Herbert Smith Freehills Employee Reviews

Found 9 reviews matching the search See all 32 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace with friendly people
Billing Officer (Former Employee) –  Macquarie Park NSW14 May 2018
Answering calls from secretaries in relation to billing issues, updating client and matter details, creating matter plans and rate sets, reporting
I learned a lot about multi currencies and more detailed fee rate sets, ebilling
Management was approachable
Culture was friendly
Hardest part was travel
Most enjoyable was the team I worked with
Pros
Ability to work from home
Cons
Travel
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional yet mediocre workplace
Credit Controller (Former Employee) –  Sydney Central Business District NSW15 March 2018
Herbert Smith Freehills is a commercial law firm located on Castleraegh St in the Sydney CBD. The interior of the law firm building is very well presented & professional. My day at work consisted of collection calls & emails, updating a spreadsheet ledger, liaising with partners & their secretaries as well as following up on unidentified unallocated payments & working with the daily bank statement. The other team members were amiable & even helpful. It was a short term temp assignment so I was in & out in the blink of an eye.
Pros
Prestigious law firm
Cons
Glass ceiling
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Executive Sous Chef (Former Employee) –  Sydney ,Australia23 January 2018
Great working environment with excellent equipment and facilities.Fully supported in my role and always felt valued as an employee. Fun work culture with social events often and flexible in being able to take time off with proper notice.
Great team to work with, and management always available if needed.
Pros
Paid vacation, free gym membership, travel insurance, great alternate transportation facilities
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job in Australia
Legal Assistant to Partner - Corporate M & A (Former Employee) –  Perth WA26 March 2017
General Secretarial duties from document production to billing.

Team and training was world class.

People generally very friendly and helpful.

Position was a 12 month contract. This lapsed and a float position was available on a part-time casual basis.

I took this position until a full-time position became available elsewhere.
Pros
Good Training
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked with some amazing people.
Customer Service / Mailroom Attendant (Former Employee) –  101 Collins Street4 November 2016
I really enjoyed my position at Herbert Smith Freehills due to the variation in my working role as Office Service Assistant. Examples in duties are as followed
Reception duties, Courier control, Greeting of internal and external clients, Processing mail and sorting into pigeon holes. Assisting with stock control and maintenance of office equipment (OHS). Ordering of business cards and stationery.
Pros
Friends and colleagues
Cons
Some staff not thinking outside the square.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First Job in Australia
Legal Assistant to Partner - Corporate M & A (Former Employee) –  Perth1 November 2016
Fantastic opportunity to work for a large international law firm in an area that was new to me.

Picked things up very quickly and adjusted well.

Great team with active social calendar.

Lovely people but only a 12 month contract offered.

Returned as a casual float until a permanent job came along
Pros
Great first Australian Job
Cons
Only a 12 month contract offered.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good IT team, with lots of projects to get involved in
Senior Systems Engineer (Former Employee) –  Sydney, CBD26 February 2015
A typical day for me, was management, maintenance and enhancing the virutal environment, SAN infrastructure, server hardware and DR / BCP processes. Each day was potentially all of these or only one.
This made the job very interesting and diverse.
We also have some datacentres around Sydney that would require site visits. This helped break up the day and also added a little more variety in the role.
Pros
Happy, enjoyable work environment. Autonomous work.
Cons
Long hours (remote work) coupled with varying degrees of stress.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate and professional environment
Payroll Adviser (Current Employee) –  Sydney27 May 2014
Processing for the end to end payroll for the state of NSW.
Including advanced calculations of redundancies, payroll tax, superannuation, ad hoc reporting, end of month and day to day processing for the fortnightly and monthly payroll.
Learned Chris21 payroll system thoroughly.
Pros
Free gym, work drinks and casual Fridays
Cons
Limited career advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report

See more Herbert Smith Freehills reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Herbert Smith Freehills. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 32 reviews
517
47
37
21
10

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.9Culture