NEC Australia Employee Reviews

Showing all 19 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
World Wide Travel at NEC
Systems Engineer (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC24 March 2019
I spent over 20 years with NEC Australia in the Melbourne suburb of Mulgrave. At the beginning we were approximately 150 people, growing to over 3000 and falling in numbers later.
I had the opportunity to work with the most sophisticated digital and fiber optic telecommunication equipment what the Japanese giant NEC had to offer.
In 1991 I was promoted to domestic, later to international sales and marketing. That is when the fun started! I travelled to Australian Capital cities, regional centers on jet and to remote areas on 10 seater planes. I travelled from South Africa to North America to major cities. I travelled in Africa and Asia to places which are hardly shown on the map.
Every tender submission was a challenge. Every project was a challenge. Every job gave great job satisfaction!
Pros
Excellent working relationship, lot of travel
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recruitment process was terrible
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD29 October 2018
The recruiter HS from melbourne clearly showed the culture of the company

Would never want to work for this type of company that doesnt appreciate peoples time
Cons
Recruiter showed comlanys culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Chaotic, badly managed
Software Developer (Current Employee) –  South Australia20 September 2018
Joined when the previous team quit and I was their lone replacement. I got handed over everything from the last team members in the days they had left. NEC made no attempt to add new members to the team besides add some staff from the bench to the team who didn't have any direct experience. They made me the expert for supporting all their national clients in an area I told them I had no experience in and now I have to cop ridiculous deadlines from the team who left, clients from about 8 consultants who all left, and sales teams across the country trying to send more work my way. I'm looking forward to handing in my resignation. Many people have recently been made redundant or just quit and even though I've just joined I've decided to quit too and look elsewhere.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Noisy office, inept management, being lumped with a team's work but for one new person and getting no real help
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Desktop Engineer & Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Darwin NT13 August 2018
A good experience and the work took me to parts of Australia I have never seen before.
Working with indigenous was a fun part getting to know where they live and their culture.
Getting to work in some of some the remotest part of Australia.
Supporting over 26,000 users via the various Government departments
Pros
Good wages
Cons
Not much
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NEC was a 4 month short term contract position
SERVICE DESK ANALYST (Former Employee) –  Wollongong NSW5 January 2018
I learned a lot about the Service Desk Analyst role while working there. I worked with a great bunch of people with a lot of them coming from ANZ which was my previous role.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Docklands VIC18 May 2017
This company does not care for its employees or it's customers. It makes reactionary decisions rather than be proactive.
There is no chance of advancement within this organization.
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Continually Changing at the Top
National Services Manager (Former Employee) –  Australia19 February 2017
A good organization that has seen a number of changes at the top.

With each change comes uncertainty and at times a lack of transparency.

Continual changes in strategies and operations made it, at times, difficult to provide a consistent level of service.

Great people who are dedicated and loyal to the clients is a big win.
Pros
Good brand
Cons
Long hours, Not overally supportive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent working environment, and collegues
Credit Controller (Former Employee) –  Mulgrave, Vic 315023 August 2016
Collection of outstanding debts from Customer Accounts.
Maintenance of Customer Master Files in SAP, and open accounts to policies and procedures
Allocate all EFT deposits & other banking, and reconcile Bank Statement on a daily basis.
Run hold report listing, Release orders where appropriate, and Report customers on hold.
Maintain End User accounts, and make inactive when required.
Complete and update outstanding AR report on monthly basis.
Reconciliation and completion of AR General Ledger accounts on a monthly basis.
Lodge debt collection action with Debt Collection Agency
Pros
Excellent Time Management
Cons
Large outstanding debts
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good Management
Technical Consultant (Former Employee) –  Adelaide SA8 April 2016
NEC Australia is a great company to work for. Both the employees and managers are fantastic people. The professional services team are all highly skilled in their area of expertise and are willing to share that knowledge with new employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Operational Management of nationwide ICT infrastructure
TECHNICAL OPERATIONS MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Townsville City QLD29 October 2015
Managed over 100 servers in 22 location around Australia.
Supported over 2000 end users in terms of software and hardware.
Worked with a 99.5% service level agreement.
Worked in a virtual team of 10 spread across Australia.
Was provided with Genesys, Symantec and Nice System training.
Given a Skillsoft and Books 24x7 login. Completed 33 courses.
Traveled around Australia for implementation projects.
Project work often meant night and weekend long hours.
I implemented nationwide server and software roll-outs.
I designed systems to keep up high availability of systems.
Pros
Rewarded for efforts
Cons
Most days had overtime.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 6Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked there for many years, however when they decide on the day to make redundancies, there is no hope. I gave blood to this company for what?
Sales Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Sydney7 October 2015
It was a good company to work for, however they do not provide enough training or support to their staff to ensure job security. Good luck to those still working there!!
Pros
Great conferences & travel
Cons
Long hours; Some management use their power unwisely.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work and product training
Electronics Repair Technician (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW3 May 2015
Good company to work the employees are nice but there's no chance of becoming permanent after working for several years because I'm just a contract employee from job agency.
Pros
Good place to work and learn about their products
Cons
Job security.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lot more to go
Senior Server Engineer (Current Employee) –  Darwin NT 082017 March 2015
Follows ITIL

I learned about working culture, process.

Management is so far ok.

Co workers are friendly and helpful.

Meeting SLA

Enjoyable part is the team work
Pros
Job Security
Cons
Process needs improvement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace
Support Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Perth30 September 2014
Gives you an opportunity to grow and learn.

Great team members and management..
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of Deployments
Executive Desktop Support Engineer (Former Employee) –  Brisbane, QLD28 March 2014
A small team of 10 engineers spread out in different locations in Brisbane. A fun dynamic team always working well with one another. Enjoyable most when we do big projects together as one the incentives were good and two the process of work was fun.
Pros
Great Team
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Darwin NT22 February 2014
Client focused, friendly and relaxed working environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 8Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun team
System Support (Former Employee) –  Perth, WA7 October 2013
Amongst our smaller team of about 8 we gave support to the Pronto Package, I loved working within this team. There were times to laugh and if we needed to vent then we could do that to.

We also dealt a lot with the Pronto Project Managers who were working on Projects for our Customers. As these guys were more experienced than as (they started on the support desk) where always really helpful with any advice/assistance we might need.
Pros
great team
Cons
can be stressful around EOFY (but to be expected in finance of course!)
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well managed multi-national company
Department Manager (Former Employee) –  Melbourne, Victoria, Australia3 December 2012
If you put in your time...and more, you advance rapidly. A Japanese run company that respected hard work and honesty.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at NEC Australia. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 19 reviews
52
411
33
21
12

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.6Salary/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.3Culture