Macquarie University Employee Reviews

Found 49 reviews matching the search See all 50 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn alot
Student Delegate (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW7 January 2019
I have learnt alot in my experience at MQ uni, and it has grown me as an individual in all senses. I love going to work there every day meeting new, stimulating challenges.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable, Educational, Relaxed environment
Work Experience Student (Former Employee) –  Macquarie University NSW3 January 2019
Macquarie university was a fun work place where i developed a lot of basic skills, like management, filing, invoicing and dealing with people and minor problems. it was a relaxed environment, pleasant and there was always a comfortable atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medical benefits and great Post graduate courses
Senior Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW9 November 2018
Medical and International Students business degrees.

Has the capacity to accommodate students from all walks of life and areas of study. Great transport.
Pros
Excellent Teaching academic staff
Cons
Maybe location - restricted to East and Northern students
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
leuke laagdrempelige werkplek
Onderzoeksstage (Former Employee) –  Sydney18 October 2018
ik deed mijn eigen onderzoek bij Macquarie University. De sfeer was erg laagdrempelig en ik kreeg erg veel vrijheid. Mijn supervisors en de rest van het team waren erg positief en enthousiast en dat deed me erg goed. Op de universiteit kan het lastig zijn om je weg te vinden zowel online als op de campus maar als je de juiste mensen eenmaal gevonden hebt, zijn ze erg behulpzaam. Al met al een geweldige tijd gehad in Sydney!
Pros
enthousiast, positief, veel vrijheid
Cons
soms lastig om weg te vinden op universiteit
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough and rewarding workplace
Academic (Former Employee) –  Sydney11 October 2018
Typical day consisted of juggling research and teaching commitments.
Full of talent and driven students and academics with growing facilities, especially in the area of biological sciences.
Pros
Fleixble working conditions
Cons
Slow productivity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work. Unique environment to work with multiple parties and agendas to consider during decision making.
Senior Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW27 September 2018
Workplace was very friendly. Goals constantly shifted based on budget allocations and constraints. Large pipeline of interesting work. Relationship building with stakeholders is paramount to understand works undertaken.
Pros
Autonomy and work environment.
Cons
Approval process can be slow and cumbersome.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Work Experience Student (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW24 September 2018
-learned basic office skills such as organising paperwork
- Work with my colleagues
-Listen to the employer
- Learn more about history through the work experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Event Officer (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW26 July 2018
Great working environment that provides a flexible and supportive community. Allows for a good work life balance and offers attractive staff incentives and salary.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
PRIVATE TUTOR (Current Employee) –  North Ryde NSW21 May 2018
its quite flexible everyday
they let me organise when i work
it helps me to refresh what ive learnt
i dont have to work if i dont want to work on any day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelente ambiente de trabajo
Investigadora (Current Employee) –  New South Wales12 May 2018
La experiencia laboral fue muy productiva y exitosa
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I did work experience here
Work Experience Student (Former Employee) –  Macquarie University NSW4 May 2018
I completed work experience at Macquarie University. I don't know if I should have put that on here but as I have now, I have to fill in this thing that I can't really say anything about.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice campus
Operations DBA, report to Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Sydney, North Ryde13 March 2018
I miss the campus lift, however, the current VC is not that competent for his job. Hope he could be replaced and his current manager team as well on one day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This University is overall a good employer.
PhD Candidate (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW20 February 2018
I have been a research student and casual employee in the Human Sciences faculty. Each role was well supported and worthwhile with the opportunity to do more teaching available to students with aptitude and experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace environment
PRIMARY STEM ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  North Ryde NSW29 November 2017
I am given the responsibility of making decisions regarding the most effective and efficient way of doing things. I also have a good relationship with my boss, which makes my morale higher.
Pros
Good relationship with boss
Cons
Far from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Service Desk Analyst (Current Employee) –  Macquarie Park NSW20 November 2017
I have never worked in a greater environment.
The work is challenging, the people are friendly and supportive and the pay is generous.
I am very happy to be working here and will hopefully continue to work her for a long time
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW16 October 2017
The people that i got to meet we're very friendly and outgoing, they were just had a great vibe to be around. and unfortunately enjoyed getting to know them.
Pros
long lunch breaks
Cons
Finishing late
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great family-friendly workplace.
Tutor - Department of Linguistics (Current Employee) –  North Ryde NSW13 August 2017
I am very happy at Macquarie University. I have had many opportunities but as casual employee, I have no job security.
Macquarie promotes diversity and flexibility for its employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valuable practical experience
Research Fellow (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW30 June 2017
Valuable practical experience on what it is like to do research in psychology.
Gives students a chance to design, recruit and conduct an experiment under the guidance of an expert supervisor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Sometimes Challenging
Work title - Concierge/security E11A (Chancellery) (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW5 April 2017
Working with high profile management and direct contact with the academic staff from all departments. Nice environment and not busy all the time. The job is not hard but requires constant common sense and also needs someone to think on their feet and assist staff with different issues like IT and venues booking management.
Pros
Not busy
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelente universidad
Marketing Online (Former Employee) –  Australia21 March 2017
Una de las mejores universidades rankeadas en Sydney con un nivel académico privilegiado y una orientación hacia los negocios globales.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Macquarie University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 50 reviews
522
423
34
20
11

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
3.7Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.1Culture

Macquarie University Reviews by Location