FLIR Systems Employee Reviews

Showing all 118 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very freindly place to work
Customer Service Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Ellaville, GA18 February 2017
it is a fun place to work. every one is friendly and it is challenging on some days when you are working on a project. You will lean about people and how they handle them self while working with. I have also leaned that you can work with all kinds of people from all over the world being in customer support you travel a lot
Pros
travel alot
Cons
can be dirty at times
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company Culture and FREE LUNCH
Event Marketing Specialist (Former Employee) –  Richmond, BC25 January 2017
FLIR integrated imaging solutions in Richmond (Formerly Point Grey Research Inc.) really knows how to take care of employees. It's a fantastic place to work. If I wasn't on a contract I would have loved to make it a full-time place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contingent Employee
Field Service Engineer (Current Employee) –  San Diego, CA25 January 2017
Not exceptionally happy with the contract between FLIR and the temporary hire agencies. No paid vacation days and only 3 paid sick days per year. FLIR employees openly discuss their fears of being fired each year as the company likes to show a good "bottom line" in last quarter.
Pros
Great technology
Cons
Company does not take care of its employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Poor Management at this company.
CSA - Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  NH7 December 2016
Poor Management, if your not part of the boys club you don't advance at this company. Too many manual processes that make your job harder to get done.
Pros
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers
Mechanical Design Engineer (Former Employee) –  Goleta, CA18 November 2016
It was easy to blend in and feel comfortable in this work environment, as all worker were easy to get along with, work with, and communicate with. Everybody was hardworking, dedicated, and on time.
Pros
Everybody was in a good mood
Cons
Older group of workers
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work but no advancement
Detector Packaging Technician (Temp) (Former Employee) –  Goleta, CA8 November 2016
I was hired as a temp with "possible" permanency but didn't happen. The IR Detector packaging group is nice and diverse but once you're there long enough you'll see their quirks and faults. I was able to learn to run various machines which was very interesting and fulfilling at first but you can see that certain people favor doing certain things so eventually you'll be stuck doing only a few things.

Management favors the permanent employees but tries to be considerate and understanding to everyone. But if you don't/can't click with the group you're likely to be let go.

There really is no advancement from this position - All the techs have been working there for various amount of years. There are no benefits as a temp (at least through Vector) and the pay is mediocre. Flir does give reviews and incremental raises each year to their permanent employees, depending on how well the company is doing (bonuses are rare). Overall it was a nice learning experience to move on from.
Pros
Quarterly meetings with food, good coworkers
Cons
No opportunity for advancement, no benefits for temps
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place with opportunity to learn new things
Production Test Technician (Former Employee) –  Ventura, CA23 September 2016
A day at work was usually filled with different types of work you could be working with lasers on moment and illuminators the next. Through this company I learned about range finders and high power illuminators. Through this company i did learn how to solder and obtained a certification for soldering. Co- workers were great easy to get along with and also learned a lot from them
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job enviroment is awsome
Controller Latin America (Former Employee) –  Sao Paulo, Brazil29 June 2016
The most enjoayble par of the job were the challenges faced during the last 5 years, managing financials and accounting on a huge territory (all Latin America), with quite different cultures and people.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative and productive environment to work
Technical Lead (Former Employee) –  Stillwater, OK17 June 2016
Great place to learn about homeland security and apply electro-mechanical skills! Lots of travel if desired and great community worldwide to interface with. The corporate environment is welcoming to all the new businesses acquired through M&A. Unfortunately the leadership is close minded about offering career advancement.

Hardest part of the job is not getting to do creative work because the company is a product company that builds to print and improves existing product through process.

Best part of the job is the corporate environment and collaboration across multiple sites. Lots of talented and smart people work there and there are many opportunities to rely on a large team of people.

Seriously, it is a great place to work. Great benefits and good pay.
Pros
Great atmosphere and great products to work on
Cons
Little to no advancement opportunity
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aprendi bastante
Estagiária de Logística (Former Employee) –  Sorocaba, SP17 May 2016
Aprendi muito, por tratar-se do meu primeiro emprego. Mas a minha coordenação também estava despreparada para lidar com pessoas. Foi uma ótima experiencia, cresci muito. O ambiente de trabalho era agradavel.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's alright if you just want to stay where you are and never move up.
Technician Specialist (Current Employee) –  Wilsonville, OR16 May 2016
The balance between life and work is well tended to. time off is easily granted and personal time is available for certain circumstances. The pay is definitely not the best for this type/field of industry and the benefits are meager for a worldwide company like this. This job is secure as long as you show up and as for advancement, there really isn't any. There have been people here for 10 or 15 years that finally take a job in another area of the company but they don't move up. It's more of a move to the side. Management never really seems to talk to each other and so that's always fun to see them scramble around at the end of each quarter. All in all, it's okay if you just want to come to work, get a check and expect nothing more in your life.
Pros
onsite parking, newly remodeled cafe
Cons
Low moral, healthcare, management
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Empresa Fantastica
Técnico de Suporte (Former Employee) –  Sorocaba, SP4 February 2016
Aprendi muito na FLIR, uma empresa super moderna. Conta com os melhores software de gestão e não se preocupam com gastos quando o assunto é: bem estar do colaborador. Sem dúvida até hoje minha melhor experiencia empresarial.
Pros
Beneficios fantasticos
Cons
Gerencia local não tem total poder sobre decisões
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual environment with emphasis on innovation and collaboration
Mechanical Design Engineer (Current Employee) –  Bozeman, MT17 November 2015
There hasn't been a day I dreaded going to work (for work related issues). I get to see first hand the fruits of my labor and the positive impact my work has on our company. Management greatly respects my commitments outside of work and provides the flexibility to balance work and family.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Trevligt företag
Inside Sales Coordinator - konsult (Former Employee) –  Täby16 October 2015
Härlig stämning på företaget och många anställda har arbetat länge på FLIR. Roliga och tekniskt intressanta produkter.

Nackdel att företaget styrs från USA, framförallt märks det i dåliga tider när man är konsult på FLIR i Sverige.....
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FLIR Systems
Electro-Mechanical Technician (Former Employee) –  Elkridge, MD23 September 2015
I worked as an electro-mechanical assembler through Aerotek. Limited supervisory. The staffing agency was my reason for leaving to a higher paying job. They were hard to contact or get a straight answer out of and I was passed off to at least 4 different recruiters. Workforce was great. Working conditions not so much. Most enjoyable part of the job was my co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is very good
Business Development / Sales Support Specialist (Current Employee) –  Dubai18 September 2015
it is such a great company, it is the most specialized in surveillance and thermal imaging equipment.

Flir systems is a US company, operates globally from different destinations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Quality Inspector (Current Employee) –  Elkridge, MD21 August 2015
Working at FLIR will train and give you experience working in multiple electronic and mechanical jobs. The overall work is not boring.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Consumables Technician (Current Employee) –  Stillwater, OK2 August 2015
FLIR Systems is an excellent place to work. The employees are exceptionally talented as well as personable. The management is competent and understanding.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a scam
Customer Service Data Entry (Former Employee) –  Garyvile, La9 July 2015
They offered me a job at home , then requested my bank information, told me I had to purchase the product and they was sending the check to my home ITS A SCAM
Pros
Dont apply
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 25Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Behind in the times
Production (Former Employee) –  Elkridge, MD7 July 2015
New facility that has it issues. Management mindset is still on a R&D and not on Manufacturing. They bring in manufacturing experienced people as contractors but don't listen to their ideas or experiences. If something is brought up by someone that is contrary to managements ideas then that person or people are shunned and some, if contractors, are forced out.

People there think problems will "just go away" with time and are not tackled as a group, there is no buy in.

Some managers go off the handle on some problems before first actually looking into the problem to find out all the details. Very reactionary.

Moral is low on floor with long hours, bad planning, and sweeping things under the rug or just telling clients "everything is fine."

There is too much of a divide between the production floor and the administration/management side.

No one works together, only worried about themselves or a small group and not the team as a whole. There is a lot of CYA because if something goes wrong its easier to blame then to actually figure out the problem or mistake.

And that's a bad way to work. The are many employees/contractors that do care and want the best, but the support is just not there. And that is very frustrating.

Advancement opportunities are slim. Promises are made but not kept. Focus is more on the negative then the positive.

The people that are there can be great, but something needs to change or that facility will fail.

I would advise anyone to really look at whats going on and make their own opinions if they chose to find employment
  more... at this facility. I know the rest of the company and its other facilities are a great place to work.  less
Pros
Pay
Cons
Hours, Poor Planning, Management Disconnect
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at FLIR Systems. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 118 reviews
549
436
319
27
17

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture