H&M Employee Reviews

Found 39 reviews matching the search See all 5,956 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
pleasant environment to work
Picker/Packer (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW21 February 2019
Your work is simple, you will be given instructions on what to do and you are expected to meet up with little or no supervision at all. the work environment is a bit fast paced but adaptability is easy.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Christmas Casual
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  NSW31 January 2019
Worked as a christmas casual, management had high but realistic expectations
great benefits and team members. Management was supportive and offered more training if you needed it/ requested it. Good environment to work in!
Pros
discounts on clothes and good work life balance
Cons
difficult customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC3 January 2019
H&m is a great company to get experience and learn the ropes of being a sales associate I would highly recommend working with the company as the opportunity to advance is great
Pros
Great team, fun team meetings, provided snacks
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Sales Advisor (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC31 December 2018
Just finished my Christmas Casual contract and must say, best work experience I've ever had, hands down.
There was not one day where I wasn't excited to come into work.
Definitely very fast paced and can get quite intense sometimes because it is such a fast retail sorta business, but the environment is great and the people I worked with made my experience so enjoyable.

However, if you do have a temporary contract, or just in general, definitely make your best efforts to build a good relationship with your managers (especially department manager) from the get go, especially if you want to renew your contract once it ends.
Pros
Positive environment, great pay, best staff
Cons
Fast paced/intense
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Experience
Customer Service Representative (Part Time) (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC5 September 2018
I was nice working at H&M. It was amazing to work there as my manager was friendly and took care about my university timing. I learned many things here
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Visual Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Perth Central Business District WA31 August 2018
to many managers not on the same page
to many favorites
not enough people actually working and getting pulled up on it
not enough service people on registers
not trained enough on registers before store opened
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Western Australia26 August 2018
The people you work with are amazing but if you want to move up in the company, its very slow at progression. Management are ok depending on who they are.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Way Above Average Workplace.
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Garden City QLD30 April 2018
H&M, are an incredible employer to work for. They have everything a workplace should have, from fantastic benefits to incredibly understanding and amazing colleagues and employees. Though my time spent there was cut short due to only being hired a seasonal Christmas casual, i throughly enjoyed it and saw why so many people spend most of their careers with H&M> Incredible.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive Job and Fun to work
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW7 March 2018
H&M is a fast paced industry which helps you gain different skills everyday. Workplace has never been so fun yet very productive. never felt like i was working since I enjoyed my job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job
Christmas Casuals Team Member (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW28 January 2018
good job to have when starting out, very fast-paced, very close friendships, hardest part of the job early morning 6am delivery shifts. and fitting rooms. most enjoyable was meeting lovely customers and building friendships with the other team members
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working environment with a really nice staff room
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Melbourne Eastern Suburbs VIC13 January 2018
Co-workers are mostly friendly and it was a pleasure working there. Rule and followed strictly which is a sign of good management. Overall it was a enjoyable experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  Bondi Junction NSW5 January 2018
Started as a christmas casual really enjoyed working there great staff and great team overall. Store is kept and maintained frequently which is great.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and friendly workplace
RETAILER ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Bondi Junction NSW6 December 2017
You will find a lot of fun from heaps of funny people of your team.
Good shift and roster for everyone.
The manager is so open mind and easy as your friends
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy yet fun workplace
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC23 August 2017
The job required me to work from 6am to 4pm in the afternoon for consecutive days. Despite the long and early hours, the workplace catered to our food needs, providing breakfast and lunch and necessary breaks making the job far more enjoyable and worthwhile.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was ok to work for, just not for me
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Bourke Street VIC9 August 2017
Great if you enjoy a face paced work place. Just the managers arent the nicest of people. But the other staff are fun and nice people. the rotation for full time isnt great you only have 2 days off in a row every second week and the hours are really up and down so there is no way of having a normal sleep pattern.
Cons
start times, bad full time rotation, assistant manager rude
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great people to work with and great culture, terrible pay and no incentives
Sales Advisor (Current Employee) –  Chadstone VIC23 July 2017
I have worked at H&M for 3 years and i have made several friends from working there. it is a great culture and they really do try to break free from hierarchies, being that i talk to my store manager and area mangers weekly to daily, however for a company that makes as much as it does (most likely the highest grossing store is AUS) they fail to keep staff for long periods of time due to the incredibly low pay rates, lack of incentive and a ridiculous 1 hour unpaid lunch break. despite the constantly rotating roster they do offer a reasonable staff discount on already low prices and maybe once a year give out gift cards. good job for uni students or something for the time being but anything else i would keep looking. great progression rate also for becoming a manger with a reasonable amount of internal progressions if you are full-time, part timers cannot progress or if you need a day off every weekend for sporting commitments.
Pros
discounts, culture, good management
Cons
1 hour unpaid lunch break, minimum wage, early hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Algoods work environment
Sales Advisor (Former Employee) –  Werribee VIC12 July 2017
fun environment and easy going, love the feedbacks, not your normal casual jobs if your looking for a part time full time this is a goodd place to work
Pros
good team
Cons
average Management
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great clothes
Sales Advisor (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW10 July 2017
dependant on which location you are based, but very hierarchical and similar to that of a high school environment, be prepared to work hard due to retail prep of the store .
Pros
employee discount
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was an okay place to work
Sales Assistant (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Toowoomba QLD6 July 2017
Was nice to work there over the Christmas period, offered a lot of hours, but as time went on I was placed on a small contract with no opportunity to move up in hours, even with other people leaving the workplace. The management were good, but with the amount of hours I was receiving was forced to leave.
Pros
Good Management
Cons
Not enough hours, very early starts
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seriedad y buen ambiente laboral
Asistente De Departamento (Former Employee) –  Sydney, AU15 April 2017
El dia empieza con una reunion con todo el personal donde se informa sobre las metas diarias y algunas variaciones o promociones para la tienda o simples enfoques en algunos puntos debiles asi como las direcciones necesarias del dia.
Pros
Excelente ambiente laboral
Cons
El proceso de traslado era muy largo y dificil
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at H&M. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 5,956 reviews
51.9K
42.1K
31.3K
2393
1299

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.8Culture