Laing O'Rourke Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good private company
Regional Quality Manager VSQ (Current Employee) –  Melbourne5 June 2018
A good company to work for. Can be let down by an influx of new personnel not inducted on how the company operates, so there can be a mismatch of approaches within the organisation. On the majority the people are great, the projects are exciting and the company has some good leaders. They have a commitment to ‘knowing their people’ yet to be fully realised by all
Pros
Privately owned, ambitious
Cons
Company induction, inconsistent culture
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Air conditioned bus. Great mateship
Store Person (Former Employee) –  ITCHYS SITE3 June 2018
Very early start.Maintained my own warehouse. Great management team.Great sense of mateship lots of different cultures. Hardest part was trying to forsee ordering
Pros
Not having to drive to the job. The sheer size of work
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good time of employment
HR Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Onslow WA9 April 2018
I was employed for 2 and a half years at The Wheatstone Project within that time I was asked to volunteer for the Bechtel Personal Based Safety Program (PBS) I was then trained to do observations on fellow employees, over and above my regular work duties, and if the person wasn't performing in a safe manner I'd then assist in helping them to do so.
I enjoyed working at Wheatstone and would of liked to of been there longer if the scope of works wasn't completed.
Pros
Good crew
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very productive, Easy going workplace nice people, everyone knows each other
Rail way worker (Former Employee) –  Port Hedland WA6 March 2018
has a good workplace culture would love to work there again.. 10-4 roster, travel to different camps, food was nice and just a easy lifestyle and would like to get back into it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Hazardous Area Electrician (Former Employee) –  Australia12 February 2018
Gave me the opportunity to work in mining and will always appreciate that. Great company to work for and found they looked after their staff. Would be happy to work for them again
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wheatstone camp is ok, they do their best.
Fuel-Service Truck Operator (Former Employee) –  Onslow WA8 February 2018
Typical working away from home job( 4&1 is a hard gig for most familys)
Big on developing safety in the workplace and overall a good company to work with.
Pros
Good Income
Cons
Four and one.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hot demanding work conditions however regular breaks when needed, good work collegues.
Rigger Adv/ Int Scaffolder (Former Employee) –  Darwin NT23 November 2017
A safe well organised operation in most areas of work. No real extra training given however skills/ certificates, eg: working at heights were upgraded as required. The jobs were not hard as such as long as you were already properly skilled so i found no real problems there. A good safety culture was forefront on this job as it is on most construction jobs i have been a part of. On this particular job i was VOC'd as an Advanced Rigger/Dogman, Intermediate Scaffolder, Ewp Operator and Use of Explosive power tools.
Pros
FIFO camp so all meals accomodation and flights were supplied as well as all ppe.
Cons
Job finished abruptly due to partnership breakdown.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what I learned
Specialist Applicator Kulin Group (Former Employee) –  Onslow WA4 September 2017
The money was good they put a fair bit of pressure on us to get the job done. Felt we were just a number the higher management were not very personal
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job as based in South Headland so you had freedom
Trades Assistant/ Peggy (Former Employee) –  Port Hedland WA27 July 2017
Great job where you could go to town, have dinner out, have a bit of a life whilst working long hours and being away from home. Made such a difference not being so isolated and having a few creature comforts at your fingertips.
Pros
Being in town and the money
Cons
Long hours - roster
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
LOADER OPERATOR (Current Employee) –  Wheatstone WA16 July 2017
Laing O'rourke are a great company to work with. The management team particularly on Wheatstone were informative and fair.

Hardest part was 4/1 roster but working with a great bunch of blokes who made it easier to deal with
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place and friendly staff
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Darwin NT6 July 2017
Working with this company i found it a challenge. Workplace culture very high. Communication skills could improve, Work crew eager and willing to do all tasks given
Pros
Lifestyle
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work with, good pay. Not much project going on for them.
Surveyor (Former Employee) –  Ichthys Tanks Project Darwin15 June 2017
I worked with Laing O'rourke for the Ichthys Tank Project in Darwin for 4 years and it's been tremendous effort to be one of those hundreds of workers involved in building the tanks for this very sophisticated LNG tanks project. Despite of the many issues and challenges during the construction we managed to built the tanks with the cooperation of the client, Inpex and our own construction team.
Building tanks is a life time experienced which I will never forget especially as Surveyor's involvement in those critical moments during construction.
Great experienced which is unforgettable.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Bit of politics going on, must know someone at the higher level to stay with them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
working in a good team group
Rail Construction Worker (Former Employee) –  Port Hedland WA12 June 2017
I haven't been working for a while, but looking to start again had been looking for a while for work but no one hasn't got back to me
finding it hard.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good job.good location
Advanced Rigger (Former Employee) –  Darwin NT24 May 2017
a good location to work and was in a good crew.the company was good with god supervisors and superintendents,there were never any pay issues and money was always correct and on time and everyone in management was friendly and approachable.the weather could be challenging in Darwin at times with the humidity but a rotation of work shirts comforted that.outside work hours the camp was good with client providing buses for employees to access city and its services
Pros
fifo in capital city
Cons
heat
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe workplace.nice workmates
Welder/Boilermaker (Former Employee) –  Darwin NT22 May 2017
Working at high temperature makes difficult for the beginners.however,everyone stands the heat over time
Woking with other groups need to be considered.as we need to protect not only our self but others as well.
Pros
Free accomodation and service
Cons
Hot weather
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and enjoyable
F.I.F.O. Truck Driver / LogisticsTeam (Former Employee) –  Darwin NT10 May 2017
Worked with a great bunch of people,great team environment, formed a lot of friendships which helps when your away from your family for long periods of time.
Pros
Safety conscious
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best company iv worked for!
Boilermaker/Welder (Former Employee) –  Barrow Island WA10 May 2017
Looking forward to working for Laing O Rourke again one day.
Great Pay .
Put free beers on every safety milestone .
BBQ's all the time
Happy crew with a great safety record
Pros
great job
Cons
nil
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team to work with, friendly and helpful
Plant Operator/Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Darwin NT26 April 2017
If I could get a transfer I would, they are very understanding and family does come first. Saftey on site is High with great people to work with. I would work for them again
Pros
EBA rates
Cons
Good hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long Hours + Roster
"Electrician" (Former Employee) –  Barrow Island WA21 April 2017
Payed on time every week was a plus. Poor organization can lead to a very long and unproductive swing.................................................
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work crew to work with.
Stores / Logistics Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Port Hedland WA18 April 2017
They had some good ideas. They just didn't complete the work needed doing. The management did not manage the job well and we all lost our jobs. They lied to the work crew over and over about what its going on with the job.
Pros
Good work crew
Cons
Bad Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Laing O'Rourke. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 259 reviews
5106
4103
332
27
111

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
4.1Salary/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.9Culture