Greencross Vets Employee Reviews

Found 28 reviews matching the search See all 29 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not family friendly, No work life balance
Practice Manager (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD31 March 2019
There is very little encouragement or assistance from Head Office or the Area Manager.
Expectations are all financial.
There is not work-life balance.
You can be expected to be at work from 7am to 7pm with only getting paid from 8-6.
Lunch breaks are often hard to find.
Conditions within the clinic are old and outdated.
Pros
Cheap Vet care for your Pet. Team becomes family
Cons
Often missed lunch breaks, Uninterested and uncaring area manager, No work life balance, Not family friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good learning experience
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Warilla NSW29 December 2018
i was a high school student doing work experience. it was a good experience that week. the other workers where considerate of the position i was in. most workers there where doing a course as a nurse
Pros
goof learning vibe, chill people
Cons
not always quiet
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good frontline staff , enjoyable place to work,
Veterinarian (Former Employee) –  Adelaide SA18 December 2018
good work culture & excellent continuing education. advancement opportunities for both vets & nurses. management have good ideas but sometimes implementation is poorly managed
Pros
great continuing education
Cons
sometimes poor change management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean, and friendly staff
Veterinary Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Inala, AU11 December 2018
Cozy community in the workplace. Always has great care for their client. Always kept clean and smelling nice. Location is easy to access as well via public transport.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment, very helpful to any questions
Work Experience Student (Former Employee) –  Ipswich QLD29 November 2018
Greencross Vets opened my eyes to finding job in the veterinary field, the also helped me understand what it would be like working in a successful veterinary clinic.
however the hardest part of this job was watching sock or old animals being put to sleep.
Pros
Helpful environment
Cons
Lunch would not be until 2pm, due to how busy it was
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dream Job!
PRACTICE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Mortdale NSW19 November 2018
Great company with great services and genuine caring of pets and clients. Management team is just superb and wonderful support to cascade down in to the clinic.
Pros
discounted vet fees for your pets, access to a vet at any time
Cons
low salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive and supportive co-workers
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Tuggerah NSW20 August 2018
A positive and supportive environment, friendly workers and supervisors along with a clean, hygienic workplace. Break times are generous and socially sound.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an enjoyable experience. The staff was friendly and productive.
Vet Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bundall QLD22 April 2018
Greencross Vet offered a very informative and educational experience for my Duke of Edinburgh Award. They gave me a hands on experience with all of the tasks involved in being a Vetrinary Assistant.
Pros
Assisted in completion of my Duke of Edinburgh bronze award.
Cons
Not a full insight to what a Veterinarian would do on a day to day basis.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall fun and loads learnt
Vet Assistant (Former Employee) –  Earlville QLD13 March 2018
it was hard work but they made it interesting each day, it was a challenge each day, the staff that works there are super nice and made me feel welcome the minute I walked in there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Clients
Reception / administration (Former Employee) –  Ballarat VIC22 January 2018
Worked with great clients and staff, poor management.
Hardest part of the job was clients having to let go of their pets.
Most enjoyable part of the job is seeing both clients and animals happy.
Pros
Worked well within family
Cons
Poor Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun, get to learn new things everyday
Customer service (Current Employee) –  Mebourne VIC17 October 2017
i just help out in the vet, i do cleaning and i take the animals outside and clean out in the bed stuff. help them get ready for surgery when they need help if it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dynamic and fun workplace
Veterinary Nurse (Former Employee) –  Brisbane, Australia12 October 2017
It was a very busy practice with a number of veterinarians. We dealt with a variety of different cases including some wildlife. We hospitalised, performed surgery and diagnosed. Surgery included dental prophylaxis to orthopaedics as well as complex emergency surgery.
Pros
lunch breaks and fun team
Cons
long hours and very busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The ability to work with animals is a blessing.
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Kawana Waters QLD10 October 2017
GreenCross Vets have an outstanding workplace culture. With constant team meetings to improve our (the workers) time with the company is a real eye-opener to how they want their legacy to be kept. The hardest part of the job is to let an animal go but in most cases, it needs to happen. I have learned a range of different and new skills including hospital grade cleaning, how to set up and assist with certain procedures and how to assist with walk ins and the customer base.
Pros
Free lunch at meetings
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere with fast paced learning capabilities
Work Experience Student (Former Employee) –  Central Coast NSW5 April 2017
First day starts for my Yr 10 work experience went to cleaning windows, feeding and tending to animal needs and procedures and was frequently told helpful information regarding the care of an sick or injured animal.
Pros
Looking after the animals.
Cons
It being Work Experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Experience
Vet Nurse (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD7 February 2017
I learnt a lot of team member skills and what its like to work in a working team environment that is also busy and has important needs to attend to.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellant learning experiance with austrailias native species
VHA (Former Employee) –  Brisbane Austrailia23 November 2016
observed stem cell research
DNA blood typing
experience with snakes and other exotics
birds
helping animals in need
worked beside a great group of people
emergency and disaster relief
Pros
excellant experiance
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging
Trainee (Former Employee) –  Townsville QLD11 November 2016
It was an excellent but challenging experience. I work one day a week during in school week and almost every day during the school holidays. I learn i wide variety of skills from animal handling, communication skills and receptionist duties.
Pros
working with animals and poeple
Cons
little to no brakes
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Helpful and Supportive Team
Trainee (Former Employee) –  Townsville QLD22 August 2016
A typical day would be setting up the rooms for the vets to start bringing in clients, setting up the back for pets who will be in for surgery, assisting in surgery, surgery clean ups, assisting vets in the rooms and helping clean at the end of the day.
You learn so much! I learnt all about the animals and procedures and the operations.The management is great all the clinics are connected and run so well.The co-workers are some of the best people I have met, so lovely and so helpful and supportive while you're learning the ropes. They care so much it makes you feel so welcome and part of the team.
The hardest part is at first getting use to stressful situations (emergencies) and aggressive animals.
The best part is you know you are helping every single cute animal that comes in to the clinic.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
School Based Trainee (Former Employee) –  Gold Coast QLD18 April 2016
The co-workers there are all friendly and kind. Take great care of the animals that walk through their door and treat them as their own.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Atmosphere and Lovely staff
VETERINARIAN NURSE (Former Employee) –  Southport QLD27 January 2016
I thoroughly enjoyed my time working at Greencross Vets and the staff team were treated as family. It practically didnt feel like a job just a passion.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Greencross Vets. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 29 reviews
515
48
35
21
10

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
2.9Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.2Culture