Downer Group Employee Reviews

Found 219 reviews matching the search See all 300 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean air con place with great facilities
TEMP ~ August to present (Former Employee) –  Gladsville17 February 2019
Worked half day, with no unnecessary pressure.

People and colleagues were fun to work for and always helpful.

Spent mos of the afternoon by myself and answering call.
Cons
Sometimes needed help on breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for - I'd work for them again
Instrument Electrical Technician (Former Employee) –  Karratha WA5 February 2019
worked on two great projects in WA. Unfortunately Downer lost both jobs to other companies but it was great while it lasted. Great comraderie across most of the site.
Pros
well paid, no issues
Cons
long rosters were difficult for some
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very professional company
Scaffolder/Rigger (Former Employee) –  Port Hedland WA2 January 2019
A company I enjoyed working with due to the people and the integrity of the downer group, long term work was a bonus and the variety of work also, a company I would highly recommend. also opportunities for advancement and training.
Pros
good roster
Cons
nil
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
company lacks support and training
Site Manager (Former Employee) –  Perth WA15 November 2018
company promotes its self as a tier 1 and is well structured but unfortunately this not the case. many personnel are struggling with the recently introduced systems however there is not support to train personnel.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loyal bosses
scaffolder/yards person (Former Employee) –  Barrow Island WA13 August 2018
I liked working with loyal people who knew their job. I was always busy a lot of different tasks involved each day stacking packing and putting equipment away loading and unloading trucks it was very physical work that's why I enjoy it so much I did learn a lot of different and ongoing responsibilities workplace culture was very good
Pros
kept busy at all times
Cons
being away from family
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accounts Payble Supervisor
Accounts Payable Officer (Former Employee) –  perth20 June 2018
Great industry and wonderful suppliers.
Never a dull moment with a new challenge and project with each customer enquiry or request.
Fantastic corporate culture that is supportive and caring.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
About 3 years late to the party
Administration Officer (Current Employee) –  Sydney17 May 2018
While a lot of companies have already experimented with outsourcing to offshore contractors, realised it doesn't work, and brought the roles back into local offices - Downer is only just beginning this experiment and there is very little job security.

The office in North Ryde is basically the same as any other North Ryde/Macquarie Park office, the pay is around average, sothere is not much incentive that separates it from the many many other corporate jobs in the area. Accept that it is particularly slow, offers very little in the way of growth (both salary wise and personal development), and offers zero perks.

I would say it's good for someone looking for short time employment, but even then it's nothing special
Pros
Flexibility (though not all departments are flexible)
Cons
Unsecure; no development; slow moving; no perks/incentives
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gain lots of experience as an a electrician with Downer.
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Onslow WA15 April 2018
I enjoyed my time working with Downer and I was lucky to get some training as well and good experience.On the big projects it can be quite strict with many supervisors and safety guys.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
basketball
Intermediate Rigger (Former Employee) –  Perth WA,Sydney NSW,Innisfail QLD,Townsville QLD12 April 2018
: continues work for 6 day's with overtime
: improvement of my knowledge to work with and to share my
: knowledge to my co worker
: always updated for what is going on and what was happening
: good environment
: is to be a part of it to finished the job safe
Pros
free ute as a transportation
Cons
long hours with overtime
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working 60-80 hours per week and getting paid ok
Contractor (Former Employee) –  Brisbane Central Business District QLD8 April 2018
My experience was below average but it was because of the nature of the role. A typical day was 8 am - 6 pm plus some work at home. Weekends typically 5-10 hours of work.
The manager was fly in and fly out manager and he did not have any intention to develop me.
The workplace was isolated from the company because of the nature of the role.
Hardest was to get criticised for things that were not my responsibility
One weekend day of free over 6 weeks was the only enjoyment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great to work for
Multi skilled operator (Former Employee) –  Millenium .29 March 2018
had worked for them briefly before being employed with Peabody , but also worked with Roach in western Australia as well . Great company to work for .
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive enjoyable workplace
A-Grade Electrician (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC21 March 2018
Good team environment, hard working however rewarding outcomes
Great working conditions with management willing to always lend assistance to achieve the best outcomes
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engineering company moving to Tier 1 Contracting
Administration Manager (Former Employee) –  Townsville QLD13 March 2018
Downer's move away from construction and engineering to become a tier 1 contracting company managing subcontractors was at odds with the regional "hands on" offices throughout Queensland. (Not a criticism, merely an observation of a changing business.) Subsequently the regional Qld offices were drastically downsized.
Local management is a great support to the workforce.
Centralised management & systems were always heading in the right direction but never arrived.
Typically long days with great rewards both financially and in the sense of a job well done. Great camaraderie among the crews.
Hardest part of the job: Working within incomplete QA systems.
Most enjoyable part of the job: The people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, challenging and learning experiance
Truck Driver/Labourer (Former Employee) –  Windsor NSW7 March 2018
Fun place to learn and work with colegues.
Multiple jobs at different locations. Plenty of overtime and chance to work on weekends for special events around Sydney.
Pros
combination of jobs and locations
Cons
no communications between management
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
worked with them before i would definitely work for them anytime
Trades Assistant (Former Employee) –  Newcastle NSW5 March 2018
worked with them before i would definitely work for them anytime, Everyday i learnt something different, they direct you in the courses that you are willing to do & met great people on sites which are now friends even the bosses & supervisors i still keep in touch with them
Pros
great crew & safety comes first
Cons
it depends what site
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short term project with a good team to achieve on time on budget outocme
HSE Safety Supervisor (Shutdown) (Former Employee) –  Glenelg SA26 February 2018
A professional approach and team. A good outcome with the job completed inside the scope set down. The right people for the task, right balance for a dayshift and a nightshift. Great company
Pros
Well exectuted project on all fronts
Cons
Job was not long enought to learn the company system thoroughly
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a productive day is challenging but not too stressful
Project Planning and Controls Engineer (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD17 February 2018
a typical day for me is either work-shopping with the stakeholders to plan/schedule the upcoming project or reviewing the analysis of the project performance and compiling a recovery plan for the lost progress.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toucher chamber
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  North Sydney NSW13 February 2018
Nothing works its all fragmented lots of chiefs and parasites that thrive in broken environments beyond repair. There's good people but they dont last long.
Pros
Pay
Cons
Long hours, work overloading
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company, good leadership and training
Production Operator (Current Employee) –  Perth WA8 February 2018
Had a great learning experience with Downers they offered me great opportunities to further my skills and knowledge within the mining industry.
Provide all the necessary means for new comers onsite
Just an overall great company to work for
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Peggy/Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Australia5 February 2018
Productive and great workplace with friendly staff, good hours, close to home and great benefits.

started working as a peggy/cleaner and also filled in as a trades assistant and a store person, learnt a lot about tools on the job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Downer Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 300 reviews
5107
4118
349
211
115

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture