Macquarie University Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelente ambiente de trabajo
Investigadora (Current Employee) –  New South Wales12 May 2018
La experiencia laboral fue muy productiva y exitosa
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I did work experience here
Work Experience Student (Former Employee) –  Macquarie University NSW4 May 2018
I completed work experience at Macquarie University. I don't know if I should have put that on here but as I have now, I have to fill in this thing that I can't really say anything about.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice campus
Operations DBA, report to Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Sydney, North Ryde13 March 2018
I miss the campus lift, however, the current VC is not that competent for his job. Hope he could be replaced and his current manager team as well on one day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This University is overall a good employer.
PhD Candidate (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW20 February 2018
I have been a research student and casual employee in the Human Sciences faculty. Each role was well supported and worthwhile with the opportunity to do more teaching available to students with aptitude and experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace environment
PRIMARY STEM ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  North Ryde NSW29 November 2017
I am given the responsibility of making decisions regarding the most effective and efficient way of doing things. I also have a good relationship with my boss, which makes my morale higher.
Pros
Good relationship with boss
Cons
Far from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Service Desk Analyst (Current Employee) –  Macquarie Park NSW20 November 2017
I have never worked in a greater environment.
The work is challenging, the people are friendly and supportive and the pay is generous.
I am very happy to be working here and will hopefully continue to work her for a long time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW16 October 2017
The people that i got to meet we're very friendly and outgoing, they were just had a great vibe to be around. and unfortunately enjoyed getting to know them.
Pros
long lunch breaks
Cons
Finishing late
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great family-friendly workplace.
Tutor - Department of Linguistics (Current Employee) –  North Ryde NSW13 August 2017
I am very happy at Macquarie University. I have had many opportunities but as casual employee, I have no job security.
Macquarie promotes diversity and flexibility for its employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valuable practical experience
Research Fellow (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW30 June 2017
Valuable practical experience on what it is like to do research in psychology.
Gives students a chance to design, recruit and conduct an experiment under the guidance of an expert supervisor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Sometimes Challenging
Work title - Concierge/security E11A (Chancellery) (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW5 April 2017
Working with high profile management and direct contact with the academic staff from all departments. Nice environment and not busy all the time. The job is not hard but requires constant common sense and also needs someone to think on their feet and assist staff with different issues like IT and venues booking management.
Pros
Not busy
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelente universidad
Marketing Online (Former Employee) –  Australia21 March 2017
Una de las mejores universidades rankeadas en Sydney con un nivel académico privilegiado y una orientación hacia los negocios globales.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
health and fitness, soccer, rugby, intervarsity sports, martial artsetc
Adjunct Lecturer/Tutor (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW18 March 2017
Macquarie university is an excellent place to work with unlimited potential for sporting activities, health and fitness made available to all students and all academic members of staff.
Pros
N/a
Cons
This is a contract job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place and good colleagues to work with
Project Coordinator, Programs, Central IT (Former Employee) –  Sydney Northern Suburbs NSW14 March 2017
The Projects team I worked with was a fun group to be with. Even though we worked hard, we also had fun which built up our rapport. We would do a lot to help each other out. Management changed quite a bit as there were continuous funding cuts over the years. The hardest part of the job was when the whole team was dis-established in mid-2016 because of funding cuts and projects are now outsourced.
Pros
Fun and collaborative managers and team
Cons
Funding cuts and continous changes
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liberal arts university
Senior Lecturer (Former Employee) –  Sydney, Australia3 February 2017
A beautiful campus for a liberal arts university. The recent train station has made it more convenient for students to get to Macquarie University. Under pressure to expand.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Receptionist and PA (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW25 January 2017
Provide reception support for Faulty Office.
Respond to enquiries and provide information to staff, students and stakeholders about the Faculty and its operations, escalating enquiries as appropriate.
Assist with the diary management for the Faculty General Manager.
Arranging events such as interviews, board meetings, faculty retreat, away days and the end of year function.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent to work for
University practicum student advisor (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW14 January 2017
I was a casual part time employee that mostly spent time at different preschool, long day care centres and primary schools. My time spent on campus was always remembered as being very friendly and extremely helpful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good situation
Researcher (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW5 January 2017
Macquarie university provides a suitable situation for its students and staffs with different cultures.

Different programs are considered for different countries which is admirable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It has been a great experience till date
PhD student (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW1 January 2017
Macquarie University has given me a platform to achieve the highest degree (PhD) in the academic field. I am getting to learn new things everyday which fascinates me even more. I will try to gather knowledge as much as I can from this university to contribute to the society in future.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic and flexible arrangement
Computer Subject Practical Tutor (Former Employee) –  Macquarie University NSW1 December 2016
Dynamic and flexible working arrangement.
Able to work close to the industrial leaders and experts.
Able to learn from the technology lead.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Limited by Federal funding cuts
Lecturer (Former Employee) –  North Ryde NSW1 December 2016
An interesting environment that combines creative and cultural studies. Funding cuts in 2014 and later have cost jobs, especially seessional work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Macquarie University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 41 reviews
516
421
33
20
11

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.1Culture

Macquarie University Reviews by Location