Optus Employee Reviews

Found 134 reviews matching the search See all 172 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Average place to work. Reasonable salary
Credit change management Lead (Former Employee) –  Macquarie Park NSW16 April 2019
stale hostile type of organisation. Situation terrible. Work / life balance ok
Salary is above average( maybe because of the location.
Silo teams. May cross over of functions
I am a little anti the company ad I was fired for something my bossss boss does often
Pros
Nothing to do just work
Cons
Terrible location
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best job I have ever had
Sales Assistant (Former Employee) –  Orange NSW10 April 2019
OPTUS takes great care of its staff. Great perks, great team, great management . There is a lot of opportunity for advancement within this company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People Culture and Oppurtunities
PRODUCT DEVELOPMENT & DELIVERY MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Macquarie Park NSW31 March 2019
Optus Singtel is a great to work, learn and grow. I started as Network Engineer and progressed to Program Manager.
Overall Senior management is very matured and collaborating. You get to work with very diverse team across the business that can be challenging in the beginning but it can also be a great thing to learn and grow.
Pros
Employee discount on most products and onsite Gym
Cons
Location for some people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Senior Hadoop admin & MySQL DBA (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW18 February 2019
Good Company , nice benefits.

Nice Off CBD location

Flexible working environment.

Nice transport facilities for commute from various parts of Sydney CBD
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company and working environment
Software Test Engineer (Former Employee) –  sydney14 February 2019
Very fancy office and work life balance is good!!
Pros

- Great discounts on phone/internet plans
- Gym inside the office
- Casual attire
- Decent work/life balance

Cons

- Management constantly changing
- Forced to take too much leave (2 weeks!)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Started my accounting career
Assistant Accountant (Former Employee) –  Parramatta NSW7 February 2019
This is the company I where I started my accounting career. Great people, busy company with many sales reps and managers. I learnt working the real Australian work environment from this company. I learnt working in big group with many sales reps, channel managers and state managers.

I have learnt to use different kinds of softwares including Salesforce. Got greater exposure on calculating BAS, IAS, Asset ledger reconciliation and hire purchase, bank accounts etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic company but too many shareholder board members at that time
Finance Director (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW11 January 2019
Really so long ago that it is probably irrelevant now.
Ownership and board structure totally changed

One major shareholder now is probably a good thing.
As number 2 Telco in Ajustralia has performed well
Pros
High Super contributions
Cons
Long hours at senior management level
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day to day work is enjoyable
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Macquarie Park NSW16 December 2018
Day to day work is enjoyable however the company sometimes forgets about the people within the business and also about the goals they are trying to achieve - profit over customer service.
Pros
Employee Discounts
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Optus Review
Process Analyst (Former Employee) –  Macquarie Park NSW3 December 2018
Advice to Management
Lots of talk on transformation but no real action. Top management talk about strategy, middle management seem to cover up and operations deal with real issues and inefficiencies that go nowhere when escalated. Garbage in is Garbage out
Pros
Great Campus, Childcare, Gym, Work Flexibility and a variety of Food options
Cons
Very Silo’d, unstable restructure every 6 months and cost cutting, lots of inefficiency, poor skill set of people in roles, very political and not a very happy environment under middle management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great telco to work for
digital marketing (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW12 November 2018
they have a great team and good culture. They have on site gym and other entertainment dos on the campus all year around sych as music, gaming, yoga, fitness etc whatever you are into. very diverse culture and people there are genuinely nice
Pros
great campus and working culture
Cons
hard to commute
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place if you are in the right position
Technical Services Manager (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW5 November 2018
depending on the area you work Optus it is either great or a lot of hard work

Can be a fun place to work if you are in the right area, terrible if you are in a high-pressure delivery area

Management can be inconsistent
job security is also poor
They restructure often
They tend to pay above market
Pros
reasonable campus
Cons
unreliable management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sad that they offshored employees
Call Centre Customer Service and Technical Support (Former Employee) –  Mawson Lakes31 October 2018
This was a great technical support role, and now all off shored. It was a great job while it lasted. So sad. If this job came back onshore I would do it again.
Pros
Helping people was easy and being appreciated
Cons
Terrible management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unbearable Senior Management
Network Engineer (Current Employee) –  Melbourne VIC28 October 2018
CEO literally called employees "Vermins" LIVE during his weekly sermon.

All of the senior management is so far removed from reality that it has stopped being funny.
Pros
All other places you would have worked at would look better in comparison.
Cons
Crazy Senior Leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenger Brand
Finance Manager (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW26 October 2018
Optus is well-known for its challenger spirit and innovation. Their Macquarie Park campus beings unity and synergy across different functions. People are generally very friendly at Optus, and we worked as a team!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Organisation with significant options for your career
Associate Director (Former Employee) –  Macquarie Park NSW8 October 2018
I worked for Optus in various sales roles for over 18 years. The organisation is dynamic and the move to build a media business on top of core mobility means there is a huge scope for career development and progression.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Opportunities
Project Manager (Former Employee) –  NSW7 October 2018
Good opportunities available for personal development. But will not give opportunities for promotions. Company culture is changing and becoming harder to work.
Pros
Good opportunities for personal development
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Senior Manager Demand, Engagement & Release (Former Employee) –  Macquarie Park NSW12 September 2018
Optus is a fun lace to work and has lots of opportunities for career advancement. However as the company goes through its transformation you will see new roles and job functions arise and some become obsolete. Overall a good place to for.
Pros
BBQ's, Drinks, Melbourne cup, Xmas, yearly parties, etc
Cons
salary grade low, difficult location to reach, no investment to fix the broken before investing in the new.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A terrific Australian telco to work for
State Manager - Direct Sales (Former Employee) –  Australia6 September 2018
A terrific Australian telco to work for. Great brand, great product range for Small and Medium Business. Culture was always great Plenty of time invested on developing employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't even try
Sales Consultant (Current Employee) –  Perth WA1 September 2018
Typical day serving old people that need help using their phone. Learn't a lot about selling different categories. Management is useless, no one in the company has a plan b when systems and promotions get stuffed up.

Basically told we have to fight for sales to get the hours we wan't. Everyone hates each other, workplace culture is bad and I would not recommend working for Optus.

The enjoyable part was finding solutions for customers and making sure they left the store happy.
Pros
Nothing
Cons
No work balance, Fighting for hours & stuff up systems
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Optus - the Telecommunications company who only care about new customers
DIGITAL SALES CONSULTANT (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC26 August 2018
I spent 17 months in a sales role focussing on needs based rather than hard sales. I created customers coming into the business with the best customer service but because I wasn't selling 12" iPad Pro's little old ladies for the grandchildren I was not seen as a great consultant. I was mistreated by management and then never paid out all of my pay when I resigned.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Optus. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 172 reviews
550
466
338
29
19

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.8Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture