HSBC Employee Reviews

Found 27 reviews matching the search See all 12,060 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Data Entry/ Verifications Officer (Full-Time) (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW22 December 2018
Great management and culture. Good employee benefits. Was a great start into the corporate world for me. One of the best places I have worked. Learnt a lot in financial services industry.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team to work with.
Capital Works Manager (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW27 November 2018
Covering all aspects of property management and looking after a large portfolio of properties was great experience.

The workplace culture is one of fairness, treat others with respect and this will be given to you in return.
Pros
Flexible Hours
Cons
Too many meetings
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good place to work but lacks the excitement of an dynamic/fast paced company
Various Positions (Former Employee) –  Sydney, Australia9 November 2018
Good place to work and they try to treat their staff well and not just like robots.
If you have a family you will like the work life balance and flexibility.
If you are young and looking for something more dynamic, exciting and a more risk-taking environment then it may be a bit boring.
Pros
Work-Life Balance, Flexibility, Trust
Cons
Conservative, Not much youth culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best place to work
Teller Officer (Former Employee) –  Egypt3 April 2018
literally is the best place to work. a lot of advancement opportunities and self-development. ongoing training and skills and knowledge enhancement. being part of a highly trained and professional team makes you so proud.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place with limited career advancement management opportunity at senior management level
Senior Global Relationship Manager (Former Employee) –  Perth, Australia23 January 2018
I rank HSBC is one of the best place to work for though HSBC does not offer competitive benefits. One of the benefits of working with HSBC is the company offers job opportunity across geographies
Pros
Overseas posting opportunity
Cons
work life not balanced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
otima
Consultor de Vendas (Former Employee) –  hsbc bank sa16 January 2018
empresa que oferece crescimento pessoal e profissional .
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stresful
Senior Payroll Officer (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW12 October 2017
Expected to work long hours under a stressful enviroment. All though bonuses were very good each year if you performed as expected. Constant changes and employees.
Enjoyed working in the HR department as work could be varied from time to time.
Pros
Good bonus
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Essential Role
Personal Banking Manager (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW2 August 2017
- increasing the wealth of customers with your banking services is always rewarding
- dealing with complaints and concluding with resolutions is very satisfying
- working with junior staff members and seeing them move on in their careers is encouraging
- fraud and money laundering can be very upsetting
Pros
Every day is never the same
Cons
Frauds can be very upsetting
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HSBC experience was incredible, lovely environment with nice colleagues from different nationalities.
Customer Service Officer (Former Employee) –  world trade centre3 July 2017
I worked one year with HSBC the biggest bank in the world . it added an amazing experience to my career path and learnt a lot from them. as much as they teach me i was a good asset for them as well reaching sales target and received an appreciation email from the CEO himself for my excellent service.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HSBC is an international bank and its an awesome experience,
Assistant Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Wattala6 March 2017
HSBC is an international bank and its an awesome experience. I have 13 years of experience and I am so grateful for all support and grooming provided by HSBC.
Pros
Recognition
Cons
Work life imbalance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Senior Finance Analyst (Former Employee) –  Victoria31 January 2017
Great People and Fun place to work. Good place to network with people. Plenty of opportunity to learn. But the management expects people to work long hours.
Pros
Rewards and Benefits
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is a happy and very productive place to work
COLLECTION OFFICER (Former Employee) –  Parramatta NSW2 January 2017
I would recommend ADT to anyone. I enjoyed my time there got on with everyone there. The management is always there to help when needed . it doesn't matter what floor or department you work in everybody is respectful and kind
Pros
happy helpful team and management
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay workplace,
Trade Finance Officer (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW11 April 2016
I learned more in trade finance, it was different in the beginning but slowly adopted.

Colleague were excellent and management fine.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun Work Place
Premier Relationship Manager (Former Employee) –  Sydney29 February 2016
Great bank, with great people,

Typical day include, calling prospective clients, then meeting outside bank to build rapport.

Travelling and attending networking events
Pros
Networking
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace, great colleagues to support you
Customer Service Representative/Teller (Former Employee) –  sydney nsw5 May 2015
Can be stressful environment and always new procedures to be updated. Lovely manager and co-workers. Other banks are very competitive and can be hard to up-sell and meet targets due to this.
Pros
Good workplace environment
Cons
systems are outdated and somewhat slow
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Debt. Collector (Former Employee) –  Collector, NSW8 December 2014
a typical Day at office star cheeking my phone messages and my email to find the company news and loan balances.

I learn to deal whit people and calm my emotions as much uncomfortable whit being charge and taken a bad attitude whit my.
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work, close to shops and transport
Customer Account Services Officer (Former Employee) –  Parramatta NSW3 September 2014
Working for HSBC was fun and the people were brilliant. I had the opportunity to learn new skills and assist the role out of a new paperless system. Many co-workers had friendships outside of work which made it more of a team environment and smaller teams interacted more smoothly with one another.
Pros
I got to enjoy what its like to work in the city
Cons
longer travel times, monthly pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and life balance
Premier Relationship Manager (Current Employee) –  HAYMARKET, SYDNEY26 February 2014
Productive, busy. facing different customer everyday, make myself more aware that I need to work together with stakeholders and customer to achieve the goal. Working together with stakeholders whom are come from different countries, are very interesting, and teach myself to understand the diversity of the culture.

The hardest part of the job, when settlement occur, and we are not ready.

The most enjoyable part of the job, when I could achieve the target every month
Pros
free fruits
Cons
meeting everyday
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a good place to work until management hierarchy flattened
Business Development Manager (Former Employee) –  Sydney, NSW24 February 2014
Loved the role - on the road, meeting new customers at all different levels of businesses.

We had a great team - until they restructured the department, and the culture seemed to get flushed down the plughole.

Hardest part of the job was getting phone calls in non-work hours to help customers with an issue.

Most enjoyable part of the job was the flexibility that came with the role.
Pros
Flexibility in managing a territory
Cons
New structure of department was toxic.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
Senior Product Manager - Cards & Unsecured Lending (Current Employee) –  Sydney, NSW6 November 2013
Most enjoyable part of the job would be getting to work with different teams outside your own.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at HSBC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 12,060 reviews
54.7K
44.3K
32.3K
2510
1334

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.9Culture