MSS Security Management reviews

Found 31 reviews matching the search See all 96 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job i have ever had.
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Darwin NT28 June 2019
Managers dont have a clue!! You get told that bullying is a big NO and then when you report something gets brushed under the table and turned round on you.
Pros
There are none
Cons
They make the job sound good but its not
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid
former employee (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW9 June 2019
Profit comes first, then higher managements own jobs
employees are disposable
lack of competent guard (quantity over quality) are there for coverups and to blame
Poor pay rate and always cutting corners
Look for places that hire in-house direct guards rather than middle-men/pimps.
luckily the site I am working. MSS lost the contract and the next company that took over is a little better with less sketchy cutting corner tactics.
Pros
Free uniform, thats it
Cons
all the above
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security Officer
Security Officer/security systems operator (Former Employee) –  Burwood VIC20 February 2019
Been working at Deakin University in Burwood Campus. Awful timetable and really bad working environment. MSS management didn't improve anything as they didn't care to do so.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid
Security (Former Employee) –  Queensland22 December 2018
A company that only cares about the profit and their client. There is no compassion or care for the employees at all. You are not worth a single cent to them. Your opinion or input / experience matters 0%
Pros
Whatever doesn't kill you makes you stronger
Cons
Client comes first, they don't care about thier employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 20NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A 20 Year employee and glad to leave
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD3 March 2018
MSS is the left over corpse of Chubb Security with the same top end management with a poor new generation of Business managers. I worked for them for 20 years. Guards are not backed up and the pay is amongst the lowest in the industry. I saw the light and left due to them losing a number of contracts and I plan never to work them again. I'm now $15,000 better off a year now working for an independent Security Contractor who enjoys staff input and backs it's staff in every situation.
Pros
Co workers
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 62No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toxic Work Culture
Security Guard (Current Employee) –  Townsville QLD1 March 2018
Majority of the team are nice to work with, however, there's repeated and evident corruption and preferential treatment for certain employees who breaches security guidelines without receiving any kind of punishment, and the workplace bullying is a chronic issue which has never been addressed as employees are targeted and ridiculed for speaking up.
Pros
Plenty of work
Cons
Toxic work culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 42No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work at.
Operations Coordinator and Branch Manager (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD5 December 2017
Good company to work for. Advancement opportunities can be limited. Management caring and understand and are an open door management team. The is opportunity for employee input in to the way the company is run and the direction they are headed in.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 27Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Opportunity, Poor Management with Careless Attitude
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC4 December 2017
Cant believe I still work for this company. If you have good communication and literacy and can hold a conversation don't work for MSS. If you are brain dead, have no initiative, ambition or cruising to retirement and are happy to live with ever changing goalposts then they are the perfect employer.

I have worked hard, have lots of experience completed a significant amount of training but cannot even raise a response to transfer applications away from a very basic job. I am told by MSS HR and Management that external applicants get first preference (WTF !!). The recent Vic & Tas EBA was a whitewash where some existing sites were classed as new so wages were kept down - and the marshmallow union agreed ??

SOP says you cant communicate directly with the client but the client demands it or you are removed from site. MSS want client money so won't defend guards. Supervisor wants a job with client so does their bidding. 4 week Rosters come out on last day of roster so no advance notice. Only benefit is at least MSS still pay overtime but you get rostered directly from days to nights to days with no concern of fatigue. Then MSS crack it when you point out you cant work 72hours in a row.

Stay away
Pros
Going home at end of day
Cons
Everything - MSS should be ashamed
Was this review helpful?Yes 68No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace with excellent support
Revenue Protection Senior Officer/Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Perth WA26 September 2017
Supervising a team of up to forty officers at any one given shift and up to sixty officers on public holidays. Prior to start of shift was briefing to officers on safety and on roster placement of duties ie; train riding services or fare gate monitoring. During the shifts were to inspect and welfare checks on officers on allocated locations and stations. The experience I gained in this position was immeasurable in knowledge and experience in the security industry. The MSS Security management was always very supportive of new initiatives and ideas especially in safety. The most challenging part of the position was filling in vacant shifts especially on public holidays where at times would leave certain trains or fare gates unattended. This posed to be a massive challenge for management until a resolution was found. this was a great position as once again the best part of this role was offering customer service to passengers utilising the rail network.
Pros
Great management always very supportive in taking on new ideas and initiatives
Cons
Can be challenging dealing with either highly induced drug or alcohol intoxicated passengers
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 18Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
money is good but management is poor.
Aviation Protection Officer (Former Employee) –  Melbourne Airport VIC22 September 2017
favors people who are favorite of the managers. There is no consideration for hard work. Regardless how much effort you put in you are just another employee who can be replaced
Was this review helpful?Yes 45No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very bad company stay away people!!
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Sydney Harbour NSW14 September 2017
I worked on the sydney harbour bridge for about 5 months and it was the worst ever experience i have ever faced in my life .

4 on 4 off 2 days - 2 nights sleeping pattern always stuffed up always tired . Forced to stand in your position in the rain all night with the controller watching your every move , rain hail or shine was always forced to stand with no shelter at all for 12 long hours !

Low pay aswell and no management !

I dont know how i lasted 5 months , im so happy to be away from it .

Be warned people stay away !
Pros
Going home
Cons
Arriving to worl knowing that you have to come back tomorrow .
Was this review helpful?Yes 57No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Different
Customer Service and conflict resolution (Current Employee) –  Canberra ACT28 August 2017
On a typical day welcome staff in the morning and then say goodbye in the afternoon, each day is slightly different to the last with new incidents arising daily that need handling. you seem to always pick up a thing or 2 to help you along.
Management are there to support you as long as you abide by their rules.
The hardest part of the Job is being asked to do things that are not part of your role.
The most enjoyable part of the Job is the positive interaction with most staff members at your site.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely poor management who bully staff.
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Bond University QLD19 March 2017
Ex shopping centre guards or disgraced former police officers employed in managerial positions - low hourly rate - only training is via tool boxes, no face 2 face training. They send training modules to ur personal email address, 2 complete at home in ur own time. Discriminate against staff that they inheritate from companies that lose thier contract to MSS. Employ staff that are incompetent and expect existing staff to train them. When they are trained existing staff are bullied or set up, until they leave.
Pros
Nil
Cons
Management are ex shopping centre guards & have no real security experience.
Was this review helpful?Yes 40NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company, do not work for!
Security Guard (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC19 February 2017
Absolutely a terrible company to work for, honestly do not recommend. A typical day you can expect negative criticism from management even though you follow the standard operating procedures. Ridiculded, harrassed and bullied are a few things you are mostly going to expect from day to day working for them.

Payments are very often messed up (underpaid of course) and it's quite complicated to work out how they pay when viewing the payslips.

Training is so inadequet as you are thrown in the deep end and you are unsure of what to do when it hits the fan.

YOU have been warned and read other reviews and I bet you can see the same demoninator.
Pros
Finish time so you can go home.
Cons
Terrible management, ground hog day repeat the same day over and over again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 55NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a job pay's the bills.
Security Officer Duties (Current Employee) –  Perth WA23 January 2017
Day at work can be boring or have to deal with anti social people.

What I have learnt is nothing just there for the money until I find a better job.

Management don't care.

Culture of work place different people from different places.

Hardest part is going to work.

Most enjoyable of work is going home.
Pros
Money
Cons
dealing with people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 48No 4Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disgusting management
Defence Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Townsville QLD14 January 2017
If you want to work in a work place that does not care about your well being and only care about their brown noses then go ahead.

- Minimum wage
- Bullies
- Management who don't care

Trust me you can find better work anywhere else this is a terrible company
Was this review helpful?Yes 84No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and supportive company
Security Manager (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC9 November 2016
MSS Security is a great company to work for. Very supportive management. Decent pay rates. Good worksites. Flexible leave arrangements. Work life balance.
Pros
Job advancement for talented individuals
Cons
Shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 37Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away from MSS if you would like to be treated fairly and with respect
Aviation Protection Officer (Former Employee) –  QLD27 October 2016
One of the worst companies I've ever worked for.
Management simply does not care about staff and treats them like replaceable numbers and dumb sheep.
No proper training, never any advancement opportunities given and very unfair in their judgement.
Some staff were great, but all suffered the sluggish and very ignorant management style.
Payments are very often messed up (underpaid of course) and it's quite complicated to work out how they pay when viewing the payslips.
It's alright for those who have no career in mind and have no ambition but are happy to serve with a smile even if being treated like a child. Okay for elderly people and retirees also.
Nothing for people who are well educated, smart, ambitious and like to be treated with honesty and respect- don't even bother applying.
The amount of lies I and many of my colleagues have experienced in that company is just disheartening. You are promised a lot but once you're in, things change. Constant staff turnover and management changes don't make it any easier.
Bullying is a daily problem in some areas and even though some staff try to help, management simply does not care, it's all about profitability, nothing else.
I was told by my supervisor that "they" (managers) absolutely don't care about me or my colleagues or any of our problems (work related) as we are just numbers that can easily be replaced at any time.
As a normal staff member you are not allowed to speak to management but address the supervisor. Should you or your colleague ever be bullied by your supervisor, don't even bother trying to get the manager's
  more... attention- they will not give a stuff about you as you and side with the supervisor as you are much easier to replace being "just a number".
For fairness sake I will say that it may be different in different states, but in QLD MSS is simply NOT a good company to work for until they start caring about their employees better and develop a genuine mutual respect for their staff.
  less
Pros
boring but easy jobs
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 68No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and supportive
Patrol Officer / Senior Control room operator (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW18 July 2016
Started shift patrolling the metropolitan area of Sydney and found that very rewarding and sometimes challenging due to the various suburbs patrolled

When I was promoted to the Control room, computer skills were learnt , monitoring alarms and alerting the relevant patrol officers to respond to the premises and re set alarms

Management were very supportive in my role as both patrol man and senior radio operator

Co workers were friendly and professional in all aspects of the job and we all worked as a team both in and out of the job

Hardest part of the job, particularly in the Control room were the electrical storms as they caused numerous false alarms which had to be acknowledged and then responded too

Most enjoyable part of the job was the camaraderie within the team and working for such a professional company
Pros
Made a lot of good friends
Cons
Un roadworthy patrol cars
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 18Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
"Biggest mistake"
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Townsville QLD24 June 2016
A typical day of work, you can expect to be abused,sworn at,ridiculed bullied,harrassed and backstabbed.And this is just from some of your fellow workers.Hardest part of job is dealing with some of your fellow workers.Management are aware of the morale and goings on,but either except it or "put it in the to "HARD TO DO BASKET"Wouldnt be surprised if a few of the workers are on anti-anxiety/depression medication."CANT WAIT TILL I LEAVE"
Pros
Finish time-so you can go home.
Cons
Knowing you have to turn up again.
Was this review helpful?Yes 89No 6Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at MSS Security. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 96 reviews
516
422
323
214
121

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
3.0Salary/Benefits
2.6Job Security/Advancement
2.6Management
2.7Culture