GM Holden Ltd Employee Reviews

Found 46 reviews matching the search See all 59 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable cleaned and well maintined work place
Trades Assistant Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Sunshine Coast QLD2 February 2019
Typical 8-4 job working with friend alike mind people that enjoy cars.
The work place was always clean and very well maintained. Never in the time I work there was ever any workplace incidents as everything was kept up to work place healthy and safety standards. My most enjoyed able part of the day was everyday because I enjoy working with cars.
Pros
Lunch room has fridge and aircon
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call Centre Environment
Social Media Specialist and Customer Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC28 November 2018
People there are great to work with. The pay is the only downside of this role. Needs to work on reviewing how much they should be paying their staff for the amount of work they have to do.

Systems, also outdated.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work over the past 22 years where i made life long friends
Logistics Material Controller (Former Employee) –  Elizabeth SA19 August 2018
I started at HVO 22 years ago on the production line and then was applied for a clerical position and eventually made my way onto staff. It was a great place to work and culture was generally good. Most employees were disappointed when we were forced to closer down.
Pros
Early starts and early finishes.
Cons
Distance travelled to and from work each day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
brilliant company to work for
Quality Controller (Former Employee) –  South Australia14 August 2018
working at Holden for nearly 20 years in assembly and quality operations taught me a lot about life, with regard to always searching for the highest standards to meet the customers needs. With a big focus on safety, quality and diversity every employee was made to feel an equal and important part of the team.
Pros
great conditions, salary and employee rewards for suggestions
Cons
company closure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work. Learned a lot while I was there.
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  General Assembly25 May 2018
I learned a lot about quality and safe work practices. I learned how to work in a fast paced environment while also holding very high quality standards
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
GM (Former Employee) –  Elizabeth SA8 May 2018
A typical day at Holden's would include talking,laughing,work group
meetings, meal breaks and of course working.
Working on a production line at times is challenging but mostly rewarding.
Management was very approachable nothing was to much trouble for them, and they didn't mind a joke or two.
Over the 19 years of working at Holden's i learned to work as a team member,to make sudden decisions when something goes wrong on the production line,to help my fellow work mates but most of all to try
and enjoy the day.
Pros
Discount on new cars
Cons
Getting up at 4.45 am
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job was very rewarding
Team Leader Tool and Die Maintenance Group (Former Employee) –  Adelaide SA11 February 2018
the work was very rewarding. I enjoyed the challenges each day presented. Working with such a variety of people and personalities gives a great learning experience.
Cons
Often got little support from Group Leader
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and highly focous
Team Leader Die Setter Specialist (Former Employee) –  Elizabeth SA5 February 2018
strong focus on safety and quality costumer satisfaction get it right the first time lots of ongoing training sports and social club interplant competitions
Pros
good discounts employee purchures's on cars
Cons
hot working conditions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place i have worked.
Team Member/ Leader Assembly (Former Employee) –  Elizabeth SA10 January 2018
Overall it was a great place to work,The people and the culture there was the best i have ever experienced. The work was repetitive but that was something i did not mind as i could focus on quality. I appreciated the constant training and the respect and fairness shown to all employees. I am proud to tell people i worked there and had achieved what we did.
Pros
Safety culture
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good to work
Forklift Driver / Team Member (Former Employee) –  Elizabeth SA30 December 2017
a typical day at work would be busy full productive and fun, learnt numerous skills such as forklift driving, storehouse management, unloading trucks and taking the parts through the plant, would drive the tow motor, and forklift, I enjoyed my many years there it was a shame it all ended.
Pros
discounts with buying new cars, stable job, good working environment, meeting fun and life long friends
Cons
can't think of anything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place, would have retired if not closed
Final Fit Fender Technician (Former Employee) –  Elizabeth SA27 December 2017
Was a great work environment with great people. I would have retired there if Holdens didn't close down.
Learnt skills that include. Team work, quality control, mig welding, robot cell maintenance.
Pros
Great place great wage
Cons
It closed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Close work , Fantastic people to work with
GM (Former Employee) –  Elizabeth South SA7 December 2017
Was a good place to work ,most people where fantastic to work with
In the last years though overseas management let the place go ,
Which tended to bring the whole place Down
Pros
People was the best Part
Cons
Fast pace, Ever moving goalposts, management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fantastic place to work
Team Member Paint (Former Employee) –  South Australia16 November 2017
high level of safety, wide variety of operations, most enjoyable part of working there was the different people I worked with. I learnt a wide range of duties
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer exists
Team Member Paint Shop (Former Employee) –  Adelaide SA31 October 2017
This company is no longer open, they closed in October 2017

Working on Cars/building parts
Painting/Spraying
Repairs
Engineering facilities
Following correct procedures
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive days building the cars for australia and the world
Team Leader and Health and Safety Representative (Current Employee) –  Elizabeth South SA30 September 2017
my typical day starts 30 min early setting up robots for the day and doing numerous paperwork for the operators. fault finding and assisting operators. continuous improvements
Pros
close to home
Cons
not really any
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid employment for 25 years.
GM (Current Employee) –  Elizabeth SA31 August 2017
I have enjoyed 25 year working for GM Holden Ltd. The working conditions are good and the company’s expectation of the workforce is quite clear, straightforward and achievable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team and product
Senior Project Engineer - New Model Development (Former Employee) –  Port Melbourne VIC24 August 2017
Project management of automotive systems within a supportive team environment working to produce the best quality product. Required lots of travel interstate and occasionally overseas.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Maintenance Electrician (Current Employee) –  Adelaide SA18 August 2017
A terrible shame on the Australian Government they are closing. I would love to work here forever. Many great friends made here , will remember this time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work with the latest technology
GM (Current Employee) –  Elizabeth SA9 July 2017
I enjoying working in the maintenance department i work with a great team. Every day is different and get to work with the latest technology equipment to build the best cars in the world.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Broadcast Analyst and Material Controller (Former Employee) –  Adelaide SA2 April 2017
Great place to work, pity for the state it is closing. Many opportunities exist and plenty of chances for advancement.
Continued great culture despite closure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at GM Holden Ltd. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 59 reviews
525
425
35
21
13

Ratings by category

4.1Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture