Frontier Health Employee Reviews

Showing all 95 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high turnover
Direct Support Staff (Former Employee) –  Bristol, TN20 June 2018
Frintier healt does not care about their employees only them money they make off of them. I have a friend who has worked her for ten years and is just now making $11 an hour. when I worked there my shift was supposed to be 7 days on 7 days off but instead I worked 80 hours one week and 40 the other.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay sucks
Residental tech (Former Employee) –  Kingsport, TN9 May 2018
You get paid nothing. It is impossible to survive on paycheck. I only worked here because I loved what I was doing. For the amount of work we do we deserve more pay.
Pros
Free meals, pto, health insurance, people
Cons
Pay, no breaks, expectations
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely dependent on work location/site
Counselor (Current Employee) –  Kingsport, TN1 May 2018
Absolutely loved my position (as a school-based counselor), but that was more to do with the actual schools themselves. I have noticed that each Frontier Health site varies to a great degree. As a whole, the company pays very little (even when considering the low cost of living in the area). The benefits are acceptable, the people are really nice and helpful, although there seems to be a disconnect between the corporate office employees and clinicians. One of the biggest problems I've noticed colleagues having with this company (not personally), is lack of self-care/tendency for burnout. Although many managers and site directors (including mine, fortunately) are very attentive and supportive of self-care, others seem to want to drown their employees in as much work and stress as humanly possible.
Pros
Nice people, helping people, lots of PTO, decent benefits
Cons
Extremely low pay, low professionalism and poor communication at some sites
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management and low wages
Residential Technician (Former Employee) –  Kingsport, TN24 April 2018
I worked 16 hour shifts as a residential technician in blocks of 3 days. Pay was not worth living with 10 mentally ill patients for 3 days out of the week. House Manager was amazing but all other upper level management were not helpful in the least. I had to call 4 different times when I moved just for them to change my address. I did not receive my PTO payout even though I did turn in and work a two weeks notice. Would not recommend this company to anyone overall.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good way to get your foot in the door.
Case Manager II (Current Employee) –  Johnson City, TN17 April 2018
Pay is awful but great people to work with. Good way to earn experience in the field to help you advance in a different career. Advancement is hard to obtain.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and learn about the mental health world.
CSR - Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Greeneville, TN8 April 2018
It’s a lot of information to take in and especially if you don’t know insurances. Once you get over the nervous feeling and get your own routine down, you’ll be moving right along. I love my boss and coworkers, they are all helpful and friendly.
Hoping my contract gets bought out, this is my last forever job.
Pros
Coworkers, Office, Learning something new everyday
Cons
Low pay but ok to start out at
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Rogersville, TN7 April 2018
This job is laid back and a great work environment. It does get stressful at times with the lack of work of other employees. Great bossess, great co workers and I love helping others.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management lies from begining.
Maintenance Technician/Apartment Manager (Former Employee) –  Jonesville, VA29 March 2018
Bad management lies from beginning fail to warn of hepatitis exposure and not offering vaccine for it. Case managers openly talk about clients private info to others. I worked there three years and only raise in pay was 20 cents total for all employees except upper management. Everyone talks about others behind their backs. Bed bug exposure.
Pros
Pto
Cons
Everything else.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of work with little pay
CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE (Former Employee) –  Gray, TN14 March 2018
Working for Frontier Health is a great start. It is a great way to get experience under your belt. They do not pay you based on the work you do. They are always short staffed and demanding more from you. People that are hired after you are more than likely making more money than you are.
Pros
Time off
Cons
Little pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Frontier Health
Cash Application Clerk (Current Employee) –  Gray, TN15 February 2018
Working at Frontier Health has been rewarding but I am at the point in my life that I feel that I need to do something else. The people are great and we fill like a family
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed, friendly place to work
Adult Mental Health Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Bristol, TN 376201 February 2018
The work can be stressful because of the nature of the business. Sometimes there can be crises that you have to deal with. However, the management is relatively relaxed. They are very understanding when it comes to personal needs and they try to be as supportive to an employee as they can. As a case manager, I meet with clients daily and work on needs that they may have. This can range from helping them to get a phone or pay a bill to getting them into housing or getting them disability. The work is very rewarding, but it can be heartbreaking, and they don't pay very well for the work you put in. However, they have amazing benefits and this makes up in part for the pay. To succeed here, you have to be a team player and be willing to work hard. You also have to have a love and desire to help people.
Pros
AMAZING benefits, flexible schedule, relaxed work environment, paid mileage
Cons
low pay, potential for crises situations, lots of mileage on a car
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor at every level
Direct Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Bristol, TN29 January 2018
You are lied too from day one. They make the rules up as they go. The clients are amazing loveable people but if you work at FIB, good luck. I worked there and was belittled, lied too and went home crying most days. Poor, poor management.
Pros
Pto
Cons
Everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place to work
Resident Technician (Former Employee) –  Kingsport, TN24 January 2018
House managers are awful they are mean to clients and staff. Wages? Haha better live in your van cause that's how much they pay!! Work all the time they cannot keep staff because of the pay and the way they act.
Pros
Pto
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work if you like people and being poor
Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Wise, VA19 December 2017
Good place to work, but has an extremely high turnover rate. This is directly due to low pay and benefits. It is a good place for new graduates to gain experience. Somehow the management hasn't figured that out yet! I enjoy my actual job. The added on three jobs are a bit much. My position pays one-fifth of the going rate. A good first job.
Pros
Generous PTO system
Cons
Low wages across the board
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad place to work.
SAP Counselor/Arts Club Director/Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Mountain City, TN1 November 2017
A typical day was clearly chaos. Everything was run haphazardly. Staff did not use confidential clearances. Often times clients names were used out in public. Lots of back biting. Bad work place culture.
Pros
Free mentoring
Cons
Staffs lack of professionalism.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and very interesting environment
Direct Care Staff (Former Employee) –  Bristol, VA1 November 2017
I enjoyed the environment here because of the clients, they really made it special and fun. Not only did I get to see them advance at a new skill, I also had some of the funniest moments in my life while working there. It was a rewarding place to work, not only did the clients grow and learn, they taught me and my fellow staff members lessons in life. I would highly recommend someone to get a job here.
Pros
Training classes with refreshments, being able to travel and take the clients to interesting and fun places
Cons
Having to deal with petty jealousy among the other employees, and extreme long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible manager
Manager and Employment Specialist (Former Employee) –  Johnson City, TN29 August 2017
Upper management was bad, not fair, and judgmental. No management style and no type of "set" or "secure" days. Culture was bad and was like a dictatorship.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very rewarding working with adolescents
Adolescent Tech (Former Employee) –  Blountville, TN14 August 2017
I enjoyed working here. The only reason I left was because I was accepted for a full time position at KCS. I was thankful they let me work there while I was at another job.
Pros
free food, some down time
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a hostile work enviornment
RN (Current Employee) –  Johnson City, TN9 August 2017
Currently employed with them and the rules change on a daily basis. The staff overall is good. The management is not so good. Supervisors do not offer to help you. It is all about themselves.
Pros
Good PTO
Cons
no breaks, terrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lied to, Staff is horrible.
Direct Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  Sunhouse7 August 2017
Job description on indeed does not include everything you need to know before signing up for it. Was lied to about the clients not being violent. Was basically ran off by the staff. They acted like they didn't even want me there. They treat the residents horribly . The pay is not good. Overall the worst job I've ever had in my life and 100% would not recommend this job to anyone.
Pros
Free meals
Cons
Pay, coworkers are horrible
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Frontier Health. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 95 reviews
524
424
326
212
19

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.3Salary/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.3Culture