John Holland Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place ,good crew of knowledgable workers
eletrician (Former Employee) –  Gladstone QLD2 July 2018
good workcrew , have goals set for work and office back up, days work is set out and goals are met, good work practices , and safety and well being is there most important goal
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great job
TRADE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Devils Creek WA8 June 2018
Was one of the first gas plants I worked on construction phase Karratha WA devil Creek superintendent the supervisors the scuff Crew Everybody was great to work with good morale boosters in the workplace would work there again if I could
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
Formwork Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Esperance WA4 May 2018
days were 10 hour days and were aways busy.the staff were easy to talk to and took on bored any ideas that were bout up. most of the time i was working on twilight bridge then was put in charge of a forklift to move materials around site. then moved to yard to operate a telly handler were i loaded trucks and unloaded on job site. also moved sound walls and poles for contractor
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good construction company
Commissioning & Construction Assistant (Former Employee) –  GC desalination project26 April 2018
-a typical day was constructing water treatment equiptment,
good culture
was apart of a great project team. where in the end I remained as a operator of a large scale desalination plant
Pros
good wages
Cons
long distance to job site
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent working environment
Senior Quantity Surveyor (Former Employee) –  Perth, Australia9 April 2018
Joined at tail end of project so left to deal with the pieces. Everyone I worked with was easy to get along with, friendly enjoyable workplace in new office and city centre location near all public transport hubs.
Pros
Renumeration, work life balance
Cons
communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company overall
Fettler (Former Employee) –  New South Wales7 March 2018
Good company overall. They work long hours and work alot of weekends also. The work culture is just work and go home. Not much friendly staff around that want to help, they just want to work and go home.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was a mess
Casual - Labour/Trade Assistant (Former Employee) –  South Townsville QLD6 March 2018
I was only casual at John Holland who had a contract with the port of Townsville, nothing really got done, we just drove from one site to another. Didn't learn much and no one was really interested in doing much.
Pros
none
Cons
boss was useless
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Role and great company
Senior HSEQ Advisor (Former Employee) –  Gladstone QLD1 November 2017
Role overseeing construction of alumina refinery managing HSEQ aspects of SMP construction. Unfortunately GFC hit the world causing a slowdown in operations ceasing JHG's involvement
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great crew and reliable management
Thermit welder (Former Employee) –  Perth WA5 August 2017
I totally enjoyed working with John holland.,it gave me great satisfaction and Iearnt a lot.when I first started there I was a simple track maintainer. then a Thermitwelding ticket came up I put my hand up for the job and was able to seal it as mine ,I never looked back ,received a lot of tickets on the way ,paying benifits went up and traveling was involved they payed for everything what a fantastic company.
Pros
Travelling too different places to weld
Cons
Away from alot
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non productive
Support senior- HR (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC4 August 2017
Unorganised, Rude, Non Communication, managers not on track with administration and task. Employees some friendly most are non friendly. Didn't really like working at JH.
Pros
free breakfast
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the job suited me fine at the time
Scaffolding Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Onslow WA17 July 2017
work was exactly what I expected it to be.
we were paid on time and provided a safe place to work each day.
I have no direct complaints

I would work for them again if it was required
Pros
pay rates
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employer of choice
Services Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD20 May 2017
John Holland are going through a big transition stage at the moment and are extremely challenged for work in the Qld/NT region however they are my personal employer of choice
Pros
Great systems and people
Cons
challenged work portfolio
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrific in a booming economy
Project Controls Manager (Former Employee) –  Perth WA2 May 2017
Terrific learning environment dealing with complex projects with a wide array of stakeholders such as clients and subcontractors. Very detailed and changing reporting requirements caused by change in ownership and management structures. Well developed procedures within aging systems presented rework and consistency challenges. The reduction in work in hand in the later period was significant in W.A. which effected the culture.
Pros
Good salary
Cons
Sudden decline in work in hand
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average Company
Lead SMP Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Victoria11 April 2017
Management had something to be desired, they were very hard to get on with sometimes did not know what they were doing,they always were looking for personell problem areas
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Electrician (Former Employee) –  Townsville QLD30 March 2017
Townsville Marine Prescient - Relocate of Guard (TSV Port, Townsville) Relocation of Guard Hut and Generator - Commission installations, circuits & Install / Terminate / Test / Inspect Armoured Cables, Barrier Glands and Hazardous Switchboard assembly & termination
Commission of Street Lighting
Interpretation of plans, schematics & drawings
Reconnect and Install of Networks and Communications
Energy Efficient Monitoring (TSV Port, Townsville)
Commission installations, circuits & apparatus Switchboard assembly & termination
Fault finding
Interpretation of plans, schematics & drawings Electrical Meter Readings and Installations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fishing golf
multi skilled operator (Former Employee) –  Rockhampton QLD8 March 2017
a large experience for my way of completing and enduring a work load of tutoring in each and every task that i was given recommend it to all workers as i was treated equally to all other work partners the culture was over whelming and made me want to inspire all who stood with me to complete my task most enjoyable part of my job was the communication with my supervisors
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a fun place to work
Carpenter (Former Employee) –  new children hospitel6 March 2017
under the pump all the time .
more you do the more there wanted
had to work the hours that there wanted
I would work long hours normal 10 hour a day but some days was much longer you did not know what time you would be finish
Pros
no pro here
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As a summary fo them they are the people tou will like to work with.
Boilermaker/Welder (Former Employee) –  Australia10 February 2017
They are a very good company. Very safe in executing their work. Give good salary. Their management are organized Have avery goo workplace culture. They are very friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Healthy work life balance
Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Melbourne8 February 2017
Working at John Holland, i have a healthy work life balance.

Being a tier 1 company, JH provides opportunity to grow significantly in less time.
Pros
Fruits, small breaks for walking
Cons
Bonus
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team of people, very safe and clean site
Electrical Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Gladstone QLD29 January 2017
Day started with all management team having the days prestart an hour before the workers were given theirs in order to deliver the same message across all disciplines, then out to site to oversee the days tasks, coordinate labour, plant and materials for the men, attend daily briefings, to deliver days activities and milestones to management team.
Learned some good practises from the daily briefings to carry over to future projects.
Senior management were very professional and had time to listen to issues raised by supervision teams and act in a timely manner to address the issues.
Very good culture driven by management that flowed down to the workforce.
Hardest part of the job was being away from home for 21 days at a time
Most enjoyable part was helping deliver a quality project that was extremely difficult in terms of scale and being a one off, where many awards were given for ingenuity, safety and performance
Pros
good salary
Cons
very long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at John Holland. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 135 reviews
544
459
320
26
16

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture