Flight Centre Travel Group Employee Reviews

Found 20 reviews matching the search See all 40 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service sales based role
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Sydney Inner Suburbs NSW10 November 2018
If you're looking for a challenging career with multiple paths to success then this is the career for you.
I'm not going to lie, it will be hard and you will think about quitting, however I can assure you that those moments will pass and you will be so please you didn't quit.

Work life balance is great, I work part time and manage a store. Flexible rosters, educational leave, famil trips, incentives, career opportunities, finance roles, marketing roles, wholesale and product roles. There is so much that this company has to offer. Multiple sites to choose from.

Salary and commissions based role with bonuses.

This role requires you to be personable, motivated and driven. You must have a passion for travel and be able to hold a good conversation.
Cons
Staff leave after not giving it at least 6 months
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
toxic work environment that is propped up with alcohol
Travel Consultant (Former Employee) –  Morayfield QLD13 August 2018
was there for more than a year, I saw managers come and go, I saw lots of other staff come and go.

Management and corporate would see the high turnover, asked what the problem was, then ignored the answer.

The payment and commission structure was setup in a way that you only get 1.5% of what you put through the till, so if you sell a $100 flight, you personally get $1.50 thats it. Their base wage is minimum wage, doesn't matter if you mark it up or over charge the customer, your percentage doesn't change.

So you try you hardest to get sales, to book travel, to learn all the systems and work with all the suppliers.... only to have long hours and poor pay. I worked out that my average hourly rate (for the hours i had to do) was actually 15/hour because if you only do the hours on the roster than "you aren't doing all your work".

This is on top of the mandatory drinking, yes, mandatory. They would hold every single monthly meeting in a pub, club or RSL, there would be open tabs and even the "prizes" for doing well was wine or spirits. There was more than once that staff were drinking before the store even opened.

About the only positive thing I can say Flight Centre is that it showed me why people are turning away from flight centre and booking online, because it is a blatant rip off and the big sign out the front saying "from $99" is actually never $99 - straight out false marketing.
Pros
..... i learnt a fair bit about the travel industry
Cons
low pay, long hours, too much drinking
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours and very competative environment
Travel Manager (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW3 May 2018
Great place as a starting block for opening doors to many other opportunities.

Only consider working for this company if you have a real passion for sales and are committed to long hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flight Centre
Travel Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Melton VIC29 April 2018
Not a bad place to work, lots of support and benefits. Salary could be better as base wage is low when not topped up with good commission earnings. Not easy to hit targets when enquiry is not there.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Quiet times
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for ladder climbers
Travel Consultant (Current Employee) –  Adelaide18 April 2018
If you're keen to climb the ladder in the travel industry, this company works for you. They're keen on growth and so foster those who would like to become managers and/or move laterally in the industry. Work/life balance doesn't exist for the first 5 ish years, but can come with time if you're willing to be your own manager.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You are just a number to them
Travel Consultant (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC21 January 2018
In a travel consultant role with Flight Centre, you consistently work unpaid overtime. It is impossible to have a work/life balance. Any errors made are deducted from your pay, which is low enough in the first place. Customers who bring in a cheaper price found elsewhere, this difference is also deducted from your pay. I earnt 32K after tax for the year, working on average 50hrs a week in an extremely high-stress job. If you mention your concerns to higher management you are told you have a 'negative attitude'. Steer well well clear.
Pros
You see cheap deals first
Cons
Long hours, Low pay, Mistakes deducted from pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long hours
Travel Consultant (Former Employee) –  WA28 November 2017
Long hours with quite low pay. You really need to be passionate about selling travel as this job will take over your life. Good opportunities for advancement though and supportive management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace with great culture
Travel Consultant (Current Employee) –  Falcon Bay WA19 November 2017
- Meet with suppliers and wholesalers
- Cater to certain demographics and making recommendations to create amazing itineraries
- Provide immaculate standard of customer service
- Maintain a filing system for all invoices and documents
- Maintain VIP, and stationary lists using Microsoft Programs
- Implementing and keeping up to date with IATA policies and procedures
- Implementing business plans, and meeting targets and incentives
- Advising clients of relevant travel advice such as visa and passport requirements
- Banking, Eftpos and Third Party reconciliation
- Use of booking, invoicing and accounting systems such as TUD, Galilio, Sabre, QuickDox & Client
- Maintain great organisation skills and attention to detail
Pros
Incentives, discounted travel
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Travel Consultant (Current Employee) –  Gympie QLD12 July 2017
The culture and management and growth at Flight Centre is amazing there balls and recognition are also amazing they offer of free trips ect is great and I think this job suits someone younger with no responsibilities, the only and huge down fall is the salary its minimum wage and there is a lot of pressure as you do want to create an amazing holiday for your customers
Pros
team environment
Cons
money
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for the 1st year
ASSISTANT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Sydney Harbour NSW11 July 2017
Great company culture. Awesome 1st year as there are so many free trips and opportunities to grab. After that though the incentives die down and it is harder to stay motivated.
Pros
Travel the world
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Start to Travel
Travel Consultant (Former Employee) –  sydney15 May 2017
great job to start the travel industry in. Almost cult like culture in the business, high achievers are well compensated, a lot of training and loads of social events. you're always kept in the loop.
Pros
Culture, social, training
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome company
Travel Consultant (Former Employee) –  Warriewood Shopping Square NSW27 April 2017
They have Personal Trainers who visit the office every 6 months to conduct a health check. Cholesterol and blood pressure testing. They have an ancilliary company that provides personal training and group classes at very affordable rates. If you reach certain targets you are provided with a holiday. You can get up to 70% off a tour if you book close to the commencement of the tour.
Pros
Holidays and health checks
Cons
Salary is low to start but you can make a lot of money if you persevere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work life balance at all
Travel consultant (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC19 February 2017
no work life balance at all , salary is commission based get thrown in the deep end after training hard to find the support needed to keep going.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great chance for advancement and extra benefits
Travel Consultant & Assistant Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC2 January 2017
Flight Centre Travel Group in Australia is huge. I worked for the Student Flight Brand and the culture within my area was amazing. Almost like family. There was a lot of room for growth and advancement with roles. Also for high achievers you had the opportunity to get famil trips where you go on an all expenses paid for trip with a supplier. That was probably my highlight, going to Iceland with Intrepid Tours. Helping people on their first overseas trip or just their next trip brought me a lot of job satisfaction, being able to be apart of those journeys was truly amazing.
I loved my team and coming to work everyday. However, the work/life balance was quite hard at first as I did not know how to manage it very well. Long hours for little pay made it hard as well to have that balance or be able to afford to do those things.
Pros
free trips and great culture
Cons
long hours little pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Travel Agent (Former Employee) –  Adelaide, SA8 October 2015
Loved it - but it's hard work and Flight Centre is honest about that from the get go. If you are willing to put every effort in and have extremely good attention to detail then it's an amazing job and company to work for.
Pros
Awards nights, travel incentives, great teams and culture
Cons
Work/life balance could be better
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Team Leader (Current Employee) –  Brisbane, QLD1 October 2015
Flight Centre is great company to work for. They continuously in the top 100 companies to work for and for good reasons.
There is are many benefits in working for Flight Centre and they really do look after their employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Opportunities and Company Culture
Employment period (Former Employee) –  Brisbane9 March 2015
I thoroughly enjoyed my time working for Flight Centre Travel Group and all of the personal and professional opportunities that the company provided.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy fast paced office environement
Travel Consultant (Current Employee) –  South perth27 February 2015
Every morning we would have a morning meeting, going through goals and achievements and highlighting what needed to be improved on.
The girls I worked with encouraged and supported one another, making the role better and allowing for a happier working environment.
The days could be long and repetitive, and sometimes the goals we were given to achieve seemed out of reach. However, with the support from team members we all came together to pull through and do out best, and when succeeding we celebrated together the wins.
The work life balance was ok ,I found you put a lot of your spare time (not paid) into the role in order to succeed often staying back for up to three hours in order to reach your goals.
Pros
Educational trips
Cons
Long hours and low wage, overtime was not paid for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challening and enjoyable job with a fun culture
STUDENT FLIGHTS (Former Employee) –  Sydney10 February 2015
Working as a travel consultant can be a challenging job, but once the conversation with the client has begun, you are able to share experiences, make fun suggestions and create the perfect package that clients are so happy with.
Pros
Creating lasting holiday memories for clients
Cons
slow sales month = low income month
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report

See more Flight Centre Travel Group reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Flight Centre Travel Group. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 40 reviews
59
410
314
25
12

Ratings by category

2.9Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.7Culture

Flight Centre Travel Group Reviews by Location