Macquarie University Employee Reviews

Found 65 reviews matching the search See all 66 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun working environment for students.
Calling Campaign Officer (Former Employee) –  Macquarie Park NSW24 February 2019
It's a flexible well paying job while at university. You learn a lot about how to handle phone calls, rejections and successful donations. The hardest part is rejection rate is high. However, you learn in these situations and how to turn them around. The work culture is great and encourages you to reach targets as an individual and a team.
Pros
free lunches, bonuses, non-financial rewards for good performances
Cons
temporary job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work with a lot of thought going into programmes
Director of studies (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW20 January 2019
Always varied and busy
A lot about educational theory
Usually well managed
Thoughtful, interesting and investigative
Maintaining balance between research and lesson delivery
Challenging theory - the people - teachers and students
Pros
Green campus environment
Cons
Unpredictable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn alot
Student Delegate (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW7 January 2019
I have learnt alot in my experience at MQ uni, and it has grown me as an individual in all senses. I love going to work there every day meeting new, stimulating challenges.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Assistant (Former Employee) –  history museum5 January 2019
you can express your interests here and just make mew friends we worked well as a team and it was a fair and awesome experience I enjoyed being busy and not being in any way bored or not productive I always had something to achieve and I love it
Pros
good hours
Cons
travel
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable, Educational, Relaxed environment
Work Experience Student (Former Employee) –  Macquarie University NSW3 January 2019
Macquarie university was a fun work place where i developed a lot of basic skills, like management, filing, invoicing and dealing with people and minor problems. it was a relaxed environment, pleasant and there was always a comfortable atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medical benefits and great Post graduate courses
Senior Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW9 November 2018
Medical and International Students business degrees.

Has the capacity to accommodate students from all walks of life and areas of study. Great transport.
Pros
Excellent Teaching academic staff
Cons
Maybe location - restricted to East and Northern students
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Place for Coding and Mechatronic Students
Member of MURC (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW2 November 2018
Basically we build robots. And Have fun. Currently planning to build sumo robot and battle bots. It is not something dangerous like in other places. It is simple rule to built, play and have fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
leuke laagdrempelige werkplek
Onderzoeksstage (Former Employee) –  Sydney18 October 2018
ik deed mijn eigen onderzoek bij Macquarie University. De sfeer was erg laagdrempelig en ik kreeg erg veel vrijheid. Mijn supervisors en de rest van het team waren erg positief en enthousiast en dat deed me erg goed. Op de universiteit kan het lastig zijn om je weg te vinden zowel online als op de campus maar als je de juiste mensen eenmaal gevonden hebt, zijn ze erg behulpzaam. Al met al een geweldige tijd gehad in Sydney!
Pros
enthousiast, positief, veel vrijheid
Cons
soms lastig om weg te vinden op universiteit
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough and rewarding workplace
Academic (Former Employee) –  Sydney11 October 2018
Typical day consisted of juggling research and teaching commitments.
Full of talent and driven students and academics with growing facilities, especially in the area of biological sciences.
Pros
Fleixble working conditions
Cons
Slow productivity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work. Unique environment to work with multiple parties and agendas to consider during decision making.
Senior Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW27 September 2018
Workplace was very friendly. Goals constantly shifted based on budget allocations and constraints. Large pipeline of interesting work. Relationship building with stakeholders is paramount to understand works undertaken.
Pros
Autonomy and work environment.
Cons
Approval process can be slow and cumbersome.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Work Experience Student (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW24 September 2018
-learned basic office skills such as organising paperwork
- Work with my colleagues
-Listen to the employer
- Learn more about history through the work experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Event Officer (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW26 July 2018
Great working environment that provides a flexible and supportive community. Allows for a good work life balance and offers attractive staff incentives and salary.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
PRIVATE TUTOR (Current Employee) –  North Ryde NSW21 May 2018
its quite flexible everyday
they let me organise when i work
it helps me to refresh what ive learnt
i dont have to work if i dont want to work on any day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelente ambiente de trabajo
Investigadora (Current Employee) –  New South Wales12 May 2018
La experiencia laboral fue muy productiva y exitosa
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I did work experience here
Work Experience Student (Former Employee) –  Macquarie University NSW4 May 2018
I completed work experience at Macquarie University. I don't know if I should have put that on here but as I have now, I have to fill in this thing that I can't really say anything about.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice campus
Operations DBA, report to Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Sydney, North Ryde13 March 2018
I miss the campus lift, however, the current VC is not that competent for his job. Hope he could be replaced and his current manager team as well on one day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sessional teaching at University
English teacher (Former Employee) –  Macquarie Uni and UWS - Sydney. Al Musannah - Oman27 February 2018
Most of the University work I did was sessional - so when they had a large influx of foreign students who hoped to do a degree at University they put them through an academic preparation course, and they enlisted casuals to fill the need for extra teachers for a period of 3 months. By completing the 3 month course with a pass the students would be eligible to enrol in the course of their choice. That work was high pressure, but well paid,. The positives are that they pay really well, and the negatives are that there will be no work available for most of the year. So you need to have a back up plan.
Pros
Good pay, nice students and co-workers
Cons
seasonal nature of the work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work and a positive and vibrant atmosphere
Insurance & Database Support (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW22 February 2018
Typical day at work involves responding to many emails from various students and staff. Work culture is positive and rewarding. Restructure of the senior leadership is going on for a while now.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This University is overall a good employer.
PhD Candidate (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW20 February 2018
I have been a research student and casual employee in the Human Sciences faculty. Each role was well supported and worthwhile with the opportunity to do more teaching available to students with aptitude and experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and challenging role to play
House Keeper (Former Employee) –  Macquarie Park NSW22 January 2018
good work culture, great team and ongoing training. professional support. work life balance growth opportunity. great location. free tea and coffee and uniform
Pros
great location
Cons
long hour
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Macquarie University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 66 reviews
529
430
36
20
11

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.1Culture

Macquarie University Reviews by Location