NSW Police Force Employee Reviews

Found 78 reviews matching the search See all 82 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy talking to differrent diverse commumity on face to face basis.
General Administration Support officer (Former Employee) –  Parramatta9 July 2019
I learned to be very patient, Communicate, learning to think on your feet. I also learnt how to Manage different personalities by listening to different and very diverse members of the public and their issues everyday.

I enjoyed working for the Local & Childrens courts.

This was the most enjoyable part of my work on a day to day basis.
Pros
working in the Childrens Court
Cons
Not being able to work on full time basis.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable & secure
EXECUTIVE ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Parramatta NSW13 June 2019
Working at Police was an amazing place & culture to work amongst skilled employees.
Security & flexibility
Excellent environment & support
Advancement opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Best Place to work for
Net Developer Analyst (Former Employee) –  Parramatta NSW5 June 2019
The work experience in NSW Police Forces busted my myths about complex work culture in Public Sector.

The team is the best team I ever worked with, and the Project Manager and Executives are so committed to help us achieve the project deliverables, I'd be glad to work with them again, any time :)
Pros
Culture, Work/Life balance, and sense of service, great team members
Cons
No refreshments
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A poor place to work.
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Parramatta NSW21 May 2019
They treat contractors as animals.

They have not plan and no idea how to progress.

Managers are promoted without any skills.

Most permanent staff are unable to perform their jobs.
Pros
Nothing.
Cons
No stability.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
regret working there
Operational Policing Program (Former Employee) –  Parramatta NSW9 May 2019
Uniform Police control everything. Civilian Staff are treated as second rate citizens.

Salary is bottom of mkt, at best. And, as such, they don't get the best staff.

Staff do the bare minimum, just enough to keep their jobs. Thus Programs fail. Therefore, they're so tight it ends up costing them much more.

Lotus notes, cramped working conditions. Low morale
Pros
none
Cons
many
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Admin Clerk (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW25 February 2019
I was in a Civvy Department and was just a temporary worker, but they made me feel very part part of the team, with the odd pommie jokes. Directors and Managers were friendly, we had a nice leaving do when I had to leave to travel the world. I have good memories. I was in the old 14 College Street office. I think I had Medicare but that's about it.
Pros
Friendly staff, informal, great views of Sydney
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
varied and challenging work
Detective Senior Constable (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW2 January 2019
Detective Senior Constable responsible for attending crime scenes, gathering evidence and prosecuting offenders.
Great comradery between peers working in challenging conditions.
Pros
the uniform
Cons
long stressful hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is who you know
Roster Officer (Current Employee) –  Parramatta NSW26 November 2018
Unless you are high up in management you are just pawns to the business managers and those in management positions. There is zero care factor over a persons well being or working and life balance. Too many power drunk individuals running the administrative side of things.

For anyone who was on a temporary contract, I did not see a single person finish their contract, especially those who were not in the "it" groups. Job stability is horrid for admin staff. I would advise against anyone signing up for a temporary role with NSW Police.

Lots of gossip and talking about officers behind their backs and lots of schoolyard behaviours. Other than getting a good salary for what you do, there is no other positive about working at this organisation from an administrative perspective.
Pros
Good salary
Cons
Gossip, bickering, high egos
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nsw police.
SENIOR SERGEANT (Former Employee) –  Campbelltown NSW5 November 2018
working for the NSW Police was very satisfactory and enabled me to learn a large amount of skills. I was also responsible for supervising junior police officers and organising and performing training days for Licensing Staff officers.
Pros
Nil
Cons
12 hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Long term employer
Clerical Officer (Former Employee) –  New South Wales1 October 2018
I was lucky enough to be employed with NSW Police Force for many years in different clerical and administration roles. The training was up to date and ongoing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The NSW Police Band
Musician (Former Employee) –  Stanmore NSW20 September 2018
The NSW Police Band will always be one of the greatest experiences that I have ever enjoyed.

I feel that I am a far better player on all my instruments now than ever before, starting in high school playing the piano for small plays and musicals to playing concerts in Canada and Asia.
Pros
The Joy Of Music Making
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome!
Work Experience Student (Former Employee) –  Campbelltown NSW9 September 2018
Work experience was amazing, all officers from all departments were so willing to talk to us, answer questions and share their personal experiences, had the most amazing week.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful for me
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Tuggerah NSW6 July 2018
Was very proud that I was employed in the first intake of employees on the Central Coast. The training was intense and well delivered, the job was stressful, but the call centre and the staff were as happy and supportive and could be. Just not a job I could leave at the door and go home, my personality and the role did not work together well.
Pros
Great atmosphere
Cons
Stressful calls
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Highly protected information, exposure to a lot of softwares, flexible hours.
Intelligence Analyst - Firearms Squad (Former Employee) –  Paramatta NSW18 April 2018
Working in the NSW Police Force for more than 25 yrs has been a productive, informative and I have gained a range of skills including analytical, computer, leadership, written and oral skills.
Pros
Flexible hours and stressful but laid back work environment.
Cons
Highly protected documents
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Senior Advisory Officer (Secondment) (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW10 April 2018
Interesting place to work. I love the people and the work is always varied. The culture is changing and becoming more female friendly. It is an exciting time to be part of this organisation.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management not professional
ADMINISTRATIVE SUPPORT OFFICER (Former Employee) –  Parramatta NSW27 March 2018
* Slow paced work day.
* Learnt many skills (TRIM, SAP, Fleet Mgt, Customer Service, Flight Booking - always had to take strong initiative for the management to approve for career advancement.
* Un-professional HR management can de-motive a career focus employee. Limited scope for growth for 'Administrative Officers'.
* Irregular 'Performance Management & Appraisal' is not good for career progression.
* Too much emphasis on 'Chain-of-Command'.
* Tall Corporate Structure giving rise to unnecessary duplication leading to inefficient work practice and low productivity.
Pros
Low work pressure
Cons
Job security for Admin Officer vanishing fast.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yes i would like to play the table tennis with workmates
Police Officer (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW20 March 2018
I was planning to become a Australian Police Officers and my dream was to become a police officers. I would like to enjoy the site of NSW police force
Pros
I would like to have a lunch with workmates
Cons
I can work as long as i can
Was this review helpful?YesNo 31Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Career job
Sergeant (Current Employee) –  Penrith NSW7 March 2018
A long term career job, offering a variety of jobs. Travel the state and see sights you wouldn’t normally visit. Deal with situations most never well.
Pros
Nil
Cons
Shift work. Danger
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
NSW Police
Administrative Assistant / Support finance officer (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW24 February 2018
routine work can be done easily
management only became involved f there were
any issues
workplace culture was an easy flow
no hard issues most people were ok and easy to get along with
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
office work
Executive Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW24 February 2018
good place to work people are nice
no advancement, management always on leave
restructuring, staff take on double the workload people on stress
Pros
gym, internal coffee cart
Cons
nil
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at NSW Police Force. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 82 reviews
535
430
312
22
13

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.2Salary/Benefits
3.9Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture