Kmart Employee Reviews

Found 1,287 reviews matching the search See all 19,118 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great first job
Casual / Part-Time (Former Employee) –  Midland WA13 June 2019
Learned a lot from K-Mart, including customer service, answering phones and general stock work (refilling shelves etc.). Managers were always friendly and willing to help out.
Pros
quiet and busy - best of both worlds
Cons
short hours/shifts as a casual worker
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Casual Work (Current Employee) –  Albury-Wodonga VIC13 June 2019
Everyone is kind and is always happy to lend a helping hand. As a team member, everyone is kind to each other and to customers. The workplace is a happy environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nasty staff, unfair, do not recommend
Casual Apparel Staff (Former Employee) –  NSW9 June 2019
Spent just under 5 years there, was okay sometimes but there was always some nasty drama going on. Managers were hopeless, unfair work hours as a casual, just overall miserable place to work. Constantly did more than I was assigned, constantly asked to advance to permanent part time or further but was always told “we will think about it”.
Pros
Night time manager was chill
Cons
Bad hours, hard work for the pay, bad co-workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Colleagues bad management
Decant Team Member (Current Employee) –  Belmont WA9 June 2019
Unboxing items and categorising in cages
Bad logistic approach and time management
Unrealistic expectations from Management
Threatening to cut hours
Intimidation tactics
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall sumary
Part time employee (Current Employee) –  Melbourne Northern Suburbs VIC6 June 2019
Kmart is a good first job, but not for a long time. the task that you will do will bore you and if you are the customer greeter you got to stand for long hours without siting and fatigue will start to hurt your back, neck, kness etc.
Pros
mo free lunches
Cons
long hours good pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Penrith NSW6 June 2019
Job security is a worry within the store, casual shifts changing and hours cut weekly. Moral within the store is horrible, not alot of happiness going between teams.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Melbourne VIC (Former Employee) –  Croydon VIC5 June 2019
A normal day would consist of servicing vehicles and fixing punctured tyres. Throughout my experience at Kmart Tyre and Auto it was a great time. I learnt a lot from all of the qualified guys there.
I just to focus my attention to the mechanical side of things rather then fitting tyres.
Pros
Company lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
average
Sales Assistant (Casual) (Former Employee) –  New Town TAS30 May 2019
i worked at kmart for a little over a year and the actual place itself was good however the management team was rude and disrespectful. i, along with MANY other staff members onlt received one, three hour shift per week and when we asked for more their excuse was there wasnt enough work, despite them hiring a new batch of people every week.
Pros
good environment, good pay, good breaks
Cons
bad management, bad hours.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun and productive place to work
kmart team member (Current Employee) –  Perth WA29 May 2019
This is all my own opinion but I honestly love working at kmart. I love being apart of a team, everyone working to achieve the same goal. Although some days are harder than others, managers be sure to make work a little more fun. They're very kind and understanding when you make mistakes and help you get through them instead of going off at you.
Pros
everything about it
Cons
not enough hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job and perfect as a first job for young people
Mount Druitt - Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Mount Druitt NSW28 May 2019
Kmart was an easy and enjoyable job. As a cashier you got to talk with customers with similar likes. Work load was simple depending on the area you are in. Easily trained in different areas of the store.
Pros
Easy, convenient, fun
Cons
Big store means less face to face time with manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great workplace
Crew Member (Current Employee) –  Logan City QLD28 May 2019
i love working here, wonderful industry with great team members, i love long hours and hard working shifts. Most enjoyable part of the job in meeting new people and being able to work independently and dependently.
Pros
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy
Cashier (Former Employee) –  adelaide28 May 2019
obviously Kmart is always busy. When I was working there, their weren't enough supervisors to help when something wasn't right. Especially over Christmas.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive
Retail Assistant (Former Employee) –  Castle Hill NSW27 May 2019
You're given a task and you have to do it. Very flexible with hours and good management of the overall store. Workplace culture is mixed between young and older demographics which makes it interesting to work.
Pros
Chill
Cons
Not enough discount
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD26 May 2019
Kmart is a great place to work. The team members are fantastic. You can easily make life long friends. Unfortunately though, it can become a difficult place to work with management as the best interest of the employee is not always there, rather, meeting budget for the week seems to be more important.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
CUSTOMER SERVICE (Current Employee) –  Sylvania Southgate NSW25 May 2019
there is not enough shifts .
there is not enough hours
sometimes not even a once in a forthnightly.
the management system is not good.
even if they hire someone they should give once in a week.
Pros
nothing
Cons
no
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good workplace environment
Customer Service Assistant (Former Employee) –  Morayfield QLD22 May 2019
I learnt how to serve customers, assist them and welcome them into the store. I met many good people, however I have been given lack of shifts. They just stopped giving me shifts for the past three months.
Cons
No shifts
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  wellington21 May 2019
Productive and Fun workplace to be, Lovely people.
learnt so much. Working hours are alright, But it depends as some stores have different hours. depends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An overall great place to work.
Casual Employee (Current Employee) –  Toowoomba QLD19 May 2019
Ever since starting my work at Kmart, I have been welcomed and included in the work environment. It is a great place to work and the people there are really amazing.
Pros
Holiday group celebrations
Cons
Hard to get consistent shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
social and productive
team member (Former Employee) –  Cranbourne VIC17 May 2019
really good, was in a supportive environment, ablitily for shift flexibilty and really good work experience in retail which is iften difficult to find
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work through high schooling and university.
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC15 May 2019
Gave me the ability to balance my studies and work at the same time. They seemed to value their young employees and were understanding of my situations.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Kmart. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 19,118 reviews
54.8K
44.8K
35.3K
22.2K
12K

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.8Salary/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.3Culture