JD Sport Employee Reviews

Showing all 77 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Jd sports
JD Sports Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cheshunt18 June 2019
It was a great experience for me to work in retail as it gave me a great opportunity to interact with customers coming into the shop needing help with getting anything in store then I was there to help with that.
Pros
Hour lunch
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You can get a good experience
Sale Assistant (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands6 June 2019
JD can be a good place to start learning sales and an ongoing job and learn to improve customer service and having a friendly workplace.

A busy store can be stressful to work in with high expectation from managers.
Pros
Good discount good coleages easy job easy to apply
Cons
Low salary Not appretiated low security
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work.
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  London Borough of Hackney, Greater London1 June 2019
Job work/life balance is terrible. My schedule shift was changed several times. The managers play extreme favoritism.

Salary/benefits are terrible. 9 hour work days, unpaid 1-hour lunch break. Hourly rate is different according to your age range. Under 21 are paid around £6 an hour. Stuff is very small and barely makes a difference.

Job Security/Advancement is okay. I've only been working at the store for a short time but a few sales assistants were being trained as supervisors.

Management is horrendous. The managers go for about a million smoke breaks during the day, they spend a lot of time conversating on the store floor and expect all the work to be done by the sale assistants.

In conclusion, I don't recommend any teenager to work at JD.
Pros
None
Cons
Long hours, Terrible pay, terrible management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
emploi agreable
CDD, 1 mois Vendeur (Former Employee) –  Rosny-sous-Bois (93)26 May 2019
bonne avis globale rien d'autre a ajouter a part que c'est cool
Pros
aucun
Cons
aucun
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Une pression incroyable
vendeur (Former Employee) –  Montpellier (34)26 May 2019
Oublie vite ta vie privée des heures sup pas payer
Pros
Ambiance
Cons
La pression
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brixton Hill, Greater London2 May 2019
team work is very necessary for me because if you don't have communication with everyone the job is not going to work.

I also like to talk with the customers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bonne équipe
Vendeur/Conseiller (Former Employee) –  Brussel17 April 2019
l'esprit d'équipe est present mais le management reste a desirer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Appréciation
Vendeuse (Former Employee) –  Argenteuil (95)7 April 2019
Bonne entreprise, bonne ambiance de travail, tâches polyvalentes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positif
Vendeur polyvalent (Former Employee) –  Roissy-en-France (95)1 April 2019
Bonne expérience, vision différente de la vente de sneakers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Très bon stage
Vendeur (Former Employee) –  La Défense (92)15 March 2019
Stage de 2 mois effectué a JD SPORT La Defense,
Très bonne ambiance, bonne équipe
Magasin très propre et parfaitement entretenu
Horaires légèrement compliqués

Très bonne expérience.
Pros
Equipe super
Cons
Horaires
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging
Store Assistant (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, West Midlands9 March 2019
I was a store assistant where I would work in the store room preparing products as well as working on the shop floor assisting customers. As I was young during this job, I preferred working in the store room as I felt like more of an asset in that position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun team to work with
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Ealing2 March 2019
I enjoyed my time here and loved the people i was working with as they were very helpful and always wanted the best from everyone. Everyone’s target was to have the best customer service and help out customers as much as they can
Pros
Very friendly staff
Cons
Long hours/alright wages
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
J’aime beaucoup
Vendeuse en prêt à porter (Current Employee) –  Villeneuve-la-Garenne (92)27 February 2019
J’adore vraiment se magasin j’ivait tout le temp la bah
Pros
Toujours là quand on a besoin d’aide
Cons
Pas davantage
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sjov og travle dage
København Butiksassistent (Former Employee) –  Frederiksberggade 126 February 2019
Det var fedt med at vi havde travlt på arbejdet fordi tiden gik hurtigt og vi snakkede med en masse forskellige mennesker i løbet af dagen. Derudover havde jeg fantastiske kollegaer som var søde og hjælpsomme.
Pros
Rabatter samt gode medarbejdere
Cons
Man fik ikke rigtig lov til at prøve kræfter med andre arbejdsopgaver
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor mangement
team member footwear department (Former Employee) –  Edinburgh, City of Edinburgh29 January 2019
terrible management never given proper and full training constantly blame staff in front of customers team leaders where probably the most helpful people in terms of help and leadership
Pros
discount
Cons
terrible managment
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here by any means
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Middlesbrough, North Yorkshire26 January 2019
Absolutely awful in every aspect
- negligible / irresponsible management
- fraudulent activity / gross-misconduct from all levels of management
- borderline unlawful training program / shambolic implementation of advancement & progression opportunities (falsely promised to staff to then be prevented from progression & replaced with staff who are more friendly with management)
- total disregard for all human rights / government standards e.g. minimum working temperate for BOTH a warehouse(manual handling) & non warehouse working environments consistently not adhered to
- total disregard for hygiene & in-turn, staff well-being; e.g. little to zero maintenance of staff areas (stockrooms, WC facilities and staff room) e.g. rotten walls from sewage leak unreported for over 3 months until instatement of temporary manager
- *MOST IMPORTANTLY* - ABSOLUTE DISREGARD FOR STAFF WELLBEING, MORE SPECIFICALLY, TOTAL NEGLIGENCE OD RESPONSIBILITY FROM ALL MANAGEMENTS WITHIN THIS COMPANY. YOU WILL BE INDUCTED INTO A TEAM OF STAFF & TREATED LIKE FILTH, MANAGEMENT WILL FAIL TO LEAD THEIR TEAM & SCAPEGOATS WILL BE MADE (STAFF LIKE YOU).

WITH ALL DUE RESPECT (NONE)) THERE IS NO SENSE OF COMMUNITY/UNITY OR SECURITY WITHIN THE COMPANY & THE IMMATURITY/MENTAL INEPTITUDE OF THE 'LEADERS'(MANAGEMENT) IS NOT SOMETHING AN AMBITIOUS PERSON SHOULD WANT TO BE EXPOSED TO!

GOOD LUCK TO ALL IN THEIR CAREER!
Pros
Discount/financial-compensation
Cons
Everything other than discount
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Versatile work place
Store Assistant (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Liverpool23 January 2019
I currently work at JD as a store assistant. It is a good job with a variety of tasks so no day is ever the same. I have been improving my customer service skills as I progress within the company. I get to meet and work with a variety of ethnic backgrounds which. I think is very important.
Pros
Friendly working environment
Cons
Low hours and low wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Stock Assistant (Former Employee) –  London, Greater London22 January 2019
A typical day at work would be stocking shoes and keeping the textiles area to a high standard. I would assist customers on queries and help if needed. I learned how to stock.
Always had to be doing something WRONG never got praised just constantly got knocked down by management.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not enjoyable
JD Sports Sales Assistant (Current Employee) –  London19 January 2019
A typical day at work would be maintaining the shop floor and keeping the textiles area to a high standard. I would assist customers on queries and help if needed.
Pros
discount
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Sales Assistant (Christmas Temp) (Former Employee) –  Glasgow18 January 2019
Working in JD sports gave me confidence. Management isn't the best. Never let out on time. Way to many hours. However, i enjoyed working there. Everyone is kind.
Cons
Not paid for break, Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at JD Sport. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 77 reviews
518
419
323
210
17

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.3Culture