Langham Hotel Employee Reviews

Found 21 reviews matching the search See all 191 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for but does have its issues
Porter (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC20 January 2019
Great place to work, everyone is friendly & gets on well.

Social place to work, don't be surprised if you don't end up paying for a drink on a night out!

Negatives
Job security was an issue as they stopped employing people on long term contracts (that may be different now)

Staff food is revolting & you have to pay for it!

Pay is pretty low compared to their competitors.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work life balance
Executive Club Lounge Butler (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC16 December 2018
It is a fast paced company.
Adequate training is provided for employee.
A lot of employee benefits, including discounted rates and anniversary gifts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cricket
Banquet Shift Leader (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC4 September 2018
banquets set up, running a functions and complain headlining
every day learned new set up and dealing with a different type of client
managing the day roster staff at during events, and training
communicate communicate communicate
handling aggressive client
team work
Pros
yes
Cons
yes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a very fastpaste environment
Pastry Chef (Former Employee) –  exciting17 March 2018
I've got a vast experience in Langham Hotel but unfortunately was not very friendly place,
It was a heavy job with little personal protective equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun to work with
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC6 March 2018
good benefits and. environment.
good and proper interns of hygiene
easy to reach out by means of transportation
yearly incentives
different culture involves but has balance treatment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the best place to work for me
Commis Chef (Former Employee) –  Melbourne City Centre VIC6 January 2018
the langham melbourne is the best employer for me to work with, i feel very lucky to get lots of exp here. good management, learn lots of knowledge, unfortunately my visa condition (student visa) it require me to get sponsorhip and i couldnt get it from Langham hotel melbourne due to it circumtances.
Pros
free meals
Cons
no sponsorship
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5 Star Hotel
Spa therapist (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW31 October 2017
Beautiful work place, a typical 8hour shifts with a variety of beauty treatments. Just like everywhere else management could be a bit more empathetic and the hotel could be a bit more organised however with all the hotel perks and wonderful team (in all departments) it all makes up for all the cons.

Besides being far from where I live there also is no rotation for the weekend, weekend work every weekend is a must. These are a couple main reasons why I couldn't stay on board, I am a solo mum and have to leave home at 7am and arrive back home at 730pm the lastest.
Pros
Hotel Perks
Cons
Management aren't so empathetic
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best of Langham
Room Dining (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC22 September 2017
I learned a lot how the big five star hotel running. How great from their professional and strong experience from all employee who work there. Great food and great teamwork.
Pros
great food
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place with great people
Aria Bar Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC14 June 2017
Great place to work for who dont have any experience but lack in career oppurtunity for those been there for a while. Other than that its a great place with great people.
Pros
great people and flexibility
Cons
Late finished & low salary
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
オーストラリアの職場なのでワークライフバランスは◎
フロントドアコーディネーター・ポーター (Former Employee) –  メルボルン・オーストラリア28 April 2017
フレンドリーな同僚たちと楽しく働くことができます。
ワークライフバランスも良く、一生懸命働くときちんと評価してくれます。
皆に平等にチャンスをくれます。
Pros
5つ星ホテルの雰囲気
Cons
スタッフカフェの食事がイマイチ
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent experience
Spa therapist (Former Employee) –  Sydney5 April 2017
Le cadre de travail est très agréable, le salaire et le nombre de formation proposé attractif.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Langham Melbourne
Front Office Duty Manager (Former Employee) –  Melbourne City Centre VIC25 March 2017
International 5 star hotel chain. Management are great to work for. Team members are friendly and professional. 2nd place on TripAdvisor in Melbourne with many positive comment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn services of luxury 5 star hotel
Accounts Intern (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW23 February 2017
It is a great place to work and deeply understand of work-life balance phrase, professional working style, I have learned many things from Finance team and also gotten help from other teams as well such as Sales and Marketing or Fron house office, ... They are helpful and able to guide or help me out with problems. Moreover, I also understand how exceptional and luxury services Langham providing to their guests. Besides that, I was able to enjoy great food ever from talent chefs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Producted a beautiful dessert
Patisserie kitchen assistant (Former Employee) –  Southbank VIC23 February 2017
Busy and challenge day when working in the kitchen,learn new skills and make different desserts,the management need to be improve,a good place should be listening and communicate well. The most hardest part was no communication. The enjoyable part was producing a great patisserie.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life balance not great at all
Doorman (Former Employee) –  Melbourne City Centre, VIC6 April 2015
Because it is a roster job there is not much free time to spend with the family.
However there is a job security in terms of money.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It feels like my second home.
FOOD AND BEVERAGE ATTENDANT (Former Employee) –  Melbourne, VIC20 January 2015
Friendships and atmosphere of local personnel. Indeed a great hotel and management company to work for. They take care their associates well.
Pros
incentives in my department like free breakfast, lunch or dinner
Cons
salary and benefits compare to other hotels
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most Enjoyable Enviroment .. is the View
Room Attendant (Former Employee) –  Southgate9 July 2014
People I work with was Amazing .. including management
Enjoyed the Surroundings
The hardest part of the Job, was to get the work done a.s.a.p.
And most Enjoyable part was a Good Bonding with all the staff at the of the day.
Pros
lunch $2.50
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting / Interactive and Self Rewarding
Service Stylist/ Guest Relations Representative (Current Employee) –  Melbourne, Australia27 April 2014
The Langham Melbourne is a 5 star Hotel which runs on a few easy fundamentals. Interact with each guest and personalise their experience. Treating each guest as an individual rather than a room number. This has proven to work as we are currently Number 1 in Trip Advisor.

Not only do I love meeting and greeting the VIPs who travel across the world to stay with us, I'm also surrounded by incredible staff who make my job fun. We help each other out where ever its needed.

The hardest part of my job is having to clock out after my 8 hour shift. Assisting our regular guests require our individual attention. Its difficult to have to 'pass the torch' to your relief. But working alongside some of the best colleagues I've ever worked with, I know my guests are in good hands.

My most enjoyable and exciting part of work is starting my shift and seeing which Loyal guest will be returning or/ and which VIP (Actor, Singer, CEO, Diplomat or Artist) will be staying with us and who I would be looking after.
Pros
Uniforms are provided / Dry cleaning / Discounted Parking, Movie tickets, 50% Off Restaurant, Accommodation and the Ability to travel to any Langham and stay at a VERY low Rate.
Cons
Pay Raise. The ability to move to a higher management position.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very professional and enjoyable workplace
waitress (Former Employee) –  Melbourne, VIC12 January 2014
i love working at langham hotel for the Melbourne food and wine festival.
Pros
meeting famous chefs
Cons
standing on your feet from 9-5
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Empresa de grande porte mas extremamente organizada
Estágio (Former Employee) –  Melbourne, VIC28 March 2013
Estágio Remunerado. Passagem por diversas áreas da hotelaria.
Food and Beverage: Atendimento em Restaurante Melba/Catering e hostess em eventos. Aprendi sobre como tratar o cliente apropriadamente, serviço de restaurante 5 estrelas
Front Desk
Check In/ Check out de hóspedes
Atenção ao cliente 5 estrelas em hotel de grande porte
Communication Centre
Serviços de telefonía internos e externos ao hotel
Reservations
Reservas para restaurantes, quartos, eventos, conferências
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport

See more Langham Hotel reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Langham Hotel. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 191 reviews
596
451
328
211
15

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.0Salary/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture

Langham Hotel Reviews by Location