and made me feel sick to my stomach that i was treated this way.
Pros
they bring in sandwiches during Christmas time
Cons
Everything.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Micro management at its greatest
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Coolum Beach QLD10 April 2018
If you want to be treated like a second class employee and be micro managed every day
Apply for dans at Coolum
Staff members are great but management are incompetent
Do you really want $19 ph to put up with mismanagement
Pros
Awesome staff
Cons
Incompetent manager
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Checkout Operator (Former Employee) –  Colyton NSW4 April 2018
Not a supporting team
And if they don’t like ya they pin something on you and get rid of you or no one helps you and they wait till you stuff up yourself so they don’t take the blame
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, good energy, good management
Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Carnes Hill NSW3 April 2018
New things to learn every day. management is supportive of new experience and learning experiences and encourage you to learn new things and make personal achievements. Very encouraging and understanding in terms of work-life balance and needing to take time off work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place I've worked yet
Digital Marketing Specialist (Current Employee) –  26 Waterloo Street, Surry Hills, Sydney13 March 2018
After many jobs I have finally found a place that I can really enjoy. It's a very fast-paced with a friendly culture. They give you everything you need to succeed in the role. No complaints, can see myself here for a long time.
Pros
Management, Diverse employee, LGBT friendly
Cons
Building is slightly dated but I hear we're getting a refurb in May
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Team
CUSTOMER ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Nerang QLD8 February 2018
Great team and everyone works together and helps each other. Team are easy to work with and make time being at work enjoyable. I have enjoyed myself here
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working at Dan Murphy's
Cashier/Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Toowoomba QLD5 February 2018
Best work environment, wonderful team of people. Management are warm, friendly and fair. Very professional place of work, but also fun and a great environment.
Pros
Working alongside a great team
Cons
Not many hours available for casuals.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy work, keeps you fit, good team culture
Stock Assistant (Current Employee) –  Southern River WA/Canning Vale WA & Cannington WA31 January 2018
Great job for many years has helped me pay the bills, kept me fit and doesn't require too many brain cells so great for people who are studying/have other commitments
Pros
Fitness, always moving, customer engagement, good team culture
Cons
Have to work 100x harder during holiday period for same pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It All Depends On The Managment
Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC14 January 2018
I have worked with the Dan Murphy's company for almost a year and a half now (17 months). Within this time I have had the opportunity of working at two different stores. My first store was great. I left only because I moved house. My second store started off great and then a couple of months in we started having issues with management. We had 4 store managers in 3months, all occurring during the Christmas/ New Years season. Some of these managers were very good at their job. Some of these managers couldn't hold down a budget. I believe your experiences all depend on who is running your store.
Pros
Friendly Staff, Customers
Cons
Cut contracted hours due to lack of budget.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable work
Customer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Erina NSW4 January 2018
A great retail job for anyone who wants to get into the world of alcohol and learn about different wines, spritis, beers and ciders.
It is a large and exciting company that values knowledge, character and its customers
Pros
great colleges
Cons
can be stressfull in busy periods
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not happy
Customer Service/Product Demo Tasting (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW15 December 2017
No advancement, poor moral, not good wages, management pass the buck and hide in the office. Feel let down and disjointed on a daily basis whilst at work
Pros
Na
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice boss to start with but not great boss after.
Customer Service Assistant/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Canning Vale WA28 November 2017
When first started, boss was great very nice, we started with a store from scratch and the hours were great.

As soon as it opened and after the Christmas holidays, hours were cut straight down and management was changed ands the new manager was mean and rude for unnecessary reasons.
Pros
Good Company
Cons
Hours were cut, mean boss
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting and Challenging work place
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Epping VIC15 November 2017
Great place to work along side some amazing people, each day is never the same, and career advancement is very likely. Weekend work is required which is tough for some but the joy you get from helping customers makes it worth it
Pros
Great career prospects
Cons
Weekend and late hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Applied for customer service But ended up doing morning fill
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Canberra ACT24 August 2017
I have worked there didn't liked it at all had applied for customer service ended up doing morning fill , still it was ok to me ,But then i was told to do filling whole shift . who would do lifting for EIGHT (8) hours .The Same crew out of 7 i was the only one filling So resigned
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Front End Cashier (Former Employee) –  Melton VIC1 August 2017
work work work great environment after 4pm Monday to Friday and most weekends.
Management need Customer Service Skills and training in how to manage (at this store only) Team Members in an appropriate manner.
work work work
Pros
work
Cons
work
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dan Murphys
Sales (Current Employee) –  Point Cook VIC23 July 2017
Not a good job for good hours based by seasonal timing winter trade less hours than summer time there is more hours but also more staff so getting a bit extra can be hard
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work life balance
customer service (Former Employee) –  Boronia VIC17 July 2017
Held part time position with Dans, all staff were great and everyone enjoyed coming to work,

Management was great. They train people well and encourage a great culture
Pros
over busy periods we get lunches, you get discounts for all woolworths stortes and owned companies
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work life with ALH
Customer Service Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bundaberg QLD16 June 2017
Great company to work for but I found that management was most the problem. Lack of training and the hours given was very disappointing. I will say that the team was great to work with but some of the time it was like high school.
Pros
great team memebers
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport