J.R. Simplot Company Employee Reviews

Found 28 reviews matching the search See all 387 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive environment
Packing Operator (Former Employee) –  pakhenam2 May 2019
a great place to work, i get to know how our is packed, really considerate about hygiene and safety, i like to work across different departments such as sauce, pasta, meal tray etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Seasonal Contract Worker (Former Employee) –  Bathurst NSW16 April 2019
A great pace to work to learn new skills, and they are willing to give anyone a chance.

Very Faced pace job with a high level of physical activity which was great !!
Pros
Night Shift
Cons
Smell
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Profit driven management
Forklift Operator reach truck operator (Former Employee) –  Devonport TAS10 January 2019
Unwilling to guarantee casual employment security treated as a labour unit and not a person. Have a company policy that only applies when they see fit
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Inspector/machine operator (Current Employee) –  Devonport TAS18 September 2018
Great company to be employed by, we are very well looked after by way of wages, income protection and safety. The casual component suits my lifestyle, we can be called in at any time or we may be on the roster depending on product availability, in any case being on call 24/7 poses no problem to me. The wages are excellent. I feel my job is secure as I'm a good worker, and there may be chances for advancement in the company. The management of this company are the best, if u do the right thing you'll be looked after. I like that we produce all local produce.
Pros
Rewards for work well done, free tea/coffee great canteen apptoachable msnsgement
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cleaner/ general hand
General Hand and cleaner (Former Employee) –  Bathurst NSW1 July 2018
Constructed cardboard boxes to hold corn product.
Cleaning machinery and floor using a hose and shovel.
Worked mainly night shift.
Good team to work with.
Pros
good penalty rates for nightshift
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable and friendly
Clerical (Former Employee) –  Moorabbin VIC11 February 2018
A good learning experience. The job was short term therefore did not manage to interact with too many other employees. However, the people around me were very welcoming and made the environment great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like to be busy
Frozen Inspector (Former Employee) –  Ulverstone TAS9 January 2018
A typical day/night at work was to liaison with the oncoming and incoming shift, communicate with superintendents/Team leaders through out the shift. Grading samples enter Data onto computer,keeping up with good housecleaning,communicating with all operators across the whole shift. Working with great people and able to have a laugh.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Technician (Former Employee) –  Devonport TAS13 September 2017
I worked here for two weeks on work experience and they were all very nice and took the time to teach me new skills. And agreed being a reference on my resume at one point.
Pros
Nice work environment
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and good workplace
Production Worker (Current Employee) –  Pakenham VIC26 June 2017
The production line is split into 3 different shifts, morning, afternoon and night. The job is fast-paced as there is a target that has to be met by the end of each shift. The job is well paying.
Pros
good pay
Cons
long days
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team environment, with strong culture, but limited advancement opportunities
FIELD SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD13 February 2017
My previous employer has a great team environment,and strong culture, encouraging a work/ life balance.
The autonomy day to day was excellent where time face to face with customers was also encouraged.
One on one time with each team member was the cornerstone of each day and coaching each one to achieve key objectives was most satisfying and seeing the growth of each individual most rewarding.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
money is the only plus
Process Operator (Former Employee) –  Ulverstone TAS29 November 2016
changing workplace, dictatorial, constantly affecting employee morale
long anti social hours, always chopping and changing conditions.
Pros
money is the only plus
Cons
lifestyle and personal wellbeing suffers because of atoxic work envoironment
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Simplot Graphic Design Department for Work experience (year 10)
Graphic Designer (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC3 October 2016
Working at Simplot for a week was really good and heaps of fun. I learnt many new graphic design skills. My co-workers were very friendly and helpful. A typical day at work was re-touching photos or photoshopping them for food brands, or we would be taking photos of food so they can be put onto websites and promoting that product.
Pros
Some times you get free lunch. Free coffee in the kitchen.
Cons
Not really any cons.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
O
Casual (Former Employee) –  Ascot Vale VIC5 September 2016
Alright place. Cold all year round due to the products they have (fish)
hard to understand supervisors sometimes cause of their poor English. Hardest part of job is when there's no work and you end up cleaning the walls and scrubbing trolleys..
Pros
discount on fish
Cons
having to change out of uniform to go toilet or break (takes up time)
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Newcastle NSW2 June 2016
I spent five years with Simplot great place to work, the salary was the best for the amount of work required.
I would recommend Simplot to anyone
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As Fish Room Supervisor
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Palmyra WA10 April 2016
I have been working with Top cut meat for 6 years. I started as a bench hand and way up to Supervisor.
I really enjoyed my time working there and I love my job. All staff are hard working and very cooperation.
To me every job has its own things not easy at the fast time but will come if we committed to the job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and grow your skills
Territory / account Manager (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW19 March 2016
Simplot Partners is an enjoyable and rewarding place to work.

My typical day is attending face to face meetings with current clients, and potential new clients. Then in the evening, I will conduct any computer work that is required from the days meetings.

Management is very flexible with the hours I work, as long as KPI are met.

Really enjoy my job, but I require an new challange.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working on my own to increase sales.
Sales Support Representative (Former Employee) –  Melbourne13 October 2015
I would be responsible for maintaining the the product in the shops and building rapport with the staff so as to increase the sales.
The management were always helpful and ready to give advice when needed.
Most enjoyable part of this work was meeting the staff on the rounds and the challenge to get the work completed in the allocated time frame.
Pros
Freedom to work on my own.
Cons
Traffic is always an issue.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Goal posts not always where you expect them to be.
Maintenance Employee (Former Employee) –  Bathurst, NSW13 May 2015
Great crew of people to work with. Day to day trouble shooting and management of site contractors plus our own maintenance team made a high energy day the norm.
Pros
Autonomous working enviroment. Never a dull moment.
Cons
Some long hrs needed at certain times of the year.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a bad place to work
Process Worker (Former Employee) –  Bathurst, NSW15 April 2015
i learnt a lot in the 13 years i was there it used to be a fun place to work all my co workers were really good to work with the supervisors were good and there was really nothing too hard
Pros
n/a
Cons
learn different things in all areas to have more skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good working conditions good pay
Production Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Bathurst, NSW25 February 2015
A typical day was not without drama, However, I did gain a lot of training in a wide range of things from Safety in the work place to learning basic computer skills. The hardest part of this job, no doubt was working back shift,loss of sleep, and family life.The most enjoyable part ,was a day without dramas,[no down time ,everthing running smoothly].
Pros
Good working conditions good salary
Cons
Working back shift, meetings with managers, work place disputes
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at J.R. Simplot Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 387 reviews
5134
4136
378
213
126

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture