John Holland Pay & Benefits reviews

Found 23 reviews matching the search See all 143 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Lead Planner (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD3 November 2018
Work place is great but salary was not in the job market level. Also that time not much projects in hand. Job security also not in good positive by that time
Pros
Life Balance Work
Cons
Too low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work with
Construction Worker - Level 3 & Painter (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC10 October 2018
A very high risky job installing and painting the barrier fence on the side of the bridge. Health and safety is paramount which the management strictly adhered.The hardest part of the job is when we are working and suspended 180 meters above the ground most of the time.
Pros
High risk job but good money
Cons
working in heights all the time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great crew and reliable management
Thermit welder (Former Employee) –  Perth WA5 August 2017
I totally enjoyed working with John holland.,it gave me great satisfaction and Iearnt a lot.when I first started there I was a simple track maintainer. then a Thermitwelding ticket came up I put my hand up for the job and was able to seal it as mine ,I never looked back ,received a lot of tickets on the way ,paying benifits went up and traveling was involved they payed for everything what a fantastic company.
Pros
Travelling too different places to weld
Cons
Away from alot
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Non productive
Support senior- HR (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC4 August 2017
Unorganised, Rude, Non Communication, managers not on track with administration and task. Employees some friendly most are non friendly. Didn't really like working at JH.
Pros
free breakfast
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the job suited me fine at the time
Scaffolding Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Onslow WA17 July 2017
work was exactly what I expected it to be.
we were paid on time and provided a safe place to work each day.
I have no direct complaints

I would work for them again if it was required
Pros
pay rates
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrific in a booming economy
Project Controls Manager (Former Employee) –  Perth WA2 May 2017
Terrific learning environment dealing with complex projects with a wide array of stakeholders such as clients and subcontractors. Very detailed and changing reporting requirements caused by change in ownership and management structures. Well developed procedures within aging systems presented rework and consistency challenges. The reduction in work in hand in the later period was significant in W.A. which effected the culture.
Pros
Good salary
Cons
Sudden decline in work in hand
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a fun place to work
Carpenter (Former Employee) –  new children hospitel6 March 2017
under the pump all the time .
more you do the more there wanted
had to work the hours that there wanted
I would work long hours normal 10 hour a day but some days was much longer you did not know what time you would be finish
Pros
no pro here
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
As a summary fo them they are the people tou will like to work with.
Boilermaker/Welder (Former Employee) –  Australia10 February 2017
They are a very good company. Very safe in executing their work. Give good salary. Their management are organized Have avery goo workplace culture. They are very friendly.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team of people, very safe and clean site
Electrical Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Gladstone QLD29 January 2017
Day started with all management team having the days prestart an hour before the workers were given theirs in order to deliver the same message across all disciplines, then out to site to oversee the days tasks, coordinate labour, plant and materials for the men, attend daily briefings, to deliver days activities and milestones to management team.
Learned some good practises from the daily briefings to carry over to future projects.
Senior management were very professional and had time to listen to issues raised by supervision teams and act in a timely manner to address the issues.
Very good culture driven by management that flowed down to the workforce.
Hardest part of the job was being away from home for 21 days at a time
Most enjoyable part was helping deliver a quality project that was extremely difficult in terms of scale and being a one off, where many awards were given for ingenuity, safety and performance
Pros
good salary
Cons
very long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good comapny
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Queensland, Tasmania, nsw1 March 2016
john holland is a good company they redundant us because there no project tendered to the company. they provide accomodation and food they also trained people for free and good benefits and salary
Pros
Free accomodation
Cons
work 6 days a week
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of courses and certifications
Welder (Former Employee) –  Bassendean WA24 January 2016
Railway track maintenance all aspects. trained in lots of different skills traveled all over the south west of W.A working on different sites
Pros
all accomodation and ppe clothes etc supplied
Cons
overtime long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work but needs the small things to make it great
Project Safety Advisor (Former Employee) –  Kalgoorlie, WA2 April 2015
Great place to work although some of the benefits could be better. A company of this size should be providing family medical insurance to the people instead of corporate rates (which aren't much cheaper) Management team is good to deal with and pay rates are good
Pros
good pay
Cons
no medical insurance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
transmission lineman high voltage
LINESMAN/RIGGER/ERECTOR (Former Employee) –  Pyrmont, NSW18 February 2015
Everyday before I start I usually start it with a simple prayer. for safety co-workers mate safety first it is very important to us. Most of my co-workers we just enjoy hardworking.In every work hardship is always there but I love my job so therefore every day become an easy day.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good communication with Corporate
Project Quality Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Gladstone20 November 2014
Good place to work. Good communication channels with managers.
Pros
Flexability in work hours in an emergency
Cons
Long Hours away from home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Construction of Jetty and Wharf for APLNG
Crane Op / Adv rigger / Leading Hand (Current Employee) –  Gladstone, QLD28 July 2014
Getting to work and seeing what challenges are installed for the day and working with the crew to work them out and make the most of the day.
Pros
Get to work on an island every day
Cons
Long travel hours and change of transport
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great compnay to work for
Peggy/On-Site Tool Storeman (Former Employee) –  Brisbane, QLD10 March 2014
Co-operative management
Professional
Enthusiastic workplace
Positive work ethic
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Engineering Contractor
Planner / CADD Designer (Former Employee) –  Melbourne, VIC9 February 2014
Excellent Engineering Contractor specially in Underground Tunneling Division
Pros
Great Benefits and Salary Packages
Cons
Flexible Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Track Maintainer (Former Employee) –  Port Hedland29 December 2013
Working in Perth was a great experience for me and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I met alot of great people from all over Australia and it was an eye opener. The days were long but well worth it in the end.
Pros
Free meals, flights, accommodation
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good company to work for
Dozer/Loader/IT Operator (Former Employee) –  Darwin , Australia8 October 2013
My time at Hollands was spent mainly on a Dozer and Loader .. I have spent many years in both , but being my first civil job I had to learn a lot about the industry and ' termanology' as such .
I enjoyed being home every night , and the roster was fair . The wages and benefits overall were great . I made a lot of friends close to home , and learnt another side of operating . It was a shame the contract came to an end so quickly ..hence my disappointment in the scoring ..

I also found another side of the operating skills of my machines , and always have known you can learn something new all the time .I would love to get back out to this project , and would like to see it closer to the end if possible . If not I think it may be a great opportunity to change careers as such and learn something different
Pros
home every night, great pay, good people, learn new things
Cons
lack of communication .. advancement and training promised
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the best place to work, fun, easy and challenging
Rigger Lineman (Former Employee) –  Queensland, Australia19 June 2013
always 10 hours of work in the field (8 hours regular day and 2 hours overtime, we always observe safety

I learned a bit of English Language since it was our meduim of communications there I also learned new things

Simply the best, free accomodtion and travel allowances, yearly vacation with pay and many more

The hardest part is language barrier because of the way they speak

When I perform my job well also, everytime I received my salary



Was this review helpful?YesNoReport