FDM Group Employee Reviews

Showing all 85 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toller Einstieg ins Berufsleben, Projekteinsätze in großen Unternehmen
Business Consultant Project Management (Current Employee) –  Frankfurt am Main19 July 2019
Tolles Office mitten im Frankfurter Bankenviertel. Man wird vom Team sofort aufgenommen, das Team an sich ist jung. Das Training hat Spaß gemacht und ich habe viele neue Leute kennengelernt. Für mich der ideale Einstieg nach dem Studium, um eine Karriere in IT zu starten - auch mit wenig Berufserfahrung. Die Projekteinsätze finden in der Regel in Großkonzernen statt und man wird während dem Einsatz durch einen Consultant Support stetig unterstützt bei jeglichen Anliegen.
Pros
Stetiger Consultat Support während des Projekteinsatzes, tolles Team, stetige Weiterbildungsmöglichkeiten
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Start-up-feeling mitten im Frankfurter Bahnhofsviertel
Recruitment Consultant (Current Employee) –  Frankfurt am Main18 July 2019
angenehme Arbeitsatmosphäre, alle Kollegen verstehen sich sehr gut miteinander, wodurch die Arbeit wirklich Spaß macht.

Ellenbogen-Verhalten ist hier fremd- zwischen den Mitarbeitern herrscht ein freundschaftliches Verhältnis.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super für alle Quereinsteiger mit Interesse für IT
Trainee im Bereich Softwareentwicklung (Current Employee) –  Frankfurt am Main18 July 2019
Auch ohne Informatikstudium möglich eine Karriere in IT zu starten. Training ist top, viele praktischen Gruppenarbeiten zusammen mit den Trainees und auch die Möglichkeit zur Weiterbildung durch weitere Zertifikate möglich vor dem Kundeneinsatz. Hätte nie gedacht, dass ich nach einigen Monaten für bestimmte Themen beim Kunden neben dem täglichen To-DO auch Teilprojekte verantworte.
Pros
Sehr guter Berufseinstieg, Freundschaftlicher Umgang untereinander, unbefristeter ArbeitsvertragTeam-events, Consultant Support während des Projekteinsatzes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gute Ausbildungsstelle, um Arbeitserfahrung zu sammeln und viele neue Leute kennenzulernen
Auszubildende (Current Employee) –  Frankfurt am Main18 July 2019
Die FDM Group GmbH ist ein vielseitiges und internationales Unternehmen, wo man die Möglichkeit hat viele neue Leute, die sowohl aus unterschiedlichen Kulturen als auch aus unterschiedlichen Fachbereichen kommen, kennenzulernen.

Die Unternehmenssprache ist deutsch, aber man ist im ständigen Kontakt mit Kollegen aus Großbritannien und deshalb sind gute Englischkenntnisse von Vorteil.

Es ist ein sehr offenes Unternehmen und es herrscht eine Du-Kultur zwischen den Kollegen sowie Vorgesetzten, was die Arbeitsatmosphäre sehr angenehm und familiär gestaltet.

Die Arbeit kann innerhalb einer Woche unterschiedlich sein, je nach dem in welcher Abteilung man eingesetzt ist. Als Auszubildende/ Auszubildender für Kauffrau/Kaufmann für Büromanagement durchläuft man innerhalb der Ausbildung jede Abteilung.

Man durchläuft folgende Abteilungen: Human Resources(Personalabteilung), Sales (Vertrieb) und Recruiting.

In jeder Abteilung unterstützt man die Kollegen bei administrativen Tätigkeiten, aber kriegt auch nach Bedarf Aufgaben mit mehr Verantwortung.

Am meisten gefällt mir an diesem Unternehmen, dass man die Möglichkeit hat, in mehrere Bereiche Einblicke zu erhalten und dass man Tätigkeiten selbstständig umsetzen darf.

Die FDM Group ist ein internationaler IT-Dienstleister, die Absolventen rekrutiert, welche einen Berufseinstieg in der IT-Branche suchen. Deshalb hat man die Möglichkeit jeden Monat neue Leute kennenzulernen und Kontakte zu knüpfen.

Die Auszubildende werden sowohl bei der Praxis als auch bei der Theorie, die sie für den Beruf erlernen müssen, seitens
  more... der Kollegen sowie Ausbilder unterstützt.

Man bekommt als Azubi bei guten Berufsschulnoten eine Prämie und der Betrieb übernimmt die Rechnung für die Vorbereitungskurse vor der Zwischen- und Abschlussprüfung, aber auch hier im Büro wird man von den Kollegen für die Prüfungen vorbereitet.
  less
Pros
Prämie bei guten Berufsschulnoten, Vorbereitungskurse für die Zwischen- und Abschlussprüfung werden vom Unternehmen bezahlt, Lernmaterialien für die IHK-Prüfungen werden bereitgestellt
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's like a school with strict rules
Java Developer (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 July 2019
They have strict dress code private schools . Pay is barely above bare minimum wage. You won't probably get two years of experience as initial contract are of 6 months.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Client cover up in the lines of ABUSE
IT Consultant (Former Employee) –  London Bridge Station, Greater London3 July 2019
They need to protect employees, stop using people like pawns, it's inhuman and unethical. Bunch of Hypocrites. Useless excuse of a company that promotes abuse.
Pros
No pros as far as I can tell it's a waste of time.
Cons
-They don't care about their employees, you report abuse and they cover up for the client and falsely accuse you, and dismiss you with no evidence. - They took 5 months to plot the dismissal, due to lack of evidence of allegations they were trying to pin on me, as a way to cover up for the client. - They try to buy you out, for your silence. - They don't pay good salaries.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don’t work here
Graduate Trainee (Former Employee) –  Glasgow, Glasgow3 July 2019
wouldn’t recommend the graduate scheme be pretty much forced to stay for the 2 years or get hit with the training fees left to pay off in the 20k area
Pros
none
Cons
company and pay itself
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great potential spoiled by corporate culture
Project Management Consultant (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London2 July 2019
The Ex-Forces Advanced Course is a great idea in principle and certainly eases the transition from military to civilian life, highlighting and enhancing transferable skills in to commercial language. They also offer a good range of client an dopportunities for roles to transition in to, assuming you are successful at the interviews they arrange.

However the culture is that of client-first, with consultant/employee needs a distance second, shown through next to non-existent support for their own employees. It is made clear that consultants are products to be sold and beyond the initial training course there is very little in the way of career development.
Pros
Varied client list
Cons
Corporate culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worth a shot but beware
Software Tester (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON17 June 2019
FDM is more or less a recruitment firm where you get trained and paid. Sounds good at first but there are some problems.

1. Awful pay. You make minimum wage while in training. Once you get a placement, you will make around $40000 the first year, and $45000 the second. You sign a 2 year contract and if you leave you will be charged a $30000 fee (to cover cost of training supposedly). I don't know about the rest of the locations, but Toronto is EXPENSIVE and you won't have anything left at the end of the month.

2. Training is subpar. The training program lasts around 10 to 16 weeks, depending on what stream you're in. The training goes by very fast and not very in depth. Most of the content is stuff you will learn in university. You probably won't be learning any new or special skills to put you above everyone else out there. Remember this is a recruitment firm at heart and you will be competing with other candidates. It's a good refresher if you already know the stuff but nothing more than that. Definitely not worth anything close to the $30000 they are charging.

3. Waiting for a placement is depressing. After you are done training, you are put in "The Pond", where you wait for interviews to hopefully get a placement somewhere. You're basically still on job search, except you don't choose what jobs you get, the account managers will present them to you. Sometimes you can go weeks without an interview. It's up to you to look busy and keep yourself occupied and not be fired.

4. There is a high turnover rate. There are times when there are a lot of people in The Pond
  more... and not a lot of jobs coming in. However they will still bring in more people for training, despite the massive backlog. And so those in The Pond will be fired to make room. Who gets put on the chopping block seems random. I've seen both lazy and hardworking people get dropped. They do not give you a reason for doing so either. Luckily they will not make you pay the $30000 fee if they fire you.

Now if things work out, you can land somewhere really nice and make lots of money after 2 years. However I've seen just as many good people be kicked out and left with a bad mark on their resume. If you feel like you have nowhere to go, you can give them a shot, but chances are, you're better than you think.

On the bright side, you meet some really nice people. You are placed in a class of around 10 and you will all be friends at the end. Everyone is friendly and easy going, since you're all in the same situation. Some trainers are helpful and genuinely care about you.
  less
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good gateway into IT
IT Consultant (Current Employee) –  Northwich17 June 2019
For me, FDM has had a positive impact upon my career. The training provided is valuable and I would say that everyone who leaves, does so further along than they were before.

My placement was mostly positive though and gave good experience. Others who were placed though had even more positive experiences, and once you've been placed once, you are a valuable asset.
Pros
A good gateway into a career in IT
Cons
When they say geographically flexible - they MEAN it
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Save yourself the trouble
Employee (Former Employee) –  Reston, VA10 May 2019
I worked in the Reston office for almost a year. To make a very long story short, the work environment is very hostile and you will feel like your job is in jeopardy almost every morning you walk in. The company prides themselves in helping college grads jump start their careers. False. What they will do is humiliate, exploit, and take full advantage of you for 2 years by placing you in a role that does not align with the training program or the candidates career goals. The turnover in the Reston office is rampant - a constant revolving door. Don't be fooled by the positive comments on here and Glassdoor. The positive ones are posted by internal employees to filter out the truth (you will be instructed to do this or it's bye bye for you). You will find a much better opportunity in the DC area, trust me!
Pros
cant think of any
Cons
i think i made my point
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for what it is
Business Analyst/Data Analyst/ PMO Trainee (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, NY7 April 2019
If you are looking for job training and a place to start your carer then FDM is perfect. They teach you basic skills such as SQL and Unix. However, they do not always place you in the field for which you trained. They are more concerned with making money than making you happy and will hold the contract you signed over your head when you do not do as they say.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Starting Place for IT Industry
IT Consultant (Former Employee) –  Reston, VA4 April 2019
FDM Group is a great way for fresh graduates to get their foot in the door for employment in the IT industry.
1. The FDM training program seem like a pretty standard classroom environment.
2. The biggest obstacle is the fact that most courses are only a week long with a test on the last day, and you are forced to have to absorb a lot of material within such a short amount of time. The exams were definitely challenging, and I spent most of my time outside of the working hours studying with my classmates.
3. I would say they treated me reasonably well, but in all fairness I haven't had to rely on and interact with them too much since I've been working.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good training
Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  New York, NY27 March 2019
Received training in IT related skills. Getting a contract is mostly random or the requirements are very niche. It would be nice for FDM to not have a huge backlog of consultants when there are classes that have not been hired yet.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for new grads to get into the field.
Software Development Contractor at RBC (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 March 2019
The training is not bad, but not too useful either if you already have a background in software, but they use that to keep you in a 2 year contract that costs $30,000 to break.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only join if you like playing roulette
IT Consultant (Current Employee) –  Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh11 March 2019
Joined FDM after a friend had a good experience with it. Trained to become a BA and am now working on client site.

FDM is the definition of playing roulette with your career with no control of where you go. I was lucky but half my friends got sent to places they didn't want (but we all knew the risks when we joined). Spin the wheel if you're feeling lucky, just remember you'll be eating cheese sandwiches for lunch because 60% of your salary will be on paying for your rent.

Pay is terrible (exactly what others have said, you get about 30% of the day rate FDM charges) - you know the pay before you join but don't realise the cut FDM is making (wonder why their share price has continued to shoot up year on year). There are no benefits to write home about (child care vouchers for a graduate scheme, nice one FDM). Got another year left on this "community service" and hopefully will be made permanent with the client.

However, that said, I wouldn't have had the opportunity if I went out by myself. I feel like I owe FDM for my career, but why not just pay grads an extra £5-10k? I'd actually feel loyal to FDM. Right now, I can't wait for my 2 year bond to be finished and leave.

This isn't a consultancy company, but a glorified recruitment firm that skims more than it should at the expense of having good contacts in the industry. Spin the wheel, what will you land on (if anything)?
Was this review helpful?Yes 30No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Modern Day Slavery
Consultant (Current Employee) –  London, Greater London15 February 2019
Been a consultant here for a while now.

Honest review, it's a place that exploits powerless, insecure and inexperienced (honest) graduates, who are trying to find their feet.

The placements can be quite extraordinary, given you have the ability to work with some of the worlds biggest institutions.
Ability to travel abroad (my first placement was for an investment bank abroad).

But here's the the best part, while abroad, or anywhere with FDM for that matter, you'll be kept on the most shoestring salary for what you do that you will struggle greatly to make ends meet.

For example, i'm currently being paid around £25000 for a placement with a big Global Bank in London City Center. I happened to come across some concrete information that FDM charge me out to this client at £350 a day - that's close to £85000 a year.

While FDM are upfront about the pay, they're not up front as to how badly they underpay you for what you do, and for what they make out of you, which i'm still reeling from.

Their training fee is valued at up to £20000 if you renege on your contract somehow, I can honestly tell you, 95% of the courses you do, consist of PowerPoint presentations that are just chocked full of text. I have personally purchased E-Learning courses in my own personal time which are no more than £50 and successfully cover far more than anything FDM Training does and of much greater value to learning.

To sum up the experience, you are a battery chicken, they will put you through your paces to get what they want out of you, you'll be their circus monkey while you're within
  more... your 2 year contract, be prepared for it.

BUT, there is a caveat, if you truly show value wherever you go, there is a high chance of setting up your future for good. Albeit this can be said for anywhere, not just FDM.

However, after your first 2 years, if you choose to go down this road and sell your soul for this amount of time, will quite possibly be some of the most difficult experiences of your life thus far. But if you make it through, network along the way and add value wherever you go, there's a high chance a client will take you on internal (I have seen this personally happen to some consultants I worked with at the end of their 2 years), or that you can secure work that is vastly better paid. (I personally know ex-FDM consultants who have walked into £500 / day contracting roles within 2 years of them leaving FDM).

While this sounds great, be sure to ask yourself if you want to sell your soul to gain this, because you truly will have to if you choose this path.

Account managers will force you to take roles that you don't like or have no interest in to meet their quotas / earn their commission. Because warned, if you are not proactive in pushing for roles you'd like with the right people, you will be dumped into a brain-numbing company / role somewhere and forgotten the moment you are on client site, apart from to chase you for timesheets. Be prepared to brave nee experiences solo, it often happens, especially when you're placed abroad (you have a choice in this)
  less
Pros
Clients / Placements
Cons
Extremely low pay for what you do, middle management at FDM is horrendous, training valued far greater than what it actually is, you are just a resource, / number / statistic you're sold away by account managers into positions you dont want.
Was this review helpful?Yes 32No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paid training, but poor salary and management
IT Consultant (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON5 February 2019
The company is good, but they just earn money from clients, and they do not care the furture of individuals. What they care is that if you can make profits for the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
job security
Java Developer Trainee (Former Employee) –  Toronto, ON29 January 2019
There is job no security. They will fire you any time without any mistake. please don't go.

They pay minimum and play with your career.

Look for something better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Complete waste of 2 months so far
Big Data Developer (Current Employee) –  Toronto, ON24 January 2019
This may be because I came in at the wrong time of the year but consultants were kicked out left and right. There is a general shortage of roles presented to us by the account managers and the area for consultants who are done their training but have not yet been placed(which we call the Pond) is generally overfilled. My fellow trainees and I have generally worked our @$$É$ off trying to perform well in every technical assessment we were given throughout the training process only to wonder at the halfway point whether or not all our efforts are worth it. To make matters worse, we are all stuck under a 2 year contract that prohibits us from leaving the company with the exception of when they kick us out. Termination can come when we least expect it with or without reason. I am not saying that this is the worst place I have worked for but it's definitely overrated given the good reviews on the internet. My recommendation to all prospective consultants out there is that if you are able to find a better position elsewhere, go for it!
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at FDM Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 85 reviews
511
422
327
210
115

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
2.5Salary/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.1Culture