Deakin University Employee Reviews

Found 58 reviews matching the search See all 64 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to learn
Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC3 April 2019
the course that I took was very satisfying to be prepared for the future as an exercise physiologist, friendly staff and tutors that helped me learn a lot of things
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, horrible hiring process
Adviser (Former Employee) –  Burwood VIC31 March 2019
Good people
Nice management
Good ix of men and women
Nice enough places to eat

Understaffed in areas that need more
Money sometimes spent on stupid things like art sculptures when staff struggle
More communications between departments and students needed
Staff friendly (not HR)
Could use more vibe eg a more chilled out bar (nothing cool, only a very stuffy upper class place for a drink)
Pros
5 weeks paid leave, 17% super, can park, friendly people all around
Cons
Boring location, content dry, immensely draining screening and hiring process
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deakin University Casual RA
Research Officer/Project manager (Current Employee) –  Burwood VIC4 March 2019
I really enjoyed my time at Deakin, however, the job security and advancement opportunities are severely lacking. I was not offered any opportunity to be trained in any new skills or programs which could have made me more employable.
Pros
The friendly work environment
Cons
Lack of career advancement opportunities and job security.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work life balance
AGILE PRACTICE MANAGER AND PMO MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC31 January 2019
Job was not enjoyable enough, inability to get anything needed approved by the Director in the area I worked. University has no experience with Agile Project Methodology - ultimately was "difficult" at best. Many management handovers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to work in a fast paced environment
Student Central Orientation Mentor (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC17 January 2019
people and colleagues working in university are very cooperative and always perform tasks with teamwork.

Coordination between staff is above high level.
Pros
fun activities, free lunch everyweek
Cons
cannot think of a few..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good culture
MANAGEMENT ACCOUNTANT (Former Employee) –  Burwood VIC30 November 2018
Great place to work
Convenient location (non CBD)
Continual Training
Work life balance encouraged
Highly regulated Human Resources policy
True commitment to OHS
Pros
People
Cons
Permanency
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warm anf friendly environment to work in
ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Research VIC17 November 2018
The people in the lab are so supporting and welcoming that it doesn't take long to break the ice. always ready to help and show you how to do something even if you're asking for the hundredth time.
Pros
lots of advice and work flexibility
Cons
long travel times
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting methods
RECEPTION OFFICER (Former Employee) –  Geelong VIC8 November 2018
essentially in this role you are paid NOT to think, if you do not believe in everything them you will not advance
answering the phone,live chat and emails- guiding the students and thier questions to departments
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work life balance is good
Casual Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Geelong VIC5 October 2018
As a casual assistant I am not fully employed, but from the work I am given, I can say it is safe and comfortable to work in Deakin. I am looking forward to be employed fully here.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and first time hands on experience in IT environment.
Project Leader and Researcher (Former Employee) –  Burwood East VIC3 September 2018
University capstone project. Real world IT project to work on with skilled team members. Managing the team and leading the way to produce a quality project.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work Environment
TRAINING MANAGER PROJECT SERA: (Former Employee) –  Burwood VIC29 August 2018
Loved, Loved, Loved working at Deakin.

The univertity has a great work culturel If I knew what was coming next I would never have resigned.

Will work there anytime again
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deakin is a great university
Library rover (Former Employee) –  Victoria1 April 2018
I’ve enjoyed studying at Deakin and had a great time working as a rover in the library. It was many years ago so imagine many things have changed and I can only imagine it will be more awesome. The free gym and study life was terrific.
Pros
Excellent and helpful staff
Cons
They have removed many subjects from Warrnambool
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place but need to support
Researcher (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC27 March 2018
I learned a lot and applied more into diverse application. However, it requires a financial support to maintain normal research. The management is still needed to improve. The research is flexible, but it failed to work tightly.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Student Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Burwood VIC4 March 2018
It is kind of internship, a wonderful place to work.
Pros

Good salary, nice colleagues, many opportunities to grow and expand our potentials. Good research funding comparable to Group of 8 uni

Cons

People from minor ethnic background do not get much chance in leadership positions. At least thats what we can see / notice in the executive positions
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best University to learn and work
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Geelong VIC18 February 2018
It was as amazing experience working in Deakin. Wide knowledge people and very friendly work culture.
Everyone gets equal chance to perform and make their mark in limited amount of time..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very supportive supervisory team
Tutor (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC8 January 2018
Flexible working hours on deadline based tasks. Very supportive in providing research materials. Generally, a good place to work, gain experience and get ready for serious industrial challenges.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Organisation
Exams Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Findon SA8 November 2017
Excellent process for University examinations.Vetting of candidates sitting for exams is fair,appropriate,consistent.
Reasonable allowances made for students with disabilities or other conditions affecting examination constraints
Pros
Good working conditions, good colleagues
Cons
Nothing really comes to mind
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and productive workplace
Event Organization- Staff Member (Casual) (Current Employee) –  Geelong VIC19 October 2017
Attending pre-event meetings. Being thorough with the responsibilities and duties. Working in a team to deliver the arrangements before deadlines. Reporting to the event manager.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great day meeting lots of people and giving them an experience of the uni
Student Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Geelong VIC5 October 2017
Start quite early to prepare the banners.Then as the public started coming in, we gave them directions. Helped for a presentation along with a colleague and a tutor about the architecture school twice. Was really fun since I was working with fellow archi student.
Pros
Free lunch, free t-shirt and freebies
Cons
none that i can think of
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Photographing fossils and collecting resources for paper publications.
Laboratory Assistant (Former Employee) –  221 Burwood Highway, Burwood, Victoria 312519 September 2017
This was a great working opportunity for me to get a close look at paper publications. I mainly learnt how to photographing fossils and use Photo Shop software to adjust photo quality. The workplace is in the faculty's geological laboratory. There are many chances to communicate with other researchers during the lunch time. I really enjoyed working in such academic environment and being able to take in inspiring experiences from others.
Pros
Academic communications
Cons
Short term, unstable.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Deakin University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 64 reviews
534
420
36
23
11

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
4.1Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.2Culture