Design and Build Recruitment
4.0 out of 5 stars.
Write a review

36: Design and Build Recruitment Employee Reviews

Review this company
Job Title
All
Location
Australia36 reviews

Ratings by category

3.9Work–Life Balance

Search reviews

Sort by

HelpfulnessRatingDate
Found 36 reviews matching the searchSee all 42 reviews

No Bad Apples Left

Indeed Featured review

The most useful review selected by Indeed
Design & Build have been guilty of having a few 'bad apples' within the business that believed everything was about them and brought a terrible culture. Luckily for everyone else within the business, as of 2021 these consultants have left and we are in one of the best positions we have been for a long time with a good group of consultants, managers and support staff. The business aren't going to please everyone - its impossible, but overall i've enjoyed working for the business and couldn't see myself working for anyone else in the market.

Pros

Decent commission scheme, no ego's left within the business, wellness days, mental health and employee assistance programs

Cons

recruitment is recruitment sometimes
Was this review helpful?

Recruiting process

bad services,people don’t keep consistency about what they say. Bad image is reflected on their company. Not responsible for their clients and unprofessional.
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Design and Build Recruitment

27 May 2021
Thank you for your feedback. It’s always disappointing to see such negative comments. But feedback is important as it allows us to continue to learn and address any concerns our team have.We wish you every success in your career and if you ever wish to discuss this in person we’d welcome the opportunity.D&B

Great place to work

If you want to work hard, make money and have fun this is a great place to work.Very simple in recruitment, if you work hard, you are a nice person and you try your best for your clients and colleagues you will do well.If you expect rewards to come without the effort you will be disappointed.

Pros

Commission, flexibility, trips away, nice offices
Was this review helpful?

Great people makes tough industry fun

I've really enjoyed working at D&B, I came from a large corporate company that was very strict on kpi's, how you had to work with very little flexibility, at first it was a big culture shock coming to a smaller company that gave me a lot of freedom but also meant I had a lot more responsibility. now I enjoy the structure in place lets you get on with your job. But the best part of the job is the people, I would happily have a beer with anyone in the office and see people here as mates. Over the years I've felt really supported in progressing my career and have enjoyed how the company has grown too.

Pros

people that work there, everyone gets on like mates

Cons

recruitment is recruitment, ups and downs come with the territory
Was this review helpful?

Positive, uplifting and collaborative work culture where people genuinely enjoy coming to work!

Flexible working hours each day in conjunction with the flexibility to work from home has allowed me to personally have a much better work life balance. Autonomy to plan and run your day as you feel appropriate with a great level of support and guidance from management without being micro- managed. As most companies do at some point - I feel like D&B has gone through a big cultural shift recently (a very positive one!!) resulting in them attracting even more of the "right sort" of people into the business. I can hand on heart say that I genuinely like and respect every single person within the business and feel that everybody is aligned in terms of their moral compass and positive attitudes. As a recruitment company that specialises in recruitment right across the property sector I feel that as a business it provides all of the tools, ongoing training and support necessary to achieve what you want to achieve within your recruitment career - you get out of it what you put into it and sky is the limit.I also have a lot of respect for the owners of the business who I felt were amazingly supportive and did all that they could do to keep everybody in the business during a global pandemic when a lot of other businesses put heads on the chopping block.....I also don't know of any other businesses that actually gave everyone of their staff a big bonus at the end of last year?! Abundantly clear that they truly care about the wellbeing of their staff.

Pros

Flexible working hours and the opportunity to work from home, Team events, Top bunch of genuinely nice people that clearly love what they do!

Cons

Personally, nothing that comes to mind
Was this review helpful?

Rate your recent company

Share your experience to help others

Supportive management team & a brilliant bunch of people to work with

I joined Design & Build 18 months ago in their first full time Marketing role. Brought in to implement our new marketing strategy, I was blown away by the amount of confidence instilled in me from the beginning. For me in my role, there is the perfect balance of trust and support provided by both directors, giving me opportunity to flourish. No matter how big or small they are, wins are always highlighted or celebrated here, no matter if you are a high billing consultant or behind the scenes support staff, which is a great environment to work amongst.There is a great culture here from working as a team and helping other achieve goals to charity fundraising and community volunteering and, of course – social activities.No company is perfect and the management team don't always get it right, however they encourage feedback at all times from everyone and use this feedback to make changes and continuously improve - which is all you can ask from your leadership team.

Pros

Collaborative & supportive team, flexible working, fantastic CSR and wellbeing programme

Cons

See as above in review
Was this review helpful?

Positive, happy & progressive

From a structured onboarding with the HR manager to warm welcomes from consultants and managers all over the business, design and build felt like home from day 1. The Melbourne office has grown through covid and the team we now have is happy, productive and certainly enjoy working at design and build. We’re encouraged to approach every interaction with drive and care and your standards naturally improve with that as your mantra.The rewards are awesome and high standards encourage improved performance and personal development.

Pros

Awesome leadership team, incredible brand, top tier client relationships, beautiful offices in great locations, career progression opportunities at all levels.

Cons

Nothing at this stage. So far so good!
Was this review helpful?

so many better options out there nowadays

I joined the business recently and it's OK, not great but not terrible. They are trying to keep the people and the business going, the problem I see is that the senior managers are just not experienced or astute enough to make smart decisions, which is why so many people have left and others are planning to. They make decisions, they turn out bad, they change their mind and try something else. Their motives are in the right place they just lack experience.

Pros

hopefully some will come to mind

Cons

directors lack well thought through ideas
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Design and Build Recruitment

22 February 2021
Thank you for your feedback. It’s always disappointing to see such negative comments. But feedback is important as it allows us to continue to learn and address any concerns our team have.We wish you every success in your career and if you ever wish to discuss this in person we’d welcome the opportunity.D&B

it's changed A LOT since all the good reviews

Back in 2017/18 when I worked there it was a much better place to what it is now, its gone down hill so much since. It's like 2 different companies. It's clear to see it's just lost its way. They have fallen behind the pack, by a long way and they are trying so hard to create an identity for themselves to stand out and it is just not working. Trying to differentiate between the competition and most clients, just don't care. recruitment is recruitmentThey want decent services at a fair price.

Pros

2 hour lunch breaks

Cons

outdated and behind the times when it comes to motivating and leading a business
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Design and Build Recruitment

22 February 2021
Thank you for your feedback. It’s always disappointing to see such negative comments. But feedback is important as it allows us to continue to learn and address any concerns our team have.We wish you every success in your career and if you ever wish to discuss this in person we’d welcome the opportunity.D&B

There are much better options out there

I worked for the Sydney operation of D&B for a number of years, leaving in 2020. I spent some good years there however found the senior management style and general competency deteriorate over the final 12-18 months. Too many rash decisions, constantly change their minds, always moving the goals posts, very judgmental and not trusting. In previous years they could paper of the cracks with incentives and with a lot of what was good in the past now gone, it really has exposed the bad management. A business which was one of the leaders, has fallen very far behind their competition. Some of it they could change quite easily but allowing more flexibility, but fundamentally the micro managing style, reporting, watching and monitoring wont ever change and that's why they won't be the business they once were.

Pros

when compared to other similar businesses they are so far behind

Cons

cannot trust what is told in the interview is how it really is
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Design and Build Recruitment

16 December 2020
Thank you for your feedback. It’s always disappointing to see such negative comments. But feedback is important as it allows us to continue to learn and address any concerns our team have. We wish you every success in your career and if you ever wish to discuss this in person we’d welcome the opportunity.D&B

There is hardly anyone left

they have about half the staff from a year ago, all left because of bad management and not a great culture to work in. Poor hiring decisions through covid have made it even a worse place to work with huge reduction in salary. There is hardly anyone left in the Melbourne office, and those that are, are all looking to leave as well. The MD of Design & Build cannot see the wood through the trees, makes bad decisions constantly.It's easy to make yourself look good during the good times and busy markets, however it takes a really good manager to navigate the tough times and this person has failed miserably at every attempt.The PSP brand is good, a nice bunch of people and a decent structure.

Pros

Psp

Cons

the director is driven by his ego and that causes him to make bad decisions
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Design and Build Recruitment

16 December 2020
Thank you for your feedback. It’s always disappointing to see such negative comments. But feedback is important as it allows us to continue to learn and address any concerns our team have. We wish you every success in your career and if you ever wish to discuss this in person we’d welcome the opportunity.D&B

terrible culture led by a toxic manager

They sell it like its a fun flexible place to work but in reality it isn't at all. Micro management, no flexibility, they are your best friend when you are doing well but if you have a below average quarter they will immediately try and manage you out. I saw it happen time and time again. Then you have a good quarter and all is forgotten,.....until next time. no growth, no development, no training or upskilling opportunitiesjust get on the phone make me money and stroke* my ego

Pros

zero

Cons

toxic, kpi driven, micro management style
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Design and Build Recruitment

16 December 2020
Thank you for your feedback. It’s always disappointing to see such negative comments. But feedback is important as it allows us to continue to learn and address any concerns our team have. We wish you every success in your career and if you ever wish to discuss this in person we’d welcome the opportunity.D&B

not a great business anymore

Was a good business with a good reputation and brand but sadly that has diminished over the last 18 months. Whilst I have been working here the staff turnover is one of the highest I know, close to 25 people have left, which is huge for a business of only 50 people and it keeps on getting worse. A really bad culture and led by the D&B director, which clearly has not worked. They needs to start again which they are close to doing because they have no staff left!

Pros

none

Cons

Bad culture, led by a micro manager
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Design and Build Recruitment

16 December 2020
Thank you for your feedback. It’s always disappointing to see such negative comments. But feedback is important as it allows us to continue to learn and address any concerns our team have. We wish you every success in your career and if you ever wish to discuss this in person we’d welcome the opportunity.D&B

Staff turnover is so high, so many people have left

Listen to your staff, actually ask our opinion and then listen. You cannot change a culture from snr manager level, it doesn't work like that. Change the toxic culture by looking at your leadership styles, start leading from the front, get on the phone and win some business. Don't take it personally if someone doesn't agree with you, listen, trust our opinions because they are better than the poor decisions you have been making.typical day - you get mirco managed and "watched" closely culture is poorteam is really good and friendly hardest part of the day is pretending its a great place to workmost enjoyable part is leaving to go home

Pros

Its OK, but you do get treated like children

Cons

Bad management, poor leadership, big ego's, mixed messaging and no trust
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Design and Build Recruitment

16 December 2020
Thank you for your feedback. It’s always disappointing to see such negative comments. But feedback is important as it allows us to continue to learn and address any concerns our team have. We wish you every success in your career and if you ever wish to discuss this in person we’d welcome the opportunity.D&B

Don't recommend, very toxic culture, like being at high school

I worked for DB for a couple of years and left last year. At the time the culture was Ok, not great but not terrible. The Sydney director came in to head up Melbourne as well and that's when it really took a turn for the worse. People who I know that still work there have said its got even worse. It's run really badly, what the director says goes, no negotiation, no discussion, hit your kpi's or I will manage you out. Oh and if you laugh at his jokes, find him funny, answer my late night texts you will be ok. His style is not an appealing one to work for, you never know where you stand and you cannot TRUST him one bit. Lots of lies and excuses for poor business decisions. If you have no other options then go ahead, give it a go but I would say do you own research and explore a little further as there are plenty of other options where you get treated like an adult and given flexibility, here you are not,

Pros

none worth mentioning

Cons

Snr management
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Design and Build Recruitment

16 December 2020
Thank you for your feedback. It’s always disappointing to see such negative comments. But feedback is important as it allows us to continue to learn and address any concerns our team have. We wish you every success in your career and if you ever wish to discuss this in person we’d welcome the opportunity.D&B

Toxic culture with bad senior management

On the face of it, everything looks good from the outside looking in, they paint a really good picture, it really sounds too good to be true. Then you start on day one and realise the culture is so bad, toxic in fact and the director running it is terrible. Tries to come across as a likeable nice person when in fact his communications is poor, he lies and misleads and when he has to make a "tough" decision he will say it's whats best for the company. Goes on and on about building trust which is ironic as I would not trust him to look after my dog. they talk about flexibility and leaving work on time and if you do leave on time the Director will pull you all up and say don't leave at 4pm, but then post on linkedin how everyone should leave on time Just not a nice person. There are some nice people there, but they are mostly only there because they have them tied to visa's. Dont believe the hype there are much better places to work.

Pros

nice people to work with

Cons

you have to report in to a narcissistconsul
Was this review helpful?

Official response from Design and Build Recruitment

16 December 2020
Thank you for your feedback. It’s always disappointing to see such negative comments. But feedback is important as it allows us to continue to learn and address any concerns our team have. We wish you every success in your career and if you ever wish to discuss this in person we’d welcome the opportunity.D&B

Amazing Recruitment company!!

I have worked at Design & Build for over 6 months now and can honestly say I enjoy coming to work every day. The support you receive from management is excellent and the culture is second to none. The company continues to grow whilst sticking to its core values and I am excited to be a part of it for years to come. Could not recommend Design & Build more!

Pros

2 hour lunch breaks, fun culture, great management

Cons

There isn't any!
Was this review helpful?

Great opportunity with a strong support network

I have worked at Design & Build for a little over 6 months now. The difference between Design & Build and other recruitment companies I have worked for is the ability work with such autonomy. You are trusted and encouraged to run your desk in a way that suits you and your personality whilst also receiving support from your Direct Manager when required.

Pros

Great team environment, Gym Membership, 2 hour lunch breaks, Supportive Manager
Was this review helpful?

The best company I've worked for.

I’ve only been at D&B for just over 3 months and, as normal, experienced the “pre-changing job jitters” prior to starting with them and learning a completely different industry to recruit for. However, my team and the managers could not have made for an easier transition. They are hugely welcoming and friendly as well as being highly professional. I really value the transparency and attitude of everyone working here. Time has flown by since I've been here and I could not be happier with the decision to join D&B.

Pros

2 hour lunch, Gym membership, Office culture is great - everyone gets on really well.

Cons

Honestly can't think of anything.
Was this review helpful?

Great agency with a fab culture

I came to D&B from a large, global agency and the difference could not be bigger. While you are given full support and ongoing training & development, you are trusted to manage your desk as you see fit. The culture here is one that D&B have spent a lot of time perfecting and you work within a team that genuinely want everyone to succeed. While we have great benefits, quarterly events, high achiever trips away, work/life balance and a handy two hour lunch – for me, it’s the team and the opportunities to grow that keep me here!
Was this review helpful?

Fun Workplace

Design and Build is an amazing place to work, there isn’t a day that I ever dread coming in! I look forward to coming into work for a lot of reasons, 1. The support from management – they all have time for you and it’s great that you can speak to them at any time. As well as always given advice and being able to learn from them 2. The culture: everyone gets on and it’s a very close-knit office. D&B’s incentives are also unreal from trips to Hamilton Island, yachts, lunches and team building events. It’s a place where everyone feels welcome and I am so happy I work here.

Pros

2 hour lunches, Gym, Phone and Trips away
Was this review helpful?

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Design and Build Recruitment. Our community is ready to answer.Ask a Question

Overall rating

Based on 42 reviews

Ratings by category

3.9 out of 5 stars for Work/Life Balance
4.0 out of 5 stars for Salary/Benefits
3.8 out of 5 stars for Job Security/Advancement
3.9 out of 5 stars for Management
3.9 out of 5 stars for Culture

Compare Design and Build Recruitment with

  • Companies
  • Design and Build Recruitment
  • Employee Reviews