nbn™ Employee Reviews

Found 48 reviews matching the search See all 56 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and process oriented organisation
Core & IP Security Engineer (Former Employee) –  North Ryde NSW28 December 2017
Since I am in operations 2nd level support , we used to get non standard jobs , so it will be always with some challenge involved.

Some time we have seen management decisions based on process are more important when there is ambiguity on technical reasons , that most of the time resolved the issues in the meeting where different stake holders are involved.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Possibly the worst job I ever had
Fibre optic Internet Installer (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW17 October 2017
The NBN network is a mess.There are more defective network connections than functional network connections. During my time there I was a contractor. I was barely paid and I wouldn't recommend NBN to anybody looking for work.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced work place
Logistics Supervisor QLD (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD27 September 2017
This is a very fast and high levels of stress.
There is a good culture within the ranks but more attention could be given from the management.
There could be a better look at hiring more people to ease stress of peoples work day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive work place always learning new skills on a daily basis
Installer (CGA) (Former Employee) –  Launceston TAS2 July 2017
A typical day working on the Nbn was very demanding but very rewarding. I learnt a lot in 2 years working locally and interstate with a family like team. I managed to work my way up from on the shovel to team leader. The most enjoyable part of the job was achieving what other Nbn crews said was to difficult.
Pros
very good wage fly in fly out flexible boss and team
Cons
being away from home for 21days straight as i have a family
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
every day is a challenge
Major Incident Management Senior Lead (Current Employee) –  Hobart TAS10 April 2017
* We manage a great variety of complex major incidents ranging from Payroll outage 1 day before payday to Cyclone Debbie.
* Managing a Technical bridge requires the utmost people skills, we need to extract information from Technical engineers, Then create a report in a non-technical manner for the senior management to understand.
* Management skills are limited to managing Technical bridges of up to 70 people, this takes a great deal of managerial authority and a great deal of knowledge with confidence.
* Workplace culture has to be at the core of the team and individual
* The hardest part of my job would be to ensure I have correctly understood the Technical engineers and architects, I have translated the information correctly in my communications prior to submitting to the wider business.
* Most rewarding part of my current role would be when service is fully restored in the shortest time.
Pros
I decide if i work from home or office
Cons
Long shift 12 hours interrupts Family life
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work as contractor
Architect (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC26 February 2017
Good place to work as contractor. Acceptable culture and some interesting projects to work on. Would definitely work for this employer again in the future.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big opportunities and challenges with the world watching on and complaining
FTTx Designer (Current Employee) –  Sydney, Australia8 February 2017
Nbn has a can do and a must do culture. Most people are ex private industry which is extraordinary for a government (corporatised) entity of this size and funds. It creates a more commercial feel and urgency than most government departments and organisations.
Pros
Great place if you happy with the position
Cons
There is quite low accountability but recent management changes seem to be tackling this
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent opportunities and work experience with nbn
Linesman (Current Employee) –  Perth WA12 December 2016
Easy and flexible working hours
cooperative and easy going coworkers
better salary and paid leaves
work life balance
constructive feedback and opportunities to learn more
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall Good experience
Business Analyst (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW28 August 2016
Overall Good learning experience. Got opportunities to learn new skills related my domain.
Learned Cultural differences and handle conflict situation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive high paced environment - ONE TEAM
Operational Capability Specialist (Current Employee) –  pennant hills nsw11 May 2016
company wide overhaul to address one team mentality moving to our KPI's and delivery objectives of reaching 2 million happy homes by 2020.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 10Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for Telco and New technologies in industry.
Sr Technical Consultant (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC9 May 2016
I've been to NBN for almost 3 years and it's been very good journey.
New technologies are introduced every time and marketing aggressively.

All the best for future of NBN and Australia.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 10Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable workplace complete with daily needs provided
Consultant Project Planner (Former Employee) –  North Sydney NSW20 March 2016
A lot of people coming from different backgrounds develop a friendly culture in the work environment. Really supportive towards new employer like me
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 8Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  melbourne1 March 2016
maintain security of a secure site, how to deal with contractors and office staff ,use computer for data entry cant say any more government site.
Pros
great to inhance your skills
Cons
no work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNo 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
never a dull moment
Project Officer/Manager (Current Employee) –  Rivervale, WA10 November 2015
NBN is a very fast paced place to work with the ever changing technology culture.We encounter problems on a minute by minute basis as there is no one else in Australia that has taken on a Project in the scale NBN has going on -
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 7Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kept me focused
Senior Subject Matter Expert MDU/Assistant PM (Current Employee) –  North Sydney, NSW20 September 2015
The job was always focus, goal orientated, and progression was always in the hands of myself. I always knew I what we were doing at least a few days in advance.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big Projects to deals with.
Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Sydney22 May 2015
Systematic work approach, goal and result oriented management. Good communication between different levels of the management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun
Construction Worker Level (Former Employee) –  Canberra, ACT25 March 2015
Typical day at work would be opening up network pits, feeding a snake through to the house then pulling the fibre through and terminating at the house.

Learned how to pull through cables and how to terminate (still cant terminate without supervision)

Co workers were very good because one was a mate i went to high school with and the other was my boss.

Hardest part of the job was definitely terminating the end of the optical fibre!

Most enjoyable part was just getting stuff done and finishing what we had too in time, hardly ever got called back to jobs and that was a rea l confidence booster.
Pros
Most things about the job
Cons
nothing!
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 17Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience.
SPLUNK OPERATIONAL LEAD (Former Employee) –  sydney13 March 2015
I have learned more in depth of Splunk.I had good management and colleagues.They were friendly and learnt to built well-planned project.
Had an opportunity to increase my business skills from my previous employment.
Pros
Work and life balance is very good
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Learn
Solutions Architect (Current Employee) –  Melbourne, VIC10 March 2015
Fast Paced with lots of pressure to meet deadlines.
Extremely talented group of people.
Job satisfaction can be achieved by acknowledging you part of the biggest infrastructure project in the history of Australia
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Fiber Designer (Current Employee) –  Sydney1 January 2015
This is a good place to work where I can develop my skills and learn everyday. The current role is mix of technical and management responsibility which help me to grow as a technical professional.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at nbn™. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 56 reviews
521
414
314
24
13

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture