NSW Rural Fire Service Employee Reviews

Showing all 13 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management, full of bullying and harassment
Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Sydney Olympic Park NSW1 May 2019
Bad management with full of bullying and harassment. no technical knowledge for technical managers. managers get recruited internally always through favours. Some managers got restricted even without any competitive assessment. Managers with minimal or no management skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Homebush Bay NSW25 November 2018
I found upper management as beautiful approachable people who have a genuine caring nature. However, casuals/temp/agency staff in the area I was working aren't treated same eg I was told I was the lackie and get the rough end of the stick - which seems to be acceptable behavior.
Pros
good people
Cons
jobs for mates
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Volunteer Firefighter (Former Employee) –  Binnaway NSW16 June 2018
Excellent opportunity to mix with the community and learn a variety of skills and engage in activities one would otherwise not have the opportunity to without being a member of this wonderful organisation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great chance to travel in NSW
Rostered Duty officer far (Current Employee) –  Cobar Nsw20 March 2018
Good place to work. Great oppurtunities to travel all over NSW. I loved living in outback NSW. Great time with the cockies and landowners learning many different jobs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rfs
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Goulburn NSW1 March 2018
was just a volunteer with no pay is the best thing that i am doing like helping people with every call out i go to the hardest part of the job is going to a fire one a 40-50 degree heat
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Disgusting work ethics.
Data Entry and Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Lidcombe NSW22 February 2018
Called my agent and said I was unworthy of having that job due to mistakes on files ... except I had no access to them and the only reason they wanted to fire me was because an older employee was coming back to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard but Rewarding!
Firefighter (Current Employee) –  Inverell NSW7 January 2018
The largest Volunteer Emergency Service in the world! It's not the easiest job in the world but it's by far the most rewarding! Being able to help people in their time of need is something truly special!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Casual Contract Position
Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  Kariong NSW Australia2 October 2017
I find it a little hard to review as although there were a lot of benefits etc to permanent Rural Fire Service employee's I was not one. I worked for an outside company Drake Australia and was employed and paid through Gosford Council.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to volenteer
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Avoca Beach NSW26 February 2017
very diverse, can take you anywhere, no job is the same however is only volenteering.
from your brigade you will respond to many incidents within your local area, ours is in an urban environment so we mostly get house fires, car accidents and assisting paramedics. additionally you will go to other areas to assist with bushfires and large incidents.
Pros
free lunches, visit many new places
Cons
Can be dangerous, many logistics issues
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place
Volunteer/Member (Current Employee) –  Gosford NSW10 January 2017
Volunteer
Each incident is different and cannot be predicted
Excellent volunteer organisation
Community respect is amazing
On call 24/7 via a pager system
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed volunteer work with such a professional organisation
Basic FireFighter (Former Employee) –  Benwerrin2 February 2013
Excellent training base for required skills for job
Team building skills
Pros
life skills training - rewarding
Cons
dangerous enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative and Forward thinking
Coordinator Hotspots Programme (Current Employee) –  Sydney15 June 2012
Working as part of the community planning team has enabled me to be a part of a team that looks at the latest science and technology to inform planning into the future.

I have been fortunate enough to be involved in an award winning community training program and have taken part in additional training programs such as adult facilitator and fire weather behaviour.

Work atmosphere is great, with a real team culture.
Pros
1 hr lunches
Cons
limited permanent jobs - no security
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at NSW Rural Fire Service. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 13 reviews
57
43
31
20
12

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.5Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
4.1Management
3.8Culture

NSW Rural Fire Service Reviews by Location