Deakin University Employee Reviews in Burwood VIC

Found 12 reviews matching the search See all 65 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, horrible hiring process
Adviser (Former Employee) –  Burwood VIC31 March 2019
Good people
Nice management
Good ix of men and women
Nice enough places to eat

Understaffed in areas that need more
Money sometimes spent on stupid things like art sculptures when staff struggle
More communications between departments and students needed
Staff friendly (not HR)
Could use more vibe eg a more chilled out bar (nothing cool, only a very stuffy upper class place for a drink)
Pros
5 weeks paid leave, 17% super, can park, friendly people all around
Cons
Boring location, content dry, immensely draining screening and hiring process
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Deakin University Casual RA
Research Officer/Project manager (Current Employee) –  Burwood VIC4 March 2019
I really enjoyed my time at Deakin, however, the job security and advancement opportunities are severely lacking. I was not offered any opportunity to be trained in any new skills or programs which could have made me more employable.
Pros
The friendly work environment
Cons
Lack of career advancement opportunities and job security.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work Environment
TRAINING MANAGER PROJECT SERA: (Former Employee) –  Burwood VIC29 August 2018
Loved, Loved, Loved working at Deakin.

The univertity has a great work culturel If I knew what was coming next I would never have resigned.

Will work there anytime again
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Student Ambassador (Former Employee) –  Burwood VIC4 March 2018
It is kind of internship, a wonderful place to work.
Pros

Good salary, nice colleagues, many opportunities to grow and expand our potentials. Good research funding comparable to Group of 8 uni

Cons

People from minor ethnic background do not get much chance in leadership positions. At least thats what we can see / notice in the executive positions
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning document archiving
Duties - Office assistant/archivist (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Burwood VIC10 March 2017
-Documenting and listing old documents in order for storage off-site
-Collecting recycling bins from throughout the campus
-Transporting of documents to off campus storage
Pros
relaxed easy going work environment
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with friendly and communicative colleagues
Part-Time Assignment Marker (Former Employee) –  Burwood VIC30 June 2016
During my time as an assignment marker, as well as my previous professional experiences at Deakin University, they were always very welcoming and helpful when it came to getting me used to my new positions and offering information when I wasn't sure about certain aspects or requirements of it.

Apart from general work ethic and overall professional experience, I also learned the value of good communication between those you are working with or working for, and how most problems can be easily solved by simply voicing concerns or asking questions of the right people.

Overall, even though I was only there part-time, it was one of my more enjoyable workplace experiences I've had.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great colleagues and environment, terrible managers
Student Advisor, Faculty of Business & Law (Former Employee) –  Burwood VIC2 April 2016
My tenure with Deakin was enjoyable except when there was a sudden change in management and those individuals had no concept of managing people. They treat you like property or objects and have high levels of hypocrisy and double standards. It is unfortunate that such an amazing organisation is being destroyed from within by poor middle management.
Pros
great career opportunities and friendly colleagues
Cons
poor middle management that don't have any personnel management skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Once off acting role
Actor - Simpatient (Former Employee) –  Burwood7 February 2015
This was a once off Acting role (but it may be re-occurring) in which I was a Simpatient suffering with mental disorders which was filmed to be used later in classes.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get a chance to assist students who need help
Student Rover Library (Current Employee) –  Burwood, VIC20 November 2014
Assist students who need help in university. I have learnt to use a great manners to communicate with the students and co-worker, improved my customer service skills and improved my computer skills as well. The most enjoyable part is I could get to communicate and interact with the students meanwhile improve my socialization skills. I had a great teamwork with the co-worker, and we made sure that everything is well managed in the library during the working hours or during orientation.
Pros
flexible hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work environment
Sessional Lecturer (Former Employee) –  Burwood, VIC23 September 2014
Friendly work environment, with Timelines to meet the goals.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
GIS Analyst (Full-time Casual) (Current Employee) –  Burwood, S24 October 2013
Good work environment.
People work cooperatively and towards reaching good outcomes.
Good, interesting research
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 4Report

See more Deakin University reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Deakin University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 65 reviews
534
420
37
23
11

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
4.1Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.2Culture