GoodLife Fitness Clubs Employee Reviews

Found 41 reviews matching the search See all 825 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for personal growth
Senior Membership Consultant (Former Employee) –  Perth WA29 January 2019
For a job where you work long hours for little return, this is a job for you. If you stay in there for long enough you will go places though. You will just need to endure and you will prosper.
Pros
Personal Growth
Cons
Long Hours, Little Reward
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Personal Trainer (Former Employee) –  Royal Park SA9 May 2018
so much to learn being a trainer there, staff / team are great and helped with so much to progress your business/ just have to put the effort in if you want to get anywhere/ wanted to have a balance
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun atmosphere
Observing trainer (Former Employee) –  Adelaide SA23 February 2018
Goodlife health clubs is an energetic place to work with good staff and a fun environment. the atmosphere is good to work at and helping people join to get in shape is great
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved my job, meeting families and children, but management was poor!
Childcare Educator co ordinator (Former Employee) –  Mooroolbark VIC14 November 2017
I loved working with the children and getting to know there ffamilies, seeing the kids smiling faces and they ran to me for cuddles made it all worth it.
I love doing activities with the children, reading stories and generally playing with them!
My role as co ordinator was to also, roster 7 staff, book work, book parents in, deal with new clients, phone calls, attending meeting.

I also love cooking and since having this job it has not allowed me to do so, cooking in a childcare Centre is something I love and miss doing
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture is poor, pay is poor, company standards are poor, not for the enthusiastic and progressive
Sales Manager & Assistant Club General Manager (Former Employee) –  Sandringham VIC8 November 2017
All & all,

When GoodLife advertise for someone to come in and help the gym as an “Assistant Club General Manager” they should actually employ the person for that role.

You will get the can at this place, if you are innovative, take pride in what you do, are confident and actually have a will to see the business do better.

All the qualities MOST companies would LOVE to see. But these guys are obviously wanting a bunch of happy go lucky kids, with no values. That will not ask for a single thing to see the business improve.

Everybody feels like a Membership consultant at this company.

The only positive thing about it is the community feel, if you are into that, however, it is only that way out of default.

As the place never freshens up, never reaches out to new customers, and the marketing is next to none.

Why do they not know how to simplify their systems? There is about a dozen systems, most of which do not work.

On the hour every hour, their main member database computer program would freeze, stall or become a black screen. The programming is also from the stone ages.

They basically build a gym and hope for the best. Most of the staff need a serious kick into gear.

They teach all their staff how to be so close minded its a joke...

Their sales procedure, is forced, its dodgey, and there are too many sales to keep up with. A sure-fire way to lose the trust of everybody at once, and have the masses become very disgruntled with the brand. Even the sales technique, where they hide two membership options from you on the other side of the laminate
  more... paper is disgusting!

I am also unsure why the personal trainers dont just move down the road to the next gym when they are paying $15,000 a year in rent.

What you get for your money - is basically a complete dump in a lot of these GoodLife gym locations.

And they wonder why their member database numbers are going seriously backwards every month.

This is coming from someone who has worked at Fitness First - which is miles better in every category!

Quadrant need to plug some money into all of their GoodLife's nation wide, and not leave the whole experience so out-dated with stone age staff members that are about as well taught as a monkey when it comes to the big picture of the fitness industry, and gym's, and how they operate.

Beware ! Dont go near the company if you are motivated and want to excel.
  less
Pros
Breezy work, as nobody really cares about doing well
Cons
Culture, quality of staff, education of staff, values of staff, supportiveness, no recognition for those that are talented and want to improve the gym
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh
Personal Trainer and Fitness Director (Former Employee) –  Perth, Australia12 October 2017
Company is average. Everyone is just a number. No appreciation for any work that gets done. Trainers are treated with no respect and management are just people who have been with the company for long periods of time with zero management experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, healthy workplace.
Group Fitness Instructor/Receptionist (Current Employee) –  Sunshine Coast QLD4 October 2017
Inspiring and being inspired is how my days go. Teaching fitness, rewarding and fun. Learning something new everyday!
Challenging learning new choreography every week, keeping classes fresh for members, but the feedback you get makes up for it.
I get to meet new people every week and its so much fun. We all get fit together.
Pros
Great members and colleagues.
Cons
bad pay.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment but time consuming and stressful.
Membership Consultant (Former Employee) –  Perth WA15 September 2017
Good Company, but highly stressful as you need to generate your own leads and prospective members. Cruisy job when you form relationships with members but yeah, just stressful.
Pros
Monetary incentives, as it is a sales job.
Cons
Long hours, if you have to travel far it is minimal work/life balance.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace, friendly staff
CHILDCARE WORKER (Current Employee) –  Preston VIC30 July 2017
Although I am only casual in the childcare area, staff in the whole club are friendly. The club had great benefits with other companies. Management staff are friendly and easy to approach.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Only good for experience and personal growth not the $
fitness professional (Former Employee) –  Parramatta NSW21 May 2017
The first couple of weeks were awesome and I had great support and the culture was great. Slowly things started to change and management changed. Now unfortunately it is all about numbers and not the members. The fitness directors just want the $ from the PT's and don't care about the PT performance/results/income, as long as the PT's are paying rent, the FD's don't care what happens because they get a fat cheque at the end of the day. No respect towards staff. Staff turnover is extremely high as everyone is replaceable. It is a dead-end job with no offered opportunities to progress within the company so i left.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management Culture
Fitness Director QLD - Training/ Compliance (Former Employee) –  QLD17 May 2017
Very old culture, measured productivity solely on the number of hours you stayed at your desk.
Very toxic attitude by senior management, just out to get people, no support and zero emotional intelligence.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, poor leadership!
Club Manager (Former Employee) –  Joondalup WA16 April 2017
Worked for Goodlife due to an acquisition. The people and development side lacked vs the company I worked for previously, before the acquisition. (Fitness First)
The Regional Business Managers and State Manager drive numbers rather than take the time to develop their people. People work for what can be done for them, not the other way around.
The work place culture is what the Club Managers make it, I had an amazing team culture, and this made my job the most enjoyable part.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic encouraging team members
Membership Consultant (Former Employee) –  Innaloo WA22 March 2017
A typical day would include calling prospects to get them to visit the gym if they have shown an interest in possibly joining in the future as well as contacting current member to see if they any friends they would like recommend.

When possible joiners would come down we would then give them a tour of the facilities as well as go through their goals and desires then show them the most suitable plan for them
Pros
free membership
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Personal Trainer (Former Employee) –  Perth WA17 March 2017
Great place to work friendly staff. Loved going to work to see colleagues and helping clients succeed. Learnt to communicate with members and step out of my comfort zone. Management was great helped when i needed assistance. Hardest part of the job was clients not coming in. Most enjoyable part was watching my clients succeed and achieve things they thought they couldn't.
Pros
free gym membership
Cons
clients not coming.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Personal Trainer (Former Employee) –  Chermside QLD16 March 2017
Poor management which leads to high turnover of employees. Personal trainers are not watched over properly and many "steal" potential income sources. Too many personal trainers hired which leads to some missing out. Rent is too high to work - should be relative to income from customers. Goodlife is all about the money.
Pros
None
Cons
Rent is high. Management doesn't care about their staff. Too many PTs fighting for leads.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was good at the beginning
Creche Co-ordinator - Part Time (Former Employee) –  Perth WA13 March 2017
The first year and a half was awesome and I had great support and the culture was great. Slowly things started to change and management changed. Club manager was awesome and loved working with her, the state manager was also amazing but he left. Now unfortunately it is all about numbers and not the members. There is no respect towards staff. Staff turnover is extremely high as everyone is replaceable. After almost four years and having a baby, I was not treated the same or offered opportunities to progress within the company so left.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work experience
spotter for personal trainers (Former Employee) –  Coburg VIC18 February 2017
really great atmosphere, but very challenging as a career, i did work experience so i only got to work as a receptionist and spotted for personal trainers on the floor but i was mainly observing the day to day life as a personal trainer because at the time i was doing my certificate 3 in fitness.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly atmosphere
Fitness Instructing (Former Employee) –  Adelaide SA15 February 2017
Work experience of learning the basics in the gym and the role of the fitness instructor and personal trainer. Schedules were made on a timetable.

Workplace culture was positive.

The hardest part of the job was memorising the workout routines and the easiest part of the job was discussing fitness instructing with coworkers.
Pros
NIce atmosphere
Cons
Diverse people to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice people to work with
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Joondalup WA10 February 2017
i did like working at goodlife but the 3am starts was too much at the time as i didnt drive at the time, the people were really nice to work along side with and the job was very easy to do
Pros
free gym membership
Cons
early early starts
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
taken for granted
Membership Consultant (Former Employee) –  Narre Warren VIC 380516 October 2016
they use you and expect more and more every time, you do so much overtime that you don't even get appreciated for it.too much politics in the workplace and will always that the negative over the positive, its a dead end job and you will never advance. so much favoritism in the company.
Cons
long hours, no appreciation, politics
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at GoodLife Fitness Clubs. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 825 reviews
5221
4253
3198
283
170

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.7Culture

GoodLife Fitness Clubs Reviews by Location