KCGM Employee Reviews

Found 16 reviews matching the search See all 17 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Labourer (Former Employee) –  Kalgoorlie WA25 June 2019
Produclive place to work, and learn a lot of thing from everyone.
Its been a good team and a good people around me.
Job not hard but the weather was really hot.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Once great company.
Ancillary Operator (Former Employee) –  Kalgoorlie WA1 November 2018
Used to be a great place to work but recent management changes and events have seen a serious decline in job security and satisfaction.
Takes way too long to be trained on different equipment and despite policy changes to change the old ways, there is still too much favouritism happening.
Pros
Good place to learn the mining game.
Cons
Recent events and changes in management have made KCGM a much less secure or pleasant place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Dump Truck Operator (Current Employee) –  Kalgoorlie WA7 September 2017
Great training
Good roster 7 on 7 off
Close to home
Job security
Safe place to work
Good equipment
Good management
Good people to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a great place to work.
Franna Operator, polywelder and rigger (Former Employee) –  Kalgoorlie WA27 January 2017
Small project plenty of shut downs and great teamwork. Being such a big gold mine my jobs varied a lot from operating cranes to polywelder, pipe fitter or jut being a ta.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed the learning experience
Shift Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Kalgoorlie WA24 November 2016
got chance to be a leading hand on a gold mine and gained valuable experience , learned how to manage large group of people with varying strengths and weaknesses
Pros
all good colleagues to work with
Cons
long hours when having a young family
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe, Productive work place.
OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Kalgoorlie, WA31 January 2016
KCGM is dedicated to thorough training of new personnel into the mining industry. The high level of training given to all operators is reflected in the high standards achieved onsite.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Sentry and lock station operator (Former Employee) –  Kalgoorlie, WA9 March 2015
KCGM is in the city of Kalgoorlie, that was a easy job, all i needed to do is to ensure the log and safety of the workers during the maintenance period
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fun place to work
Monadelphous - Trade Assistant (Current Employee) –  KALGOORLIE20 December 2014
Good workplace, friendly workmates.
The mine site is near to town which is only ten minutes by driving from town.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
important start of my career
Laboratory Technician (Former Employee) –  Kalgoorlie, WA24 July 2014
KCGM, has taught me how to meet deadlines under strict time management, act with a sense of urgency with out feeling over whelmed by the job list. i have met a lot of people and this has showed me how to be a team member and how to think differently about doing things and also how to communicate to others!

KCGM strives on thinking beyond just a specific job , so that new ideas make out job easier and enhance the way we work to continuing improving production and to improve ergonomics in our work life.

With what i have learnt i have been giving an award.
I thought out side the box by helping my team manage the lab conduct samples better and in a safer manner.
Pros
courses are free
Cons
no where to improve/enhance your skills
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
dump truck operator (Former Employee) –  kalgoorlie11 March 2014
nice place to work
I learn everything with a good training department
We been manage well
my co workers was great and coming from every where
long hours sometime hard
fun and nice people to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company and good core values
Load & Haul Dump Truck Operator (Former Employee) –  Kalgoorlie, WA30 January 2014
Good company to work for. Locally based so home after every shift.
Pros
Home after every shift.
Cons
Lower than industry wage average
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working at the largest gold mine of the time
Mechanical Fitter / Welder (Former Employee) –  Kalgoorlie, WA26 January 2014
rebuilding large equipment such as 16/14 warman pumps crushers leach tanks electrowinning systems
Pros
in town
Cons
job pressure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for and highly recommended compay from talking to other people within the company
Security First Aid Officer Leading Hand (Former Employee) –  Kalgoorlie Western Australia16 December 2013
A typical day at work was very exiting being part of a team environment within the security first aid section.
What I learnt was that safety is paramount within the company and safety is big part of the company.
The co-workers were great to work within the team environment because with out a team keeping together the wheels will full off.
Do recall the job being hard due to everyone new there job description and we all helped each other.
The most enjoyable part of the job was meeting and communicating
with different people from different ethnic backgrounds
Pros
4 days on 4 days off roster
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
saftey supervision
lso and centry (Former Employee) –  kalgoorlie31 January 2013
long hours but great management and easy going environment best part of the job was making life long friends and the hardest part of the job wasintense weather conditions
Pros
plenty of water breaks
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place for trainee truck drivers to learn and gain safe skills in mining
Truck Operator (Current Employee) –  Kalgoorlie WA15 May 2012
I learnt alot about safe mining practices,.how to be a better and more productive truckie within OH&S guidelines.

Most co-workers are great, everybody gets along well..

Hardest part of the job is sitting around and not being able to be productive due to too many workers not enough equipment, too many casuals etc..being close to a township also has its delays and demands on the mine.
For some strange reason only a small select number of people learn to operate certain machinery which creates a lack of skilled workers to fill in for those that are sick, or on holidays etc, especially now with the recent pay cuts, a lot of shovel/loader/dozer ops are leaving big gaps to fill and in a hurry.
With the recent paycut there are also more trainees on site than long term operators and so inexperienced drivers are training the trainees,..its just a matter of time before incidents and a lack of safety could become commonplace.

Best part of the job is being kept busy all day/nite,.no time for boredom,..when theres lots of dirt to move its non-stop, and thats great.
Pros
being 5mins drive from home
Cons
roster change, big paycut from previously good salary!
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report

See more KCGM reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at KCGM. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 17 reviews
56
46
35
20
10

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.1Culture

KCGM Reviews by Location