GlaxoSmithKline Employee Reviews

Found 20 reviews matching the search See all 3,691 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun happy
Data Coordinator, Data Entry, Switchboard (Former Employee) –  MELBOURNE7 November 2017
Contributing to Team Success
Customer Focus.
Continuous Improvement
Adaptability
Applied Learning
Communication
Managing Conflict
Managing Work (includes Time Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice colleagues, terrible management
Engineer (Current Employee) –  Ermington NSW23 October 2017
There are a lot of nice and knowledge colleagues to work with, however, the management level does not have vision and does not see the value of technical stuffs. They expect leadership of everyone and do not respect the people who actually got things done. Good people tend to leave the company.
Pros
nice colleagues
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constant change
VACCINES ACCOUNT MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Australia17 July 2017
The company undergoes restructures every 18 months. The sales team no longer is assessed or incentivized on sales results but by how the sales call is performed. The culture has become very conservative and creativity is stifled by red tape. The focus is almost on what one should not do instead of what one should do.
Pros
Big organisation with great products.
Cons
Micro management on many levels.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract
Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  Latrobe TAS26 May 2017
I was contracted to GSK by a labour hire company on 2 occasions, great supportive team on site, learnt and shared many skills.
It was an interesting time even though the short nature of both contracts
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay, and amenities.
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Bayswater VIC25 May 2017
Great pay, unfortunately the opportunity for full time employment is very slim, overall a good place to work if you can work on call.canteen provided with full range of meals.
Pros
Great pay rate
Cons
casual employment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Half Decent place to work
LAB TECHNICIAN/PACKAGING COMPONENT QC ANALYST (Current Employee) –  Boronia VIC17 February 2017
Pays well for the most part in most areas of the business, there's worse places to work in the world. Get on and focus on what you're doing and you'll be fine
Pros
Subisdized lunch
Cons
Poor Management, Skeleton Staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work - the people are brilliant and just like a big family
EA to the Site Director & Office Manager (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW15 January 2017
I joined GSK as my first job when I moved to Australia 6 years ago and the team made me feel so welcome. They are a great bunch of motivated and hard working individuals who really support each other.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at GSK
Packaging &Operational Compliance Lead (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW10 January 2017
Every day is different, but with the support of both management and proactive behaviour of staff from different functions issues are never insurmountable. It is hard to maintain a good work life balance, however the atmosphere and friendliness of the team make being at work pleasurable, it is like having an extended family
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, lots to learn, nice working environment, lots of changes
Quality officer (Current Employee) –  Sydney Western Suburbs NSW8 June 2016
Similar to SB but more head office control.
Again excellent people to work with.
Learn so much.
Variable management
Diversity in jobs not so evident as previous, decreasing satisfaction.
Nice environment
High integrity
Pros
Great people
Cons
Head office control
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GSK offers challenging and rewarding opportunities.
Change & Communications Lead (Former Employee) –  Sydney, NSW22 December 2015
GSK offers challenging and rewarding opportunities to people who are ready to push themselves and make a difference at work.
Pros
Opportunities
Cons
Long working hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Flow
Project Administrator (Current Employee) –  Sydney, NSW17 October 2015
Working as a Project Administrator at GSK I have a variety of work to execute and I am constantly receiving more tasks. I always write down the specifications of the job to be executed and add to my list of work to do.
I have co-works that are happy to assist me when needed, and I also make myself available.
I have learned about program management and scheduling.
Pros
Good team work
Cons
Location
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room to improve
SAFETY OFFICER (Former Employee) –  SAFETY OFFICER4 October 2015
A typical day always consist of continuous loading of up to 15 trucks and the manager oversees the affairs of work which will be supervised by warehouse keeper but before that can be done, safety officers check and pass in trucks to be sure they follow the safety guidelines
Pros
No free lunch
Cons
Overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative global healthcare comany
Healthcare Professional Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Ermington, NSW2 September 2015
Global Healthcare company which was extremely innovative and ethical. Leading brand products. Enthusiastic co-workers. Building customer rapport is fundamental to success.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Varied and busy work environment
Maintenance Engineer (Fixed Plant) (Former Employee) –  Maidenhead, ENG29 September 2014
Responsible for fixed plant on a daily basis. Very varied and busy role attending to maintenance and breakdowns.
• Ensure area specific equipment is maintained to agreed standard
• Ensure planned maintenance and unplanned work is completed to agreed timescales.
• Investigation and fault-finding activities carried out as required.
• Identify equipment improvements and support continuous improvement activities.
• Use of SAP to report maintenance and breakdown activities.
• Ensure equipment complies with statutory regulations.
• Support manufacturing department to ensure equipment performs as required
• Ensure work orders and jobcards are completed within the specified time
• Take part in safety audits when applicable
• Sourcing alternative spare parts suppliers to reduce costs
Worked closely with other team members and have formed good out of work friendships with several work colleagues.
Most enjoyable part of the job was the variety, hardest part of the job was having to wait for spares to arrive on site in order to complete tasks (ordered of spares was sometimes out of my control due to management procedures).
Pros
Good working environment, flexible shift pattern
Cons
Management were more reactive than proactive
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and a happy enviroment
Manufacturing Operator (Current Employee) –  Boronia Vic28 September 2014
The most enjoyable part my job is I know what we make saves lives of young and old globally. Have learned to look out for one another when it comes to safety in the work place. Prevention is best cure.
Pros
3 days a week
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Facilities Engineer (Former Employee) –  Sydney16 September 2014
Nice place to work. Good atmosphere. Good hours. Learned a lot. Nice people.
Pros
Nice place to work
Cons
awkward location
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
some free time for sport during cycle meeting
Senior Secretary (Former Employee) –  Egypt17 January 2014
typical day at work,
1- write the requested at the end of the day depend on priority.
2- start with urgent, important etc.
3- time management to finish all requested at the end of the day.
------------------------------
I learned more like time management, be quit in the problems, like communication skills,
-----------------------------
i worked with my co workers as one team to finish on time.
----------------------------
the hardest part of the job that require specific data in few mints.
----------------------------
the most enjoyable part of the job when we exceed and complete thing i think before it was impossible to finished.
----------------------------
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 6Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Difficult place to work at this time,
Angela Adams Roller (Former Employee) –  Research, VIC7 October 2013
Difficult place to work at this time. Respiratory pipeline is promising.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GlaxoSmithKline values training and empowerment for employees
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Gateway28 August 2012
Being a leading company in the Global Pharmaceutical and Healthcare industry, GlaxoSmithKline values empowering employees with constant training and development skills.

Employees works within three main divisions of the business, namely Rx (Pharma), Vx (Bio), Cx (Consumer).
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report

See more GlaxoSmithKline reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at GlaxoSmithKline. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 3,691 reviews
51.6K
41.3K
3552
2120
164

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
4.1Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.9Culture