Department of Communities Employee Reviews

Found 37 reviews matching the search See all 39 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too many cases with not enough staffing
Team Leader Child Protection (Current Employee) –  Rockingham WA2 July 2019
Managing staff
Court matters
Care plan meetings
Reunification meetings
Team meetings
Multi-agency meetings
Supervision with Staff
Managing placement breakdowns
Pros
Supportive team leaders as colleagues
Cons
Staff burn out
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good and challenging and innovative place to work.
Principal Right to Information Officer (AO7) (Former Employee) –  Brisbane Central Business District QLD9 May 2019
good and challenging and innovative place to work.

supportive culture.

However, NDIS impacts caused recruitment problems for non affected persons wanting to apply.
Pros
Challenging interesting work
Cons
NDIS impacts on staffing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Going through major restruture
SENIOR ADVISOR (Former Employee) –  Brisbane Central Business District QLD7 May 2019
This department is undergoing major transformational change, downsizing and disruption. Department is struggling to find it's purpose / direction during this change.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Project Coordinator (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Perth WA25 April 2018
Great culture, friendly staff and good work-life balance. Management listens to advice and acceptable to change. Hardest part of the job is when some end-users require additional support which can take almost an hour to guide them on the phone. But overall I totally enjoyed working there and help where I can.
Pros
Friendly staff and good work-life balance.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay, poor workplace
Residential Care Officer (RCO) (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD24 March 2018
The pay/salary/benefits were very good as it was a qualified position, but the work/life balance required for the job was very taxing. In addition, management were difficult to contact and deal with, nepotism was rife, and the work was demanding in every possible way. Not for the faint of heart.
Pros
Great pay
Cons
nepotism, soul crushing work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many great achievements as a project specific contractor
Principal Funding Systems Officer (Current Employee) –  Brisbane Central Business District QLD28 February 2018
Reasonable working conditions among people who are committed to producing significant results in an environment that is driven largely by political context.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place
Child Safety Officer (Permanent Full Time) (Former Employee) –  Cairns, Australia26 February 2018
Workplace in cairns, Australia. This was working for the Government and requires relevant university degree (social work, psychology etc). management was fantastic.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Complex, rewarding work that stretches my skills to their limits and beyond into new learnings very often.
Social Worker, Professional Officer (Current Employee) –  Nundah service centre, Nundah, Brisbane.26 November 2017
An excellent department provides important social services to people with disabilities and children at risk. Offers various roles, a service-oriented philosophy and interesting client base. Offers opportunities to negotiate favourable client outcomes, work collaboratively in trans-disciplinary teams and form partnerships with other services.
Pros
Work I love.
Cons
Disability Services division of my org will cease in July 2018, and its functions will be provided by the NDIS.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A friendly atmosphere and great people to work with.
Senior Administration/Project Officer (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD8 November 2017
Good all round place to work. Every day is always different especially when an event is on. It can be a fast paced environment during a disaster which is very rewarding.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very supportive environment.
Clinician/Social Worker (Current Employee) –  Brisbane, Oxley Office28 June 2017
Can be very intensive due to complex support needs of the clients I have been working with. Very supportive team with a lot of expertise and knowledge.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Long drive to visit clients
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
complex job in a challenging environment
Regional Executive Director South West (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD30 May 2017
Everyday was as different as the clients we dealt with. Primarily the job was about ensuring that clients got the right service at the right time. it was sometimes difficult and challenging but very rewarding.
Pros
great staff
Cons
sometimes insufficient resources to met individual need
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely rewarding position
Full-time Contract (Former Employee) –  Caboolture QLD10 May 2017
Although I wasn't with Child Safety for very long I enjoyed my role at the Caboolture office. Due to my training in previous roles I was given extra tasks and was looked highly upon by my peers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Could be great if the middle management would allow others to do their job without too much interfering
Administration Officer (Part-Time) (Former Employee) –  Toowoomba QLD20 April 2017
The clients were great, the carers were great but middle management were a pain in the side of anyone wanting to do better, Top management was fantastic but stuck with fools to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast faced environment, requires me to be flexible, adoptability and agility.
Temporary Accommodation Officer (Current Employee) –  Brisbane Central Business District QLD18 April 2017
Fast faced environment, requires me to be flexible, adaptability and agility. Good team leaders, enjoy the challenges of my role, enjoy working with the operations manager.
Pros
Good team leaders, enjoy the challenges, enjoy working with the operations manager, everyone help each other within my team.
Cons
short-term contract
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Diversional Therapy for adults with intellectual disability
Administration Officer (Part-Time) (Former Employee) –  Toowoomba QLD12 January 2017
A fantastic job. A fantastic team. Rostering clients on a daily, weekly, fortnightly or monthly basis to ensure they had quality of life. Going out for lunches, swimming, visiting family, bowling and many other activities were on offer for each client. None of the clients could look after themselves for more than an hour or so, so it was rewarding to be able to organize an activity they enjoyed and let them go do it on their own, with the least amount of supervision required.
Pros
Working in a team with like mindedness
Cons
Dealing with management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team environment and very supportive
Child Safety Officer (Current Employee) –  Gold Coast QLD22 September 2016
The opportunity to work alongside at risk children and families and strive to provide a better life outcome for all.

Investigation and assessment to assess the strengths and needs of children and families.
Pros
Engaging with families and seeing positive outcomes
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A job with very high case loads
Child Safety Officer (Former Employee) –  Cairns QLD20 June 2016
This was a front line job that was very demanding with high case loads of 30 to 34 cases at the time. There was a very high staff turnover due to the high complex case loads and also the confronting nature of front line experiences. The job was very statutory in nature due to our legislative requirements. It also involves reunifying children with their parents when they make good progress with the prescribed case plans set for them.
Pros
free coffee
Cons
high case loadss
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pro's and con's
General Administrative (Former Employee) –  Inala QLD17 June 2016
I believe Iworked well with in the team and alone. Found the employer hard to approach, enjoyed helping families.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supporting vulnerable people in the community.
Clinician (Former Employee) –  Rockhampton QLD29 May 2016
Vulnerable people need timely supports & freely given relationships that are positive & life enriching. All too often the service system can make people more vulnerable through ill written policies or not having positive expectations of people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good group of people to support and helpful fellow workers.
Residential Care Worker (Former Employee) –  Maryborough QLD6 March 2016
The people i supported were great fun. Every day was different and sometimes challenging. This was all part of the overall enjoyment of the job.the most enjoyable part of the day was anytime when everyone was contented,happy or doing things they liked doing.The hardest part was trying to work out where the behaviours were coming from.My co-workers were generally helpful and supportive.
Pros
going home knowing my support helped the people i was supporting.
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Department of Communities. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 39 reviews
513
413
38
22
13

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.7Culture