John Holland Employee Reviews

Found 129 reviews matching the search See all 143 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good company to work with
Contract Administrator (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC19 February 2019
A typical day at work
- they pay well but very long working hours. very high stress environment
What I learned
- they don't accept your ideas so you got to learn to listen and follow what they want you to do.
Management-
management not approachable and they don't listen
Workplace culture- they have good policy for workplace culture, but in my experience nothing implemented. staff turnover is high
The hardest part of the job- lack of trust from the management. No empowerment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Aweful manager southern region
Systems Engineer (Former Employee) –  Spotswood VIC11 January 2019
Unproffessional team and the leader one of the worst team I never worked in my life

Crews are technically qualified
Management do not understand the future focused approach
Lots of Internal politics
Leader makes decision with voice of team rather than understanding the issue and take professional approach to resolve
Pros
Coffee machine and Surface Pro
Cons
Reactive approach unproffessional dont understand business plan and process
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Lead Planner (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD3 November 2018
Work place is great but salary was not in the job market level. Also that time not much projects in hand. Job security also not in good positive by that time
Pros
Life Balance Work
Cons
Too low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work with
Construction Worker - Level 3 & Painter (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC10 October 2018
A very high risky job installing and painting the barrier fence on the side of the bridge. Health and safety is paramount which the management strictly adhered.The hardest part of the job is when we are working and suspended 180 meters above the ground most of the time.
Pros
High risk job but good money
Cons
working in heights all the time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Jetty Marine Manager (Former Employee) –  Port Hedland WA8 October 2018
I can not make a comment
The days never started in a happy way
I leaned how not to be negative about things
Management never involved only complained
no good culture on project
Keeping a positive outlook on the project
going to the project
When i resigned
Pros
Not much
Cons
Unhappy work life
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Rail worker (Former Employee) –  Sydney Western Suburbs NSW15 September 2018
Recommends
Positive Outlook

I have been working at Best Companies full-time (More than a year)

Pros

People that work here are genuinely helpful and friendly
Management are really supportive
People are promoted internally
Really suits people who like a fast pace/ entrepreneurial
Free Lunches that are healthy and high quality,
Fair wages and flexi time available
Promote charity fund raising and volunteering in the local community
The Awards evening is amazing
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job working on different construction sites
QLD (Former Employee) –  QLD12 August 2018
Foremen and other personal with John Holland ,were great to work with , civil and hi-rise construction work doing different jobs on a daily basis makes the day go quicker.
Pros
regular pay and smoko breaks
Cons
rewarding pay for work performed
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place ,good crew of knowledgable workers
eletrician (Former Employee) –  Gladstone QLD2 July 2018
good workcrew , have goals set for work and office back up, days work is set out and goals are met, good work practices , and safety and well being is there most important goal
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great job
TRADE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Devils Creek WA8 June 2018
Was one of the first gas plants I worked on construction phase Karratha WA devil Creek superintendent the supervisors the scuff Crew Everybody was great to work with good morale boosters in the workplace would work there again if I could
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company to work for
Formwork Carpenter (Former Employee) –  Esperance WA4 May 2018
days were 10 hour days and were aways busy.the staff were easy to talk to and took on bored any ideas that were bout up. most of the time i was working on twilight bridge then was put in charge of a forklift to move materials around site. then moved to yard to operate a telly handler were i loaded trucks and unloaded on job site. also moved sound walls and poles for contractor
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good construction company
Commissioning & Construction Assistant (Former Employee) –  GC desalination project26 April 2018
-a typical day was constructing water treatment equiptment,
good culture
was apart of a great project team. where in the end I remained as a operator of a large scale desalination plant
Pros
good wages
Cons
long distance to job site
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent working environment
Senior Quantity Surveyor (Former Employee) –  Perth, Australia9 April 2018
Joined at tail end of project so left to deal with the pieces. Everyone I worked with was easy to get along with, friendly enjoyable workplace in new office and city centre location near all public transport hubs.
Pros
Renumeration, work life balance
Cons
communication
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company overall
Fettler (Former Employee) –  New South Wales7 March 2018
Good company overall. They work long hours and work alot of weekends also. The work culture is just work and go home. Not much friendly staff around that want to help, they just want to work and go home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management was a mess
Casual - Labour/Trade Assistant (Former Employee) –  South Townsville QLD6 March 2018
I was only casual at John Holland who had a contract with the port of Townsville, nothing really got done, we just drove from one site to another. Didn't learn much and no one was really interested in doing much.
Pros
none
Cons
boss was useless
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Role and great company
Senior HSEQ Advisor (Former Employee) –  Gladstone QLD1 November 2017
Role overseeing construction of alumina refinery managing HSEQ aspects of SMP construction. Unfortunately GFC hit the world causing a slowdown in operations ceasing JHG's involvement
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great crew and reliable management
Thermit welder (Former Employee) –  Perth WA5 August 2017
I totally enjoyed working with John holland.,it gave me great satisfaction and Iearnt a lot.when I first started there I was a simple track maintainer. then a Thermitwelding ticket came up I put my hand up for the job and was able to seal it as mine ,I never looked back ,received a lot of tickets on the way ,paying benifits went up and traveling was involved they payed for everything what a fantastic company.
Pros
Travelling too different places to weld
Cons
Away from alot
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non productive
Support senior- HR (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC4 August 2017
Unorganised, Rude, Non Communication, managers not on track with administration and task. Employees some friendly most are non friendly. Didn't really like working at JH.
Pros
free breakfast
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the job suited me fine at the time
Scaffolding Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Onslow WA17 July 2017
work was exactly what I expected it to be.
we were paid on time and provided a safe place to work each day.
I have no direct complaints

I would work for them again if it was required
Pros
pay rates
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employer of choice
Services Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD20 May 2017
John Holland are going through a big transition stage at the moment and are extremely challenged for work in the Qld/NT region however they are my personal employer of choice
Pros
Great systems and people
Cons
challenged work portfolio
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrific in a booming economy
Project Controls Manager (Former Employee) –  Perth WA2 May 2017
Terrific learning environment dealing with complex projects with a wide array of stakeholders such as clients and subcontractors. Very detailed and changing reporting requirements caused by change in ownership and management structures. Well developed procedures within aging systems presented rework and consistency challenges. The reduction in work in hand in the later period was significant in W.A. which effected the culture.
Pros
Good salary
Cons
Sudden decline in work in hand
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport