Macquarie University Employee Reviews in Sydney NSW

Found 39 reviews matching the search See all 66 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learn alot
Student Delegate (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW7 January 2019
I have learnt alot in my experience at MQ uni, and it has grown me as an individual in all senses. I love going to work there every day meeting new, stimulating challenges.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Medical benefits and great Post graduate courses
Senior Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW9 November 2018
Medical and International Students business degrees.

Has the capacity to accommodate students from all walks of life and areas of study. Great transport.
Pros
Excellent Teaching academic staff
Cons
Maybe location - restricted to East and Northern students
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Place for Coding and Mechatronic Students
Member of MURC (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW2 November 2018
Basically we build robots. And Have fun. Currently planning to build sumo robot and battle bots. It is not something dangerous like in other places. It is simple rule to built, play and have fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
leuke laagdrempelige werkplek
Onderzoeksstage (Former Employee) –  Sydney18 October 2018
ik deed mijn eigen onderzoek bij Macquarie University. De sfeer was erg laagdrempelig en ik kreeg erg veel vrijheid. Mijn supervisors en de rest van het team waren erg positief en enthousiast en dat deed me erg goed. Op de universiteit kan het lastig zijn om je weg te vinden zowel online als op de campus maar als je de juiste mensen eenmaal gevonden hebt, zijn ze erg behulpzaam. Al met al een geweldige tijd gehad in Sydney!
Pros
enthousiast, positief, veel vrijheid
Cons
soms lastig om weg te vinden op universiteit
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tough and rewarding workplace
Academic (Former Employee) –  Sydney11 October 2018
Typical day consisted of juggling research and teaching commitments.
Full of talent and driven students and academics with growing facilities, especially in the area of biological sciences.
Pros
Fleixble working conditions
Cons
Slow productivity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place to work. Unique environment to work with multiple parties and agendas to consider during decision making.
Senior Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW27 September 2018
Workplace was very friendly. Goals constantly shifted based on budget allocations and constraints. Large pipeline of interesting work. Relationship building with stakeholders is paramount to understand works undertaken.
Pros
Autonomy and work environment.
Cons
Approval process can be slow and cumbersome.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Work Experience Student (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW24 September 2018
-learned basic office skills such as organising paperwork
- Work with my colleagues
-Listen to the employer
- Learn more about history through the work experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Event Officer (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW26 July 2018
Great working environment that provides a flexible and supportive community. Allows for a good work life balance and offers attractive staff incentives and salary.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice campus
Operations DBA, report to Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Sydney, North Ryde13 March 2018
I miss the campus lift, however, the current VC is not that competent for his job. Hope he could be replaced and his current manager team as well on one day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sessional teaching at University
English teacher (Former Employee) –  Macquarie Uni and UWS - Sydney. Al Musannah - Oman27 February 2018
Most of the University work I did was sessional - so when they had a large influx of foreign students who hoped to do a degree at University they put them through an academic preparation course, and they enlisted casuals to fill the need for extra teachers for a period of 3 months. By completing the 3 month course with a pass the students would be eligible to enrol in the course of their choice. That work was high pressure, but well paid,. The positives are that they pay really well, and the negatives are that there will be no work available for most of the year. So you need to have a back up plan.
Pros
Good pay, nice students and co-workers
Cons
seasonal nature of the work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work and a positive and vibrant atmosphere
Insurance & Database Support (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW22 February 2018
Typical day at work involves responding to many emails from various students and staff. Work culture is positive and rewarding. Restructure of the senior leadership is going on for a while now.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This University is overall a good employer.
PhD Candidate (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW20 February 2018
I have been a research student and casual employee in the Human Sciences faculty. Each role was well supported and worthwhile with the opportunity to do more teaching available to students with aptitude and experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW16 October 2017
The people that i got to meet we're very friendly and outgoing, they were just had a great vibe to be around. and unfortunately enjoyed getting to know them.
Pros
long lunch breaks
Cons
Finishing late
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Ethuastic Team Members
Event Staff (Former Employee) –  Pitt Street NSW8 September 2017
TYPICAL DAY
- A lot of different client walking in for different events
- I direct clients as they come to reception to their allocated Seminar Rooms
- I head into all the Seminar rooms being used and talk to facilitator about break times such as ( Morning Tea, Lunch etc.)
- Talk them thru house rules and emergency exits
- I help presenter set his laptop connect him to projector, AV, mic'd up and any other quires
- Once clients all sorted from all different events I set up all events Morning Tea and dietary requirements

LEARNT
- how to prioritize clients when extremely busy
- Staying calm when under pressure and dealing with difficult clients

MANAGEMENT
- Co-Leader: Ill manage how the day will go such as what team member should do for the day and allocate them with task and how things should be done.

HARDEST PART
- When their are staff meetings and I'm left on the floor alone. There is a lot of events on and I have to deal with clients and students who come to reception, answer phone calls and also set up and clean up for the next break.

ENJOYABLE PART
-Talking, helping clients with quires and interacting and socializing with clients
Pros
Free Lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic
Casual Academic Tutor (Current Employee) –  Sydney26 August 2017
Plenty to learn from with great academic staff. A lot of autonomy in structuring the lessons. Really collaborative team with a very encouraging culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valuable practical experience
Research Fellow (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW30 June 2017
Valuable practical experience on what it is like to do research in psychology.
Gives students a chance to design, recruit and conduct an experiment under the guidance of an expert supervisor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, fun
Barista (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW14 April 2017
excellent working environment and I really enjoyed alot with each and every employee of the organisation they all were very much supportive and caring
Pros
free food
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Sometimes Challenging
Work title - Concierge/security E11A (Chancellery) (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW5 April 2017
Working with high profile management and direct contact with the academic staff from all departments. Nice environment and not busy all the time. The job is not hard but requires constant common sense and also needs someone to think on their feet and assist staff with different issues like IT and venues booking management.
Pros
Not busy
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Team Member (Networking) (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW20 March 2017
Good experience of the work related to my studies and gives me a goal to keep going in my work. Got helpful knowledge as well as experience in the field of IT.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
health and fitness, soccer, rugby, intervarsity sports, martial artsetc
Adjunct Lecturer/Tutor (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW18 March 2017
Macquarie university is an excellent place to work with unlimited potential for sporting activities, health and fitness made available to all students and all academic members of staff.
Pros
N/a
Cons
This is a contract job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Macquarie University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 66 reviews
529
430
36
20
11

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.1Culture

Macquarie University Reviews by Location