Essential Energy Employee Reviews

Found 18 reviews matching the search See all 25 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
15% Employee Engagement Score tells the story
Manager (Former Employee) –  Port Macquarie NSW31 January 2019
Essential Energy strongly promotes a positive culture, great leadership and a fantastic workplace environment. Unfortunately this promotion is the polar opposite to reality.
The 15% Employee Engagement Score is a reflection of the Executive Leadership Team's capability.
Pros
Great place to live
Cons
Bad place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good employer
Database Analyst (Former Employee) –  Port Macquarie NSW5 August 2018
Restructure of organisation affected my review scores. Overall experience and opportunities were good however the desire to reduce costs outweighed the organisations ability to deliver services.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wouldn't rush to work here
Project Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Port Macquarie NSW24 June 2018
Friendly People
Good Flexible environment
Morning Teas
Good Contractor Rates

Management are useless
Bureaucratics galore
Sit down and shut up is the mentality
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Customer Support Officer, Customer Advocacy (Former Employee) –  Tweed Heads South NSW8 June 2018
State government, good conditions and opportunities Great people to work with and good career training and advancement opportunities for hard workers.
Pros
Great conditions and salary
Cons
demanding
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy friendly environment to work in
Billing Officer (Former Employee) –  Port Macquarie NSW18 April 2018
I enjoyed working in a team environment and found my supervisors to be approachable and friendly. They provided the necessary answers to any questions that I had.
Pros
Good working environment
Cons
Contract
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job when there's work on.
Zone Substation Electrician (Current Employee) –  Wagga Wagga NSW3 March 2018
Loved my time at EE immensely. Although worth asking in an interview if there is enough work in the medium to long term future at your location that can keep you meaningfully employed.
When there's nothing on can get laborious very quickly.
Also worth noting the work ethic compared to most jobs is very, very slack.
Pros
Salary, 9 day working week, Leave at Half Pay option
Cons
Tedious work when nothing's on. Poor work ethic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Efficient and Professional
Business Administration (Former Employee) –  Port Macquarie NSW26 November 2017
This organisation is efficient in its delivery of customer service and professional in seeking the best solution for all parties involved in any issue.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair & Just Culture
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW8 January 2017
Essential Energy was a great place to work for. The people are great to work with. It is unfortunate that with electricity prices rising, there are extreme measures being taken to reduce costs, ie. jobs.
The remuneration and superannuation are great benefits to work for.
Pros
Great people to work with and excellent remuneration
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Going through big changes
Technical Training Manager (Current Employee) –  Ewingsdale NSW13 November 2016
Electricity distributors are being sold off in NSW, so future unknown in private hands. Cost saving to boost profits will result in unreliable network to the public..
Pros
New CEO
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the largest Electrical Distribution Networks in New South Wales
Electrical Distribution Linesman (Current Employee) –  Taree NSW17 February 2016
Great workmates in my crew. I'll miss working within the company, was here for 18 years and made some great friends in my time here.
Pros
The odd occasional barbecue. Workmates that I could trust and rely upon everyday.
Cons
External and internal politics making all of our jobs insecure.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work in short time frame
Business Analyst, short term contract (Former Employee) –  Port Macquarie5 February 2016
Supportive management and staff
learned about energy utility
learned more about cost review of insourcing / outsourcing
Pros
Excellent work
Cons
tight time frames
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Administration Officer (Former Employee) –  Port Macquarie NSW4 November 2015
I really enjoyed working at Essential Energy and I miss it terribly. I was a contractor and worked there for 4 1/2 years. I learnt a lot of interesting procedures and made fantastic friends
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Executive Officer (Former Employee) –  Port Macquarie, NSW16 August 2014
A great place to work, with a company wide policy of "every door is open" - The Managing Director put his mobile phone number on every message to staff, and he spoke with every person who called him - unusual in a company of this size (all over rural and regional NSW)
Pros
Wonderful place to work - fabulous staff
Cons
Too many days away from home...
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team environment
Network Billing Officer (Current Employee) –  Port Macquarie NSW6 September 2013
Processing transfers with a good level of accurate and improving my KPI numbers.
I like the environment, being as a part of a team, learning new skills and gaining experience, understanding the processes, taking decisions for problem solving.
Pros
Safety, Customer and Community focus and Respect for People are the some of the values of the Company
Cons
It is a temporary position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment.
Customer service advisor (Current Employee) –  Port Macquarie17 July 2013
Dealing with customers, you come across all types of characters, some are funny, and abusive which you have to accept it comes with the job. i have great support with my work collegues.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
extraordinary people and company
Treasury Adviser (Current Employee) –  Port Macquarie NSW Australia5 April 2013
It has been an extraordinary experience to work for Essential Energy. I have been employed by the company for 12 years. I do not have anything negative to say about the company or the people that I have had the pleasure of working with.
My reasoning for preparing to leave is a totally personal one, to have a change and see what else is out there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and Fun work place
2nd Level IT Support (Former Employee) –  Port Macquarie , NSW14 March 2013
It's very Friendly and Fun Place , Great co-workers and the most enjoyable time of job was BBQ times.
The job was not that much challenging at the level I was working but I think in higher positions it was different.
I had a great boss with great attitude which I will never forget his nice personality.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report

See more Essential Energy reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Essential Energy. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 25 reviews
511
49
33
20
12

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
4.2Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture