Newcrest Mining Limited Employee Reviews

Found 37 reviews matching the search See all 71 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helpfull people to work with.
Mine Training Officer (Former Employee) –  Orange NSW29 October 2018
worked in a small training team which helped each other we knew each others strengths and weaknesses. Some days were very long especially on induction day.
Pros
meeting people everyday and having discussions with them.
Cons
long hours sometimes
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company to work for
Warehouse Officer (Current Employee) –  Telfer WA25 October 2018
great roster 8/6, great mess and wet mess. Pool is great when its hot, and thats all the time. People are really nice, get the experience of living in the desert.
Pros
swimming pool
Cons
some night shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
telfer site
Mine Technician (Former Employee) –  Telfer WA12 July 2018
telfer site is a big site good camp, I went there as a truck opp and by the time i finished in the 10 years of being there left as a all rounder opp, work place culture was good easy to get a long with. The best part of the job was the roster 2/2
Pros
the roster
Cons
leaving
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Full on no time to to get your head around things
Truck Driver/Labourer (Current Employee) –  Orange NSW22 April 2018
The mines are always on the go with new things happening all the time but can get a bit monotonous if you do the same thing day in and day out. Not much chance of moving higher up if you are on a casual work.
Pros
You get some great people to work with
Cons
Long hours, night shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Environnement de travail positif et propice a la productivité
Comptable (Former Employee) –  Afrique -Australie13 March 2018
Entreprise majeures dans le secteur des mines avec beaucoup de possibilités d'avancement. belle culture d'entreprise et employeur de choix dans les mines.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Long hole driller (Former Employee) –  Cadia NSW7 January 2018
Meet a lot of good mates there shame I can’t stay but that’s mining sometimes you have to move on and see the world I would recommend the mine site to anyone interested in working there
Pros
Close to home and good roster
Cons
Nil
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and outstanding camps with well equipped gym.
Industrial Trainee as Process Engineer (Former Employee) –  Port Moresby23 September 2017
The work place culture is absolute fine and staff and the management are really helpful.

The company provides training to up skill and most import of all is the company looks after it's employees.

I really enjoyed for my three months industrial training.
Pros
Everything provided. FIFO
Cons
Breaks to should our needs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work very strong on safety
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Telfer WA22 September 2017
Awesome place to work .. love it so much I don't wanna leave much improved site.. GM is a decent guy and strives for safety above anything else .. he truely cares about the staff
Pros
Food is very good and in abundance
Cons
Yeh long shifts but hey u get used to it
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place.
Mill Technician / Cleaner - Cadia Valley Operation (Current Employee) –  Orange NSW5 June 2017
There is a strong culture in safety. Its a welcoming thought that with all the policies and procedures in place it help guides me through may day to day activities. Brings me home safe to my family each day.
Pros
work out doors
Cons
Winter
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safety is a strong focus
Electrical Instrumental Technician (Former Employee) –  Orange NSW9 May 2017
Site location is in the beautiful valley of Cadia at short distance from Orange, which only 3 hours of road travel from Sydney.
Safety is maintained at a high level, but will become more challenging with contractors becoming the main source of labour.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Field/Core/Lab Technician (Former Employee) –  Telfer WA4 January 2017
Telfer is a hot dry place where you would die without water at least that was free and abundant
the management was a joy as long as 1 particular person was not working
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very proffessional and dynamic working environment
Apprentice Electrician (Current Employee) –  Orange NSW4 July 2016
NML is the safest mine in Australia to work in with lots of opportunities to grow within the company. The most enjoyable part of working for NML is the high level of professionalism and development newcrest has to offer.
Pros
First Class World Training
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good site to work at.
Driller (Former Employee) –  Telfer WA27 April 2016
People on the ground were the best asset. Drills and equipment were older than most sites. Now most areas are run by contract labour.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very heavey work load with unrealistic tasking .
Underground Geological Technician / Trainer (Current Employee) –  Perth WA1 April 2016
To provide technical support and training to the Underground Technical Support team by completing allocated tasks associated with the following disciplines:
• Geology
• Geotechnical
• Ventilation
• Drill & Blast
• Survey
Pros
Some interesting tasking .
Cons
Unrealistic tasking covering 4 different Departments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work if you have a mortage
underground technician (Former Employee) –  cadia valley operations, Orange NSW28 March 2016
Fantastic pay rates for pernament employees. I learned all that was offered and became leading hand with nearly 20 workers under my supervision.
Pros
excellent wages, excellent training packages
Cons
12 hour shifts, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good crew to work with.
Mobile Plant Operator / Mobile Plant Trainer (Current Employee) –  Telfer WA3 January 2016
Operate haul truck efficiently. Input at daily meeting and safety report. Complete on daily basis equipment prestarts, See stop control, hazard reports, peer group observation.
Management approachable and listens to my observations.
I work with an excellent and cohesive crew which makes my job easy.
Pros
Good Roster and excellent wages
Cons
Could not find any
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great bunch of people from all walks of life and from all parts of Australia.
DUMP TRUCK OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Perth, WA16 December 2015
Wake up at 4:00 am
Hope on bus at 5:00 am
Safety meeting at 5:30 am
Start driving trucks at 6:00 am
Lunch and refuel through middle of the day.
Hop on the bus home and be fed showered and asleep by 8 pm

Rinse and repeat for 1 week then swap over for night shift.
Pros
Free Lunches, Free Bedding, Free Training, Great Wages.
Cons
Long Hours, Cold Mornings.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good working enviroment
Contract/Temp (Former Employee) –  Telfer WA29 October 2015
awesome place good people. safety very high, besides the heat all in all still a great place to be working would recommend anybody that applies to work there will enjoy it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Maintenance Boilermaker (Former Employee) –  Mt Perry Qld9 October 2015
Good company. Dirty work. They provide a great deal of training you can get all the tickets you need. Management is excellent. Great safety record. Everyone looks out for each other.
Pros
Good workmates. Safety first
Cons
No accommation supplied
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team and environment
IT Applications Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Melbourne19 July 2015
Working for Newcrest was enjoyable. I was in a good team with friendly co-workers. I learned a lot about project management, sharepoint, servicedesk and SAP. I will recommend Newcrest to others.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Newcrest Mining Limited. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 71 reviews
518
429
318
25
11

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.7Culture

Newcrest Mining Limited Reviews by Location