Macquarie University Employee Reviews

Found 65 reviews matching the search See all 66 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace environment
PRIMARY STEM ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  North Ryde NSW29 November 2017
I am given the responsibility of making decisions regarding the most effective and efficient way of doing things. I also have a good relationship with my boss, which makes my morale higher.
Pros
Good relationship with boss
Cons
Far from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Workplace
Service Desk Analyst (Current Employee) –  Macquarie Park NSW20 November 2017
I have never worked in a greater environment.
The work is challenging, the people are friendly and supportive and the pay is generous.
I am very happy to be working here and will hopefully continue to work her for a long time
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW16 October 2017
The people that i got to meet we're very friendly and outgoing, they were just had a great vibe to be around. and unfortunately enjoyed getting to know them.
Pros
long lunch breaks
Cons
Finishing late
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Ethuastic Team Members
Event Staff (Former Employee) –  Pitt Street NSW8 September 2017
TYPICAL DAY
- A lot of different client walking in for different events
- I direct clients as they come to reception to their allocated Seminar Rooms
- I head into all the Seminar rooms being used and talk to facilitator about break times such as ( Morning Tea, Lunch etc.)
- Talk them thru house rules and emergency exits
- I help presenter set his laptop connect him to projector, AV, mic'd up and any other quires
- Once clients all sorted from all different events I set up all events Morning Tea and dietary requirements

LEARNT
- how to prioritize clients when extremely busy
- Staying calm when under pressure and dealing with difficult clients

MANAGEMENT
- Co-Leader: Ill manage how the day will go such as what team member should do for the day and allocate them with task and how things should be done.

HARDEST PART
- When their are staff meetings and I'm left on the floor alone. There is a lot of events on and I have to deal with clients and students who come to reception, answer phone calls and also set up and clean up for the next break.

ENJOYABLE PART
-Talking, helping clients with quires and interacting and socializing with clients
Pros
Free Lunches
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a pretty good site to work at.
Security Services Officer (Former Employee) –  North Ryde NSW29 August 2017
Hours were good.
University staff were great to work with/for
The company I worked for was fantastic.
The University environment was good.
Workplace culture could do with some improvements.
Pros
The Company I worked for was fantastic.
Cons
Some team players were not team players.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic
Casual Academic Tutor (Current Employee) –  Sydney26 August 2017
Plenty to learn from with great academic staff. A lot of autonomy in structuring the lessons. Really collaborative team with a very encouraging culture.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great family-friendly workplace.
Tutor - Department of Linguistics (Current Employee) –  North Ryde NSW13 August 2017
I am very happy at Macquarie University. I have had many opportunities but as casual employee, I have no job security.
Macquarie promotes diversity and flexibility for its employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valuable practical experience
Research Fellow (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW30 June 2017
Valuable practical experience on what it is like to do research in psychology.
Gives students a chance to design, recruit and conduct an experiment under the guidance of an expert supervisor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive, fun
Barista (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW14 April 2017
excellent working environment and I really enjoyed alot with each and every employee of the organisation they all were very much supportive and caring
Pros
free food
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Sometimes Challenging
Work title - Concierge/security E11A (Chancellery) (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW5 April 2017
Working with high profile management and direct contact with the academic staff from all departments. Nice environment and not busy all the time. The job is not hard but requires constant common sense and also needs someone to think on their feet and assist staff with different issues like IT and venues booking management.
Pros
Not busy
Cons
Long Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excelente universidad
Marketing Online (Former Employee) –  Australia21 March 2017
Una de las mejores universidades rankeadas en Sydney con un nivel académico privilegiado y una orientación hacia los negocios globales.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard work
Team Member (Networking) (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW20 March 2017
Good experience of the work related to my studies and gives me a goal to keep going in my work. Got helpful knowledge as well as experience in the field of IT.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
health and fitness, soccer, rugby, intervarsity sports, martial artsetc
Adjunct Lecturer/Tutor (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW18 March 2017
Macquarie university is an excellent place to work with unlimited potential for sporting activities, health and fitness made available to all students and all academic members of staff.
Pros
N/a
Cons
This is a contract job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place and good colleagues to work with
Project Coordinator, Programs, Central IT (Former Employee) –  Sydney Northern Suburbs NSW14 March 2017
The Projects team I worked with was a fun group to be with. Even though we worked hard, we also had fun which built up our rapport. We would do a lot to help each other out. Management changed quite a bit as there were continuous funding cuts over the years. The hardest part of the job was when the whole team was dis-established in mid-2016 because of funding cuts and projects are now outsourced.
Pros
Fun and collaborative managers and team
Cons
Funding cuts and continous changes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liberal arts university
Senior Lecturer (Former Employee) –  Sydney, Australia3 February 2017
A beautiful campus for a liberal arts university. The recent train station has made it more convenient for students to get to Macquarie University. Under pressure to expand.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Receptionist and PA (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW25 January 2017
Provide reception support for Faulty Office.
Respond to enquiries and provide information to staff, students and stakeholders about the Faculty and its operations, escalating enquiries as appropriate.
Assist with the diary management for the Faculty General Manager.
Arranging events such as interviews, board meetings, faculty retreat, away days and the end of year function.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent to work for
University practicum student advisor (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW14 January 2017
I was a casual part time employee that mostly spent time at different preschool, long day care centres and primary schools. My time spent on campus was always remembered as being very friendly and extremely helpful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am great passion to continully work with oncology
Oncology nurse specialist (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW9 January 2017
Macquarie university hospital is a great place to work and management team really supportive.Oncology unit we committed to do lots of new trials with Mabs and other related chemotherapy .Clinical trial team are really supportive Doctors and staff very dedicated and well supportive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good situation
Researcher (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW5 January 2017
Macquarie university provides a suitable situation for its students and staffs with different cultures.

Different programs are considered for different countries which is admirable
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It has been a great experience till date
PhD student (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW1 January 2017
Macquarie University has given me a platform to achieve the highest degree (PhD) in the academic field. I am getting to learn new things everyday which fascinates me even more. I will try to gather knowledge as much as I can from this university to contribute to the society in future.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Macquarie University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 66 reviews
529
430
36
20
11

Ratings by category

4.4Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
4.0Management
4.1Culture

Macquarie University Reviews by Location