PCYC Queensland Employee Reviews

Showing all 33 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend
CSO (Former Employee) –  Midland WA29 April 2019
Would not recomend this company.
Because it's a not for profit the money only seems to be going into managers and very few programs.
The students that came through Midland were disengaged and often had issues, these I will not discuss.
I don't think there is enough care by management towards these children, I realise they can be very difficult at times, but to pick and choose who you like and pay attention to is ridiculous.
Pros
casual staff and kids were terrific
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yes good place to work
Childcare (Former Employee) –  Queensland27 February 2019
Love my job here and wish Sydney had more place like this for youth this is the best job I have ever had in my life ..I wish I could be still there I love the place
Pros
Free gym
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
challenging but rewarding.
Assistant Educator (Former Employee) –  Townsville QLD7 January 2019
i loved my time working at The Upper Ross PCYC. the staff were amazing to work along side and i learned so many new skills and had the chance to grow in my abilities. i was given amazing support by all staff, families and children that i had the privilege to work with.
Pros
Amazing Children
Cons
Non air conditioned working space during summer months
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team environment
Cloncurry Finance Officer/Branch Support Officer (Former Employee) –  Cloncurry QLD12 August 2018
Great place to work, something different every day, a chance to give back to the community and help children grow.
The youth programs are a great way for kids to relate to each other and learn social and personal skills. It is very rewarding to see the at risk kids completely change their lives and give back to the organisation that helps them.
Pros
Great work environment
Cons
low pay rate
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with, very supportive and proactive.
Pullenvale Outside School Hours Care (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD24 July 2018
Early starts and late finishes with lots of time in between. Great indoor/outdoor time. Hardest part of the job was catering to so many different ages of children.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Bundaberg QLD28 March 2018
It was pretty clean and nice, it was full of happy people and the staff were extremely delightful. It was almost always clean and it always had a real relaxed vibe. Over all it wasn’t a bad place at all especially for all ages
Pros
Break whenever needed
Cons
Sweat from gym
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very exciting and challenging work environment, lovely staff and awesome manager
Branch Support Officer (Former Employee) –  Mount Isa QLD2 October 2017
The staff are awesome, great work environment and always challenged with new tasks. Great place for learning in a fast paced environment. Lovely manager and great co-workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
Before and after school care educator (Former Employee) –  Shailer Park QLD25 September 2017
Friendly staff always there to lend a hand, amazing opportunity to work you way up higher in the job, flexable hours mean you can run errands between shifts.
Pros
Friendly environment to work in.
Cons
Split shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PCYC is a great club for all events, especially for School Age Care.
OSHC Assistant (Current Employee) –  Queensland8 August 2017
A typical day at working within the school age care- BSC, ASC, & VAC Care, is great and I enjoy every single day. The staff within the club are wonderful and welcoming.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good team environment to work in
Child Care Support Officer (Former Employee) –  Townsville QLD24 July 2017
Friendly staff member's
good team environment
Learned a lot of things as being a educator and the admin support officer.
the hardest part about the job was managing the debt.
Pros
friendly staff members
Cons
salary wasn't great
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Judo
Judo teacher and instructor current (Current Employee) –  Arana Hills QLD17 May 2017
i love teaching judo to new kids

i think that its a perfect balance for me at the moment considering that i am studing my English and maths at grovely tafe.
Pros
its fits around my judo training everyday and tafe, job security
Cons
its not everyday
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Same as my other review
Volunteer at Crestmead (Current Employee) –  Crestmead QLD21 December 2016
please check my other review on the PCYC and how their management team operated. what the every day worklife was like and other things mentioned
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 7Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good way to give back
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD14 November 2016
It was good volunteering at the Pcyc because it had kind people and you always had something to keep yourself busy no matter what was happening that day
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
help run the activities for the disabled
Work Experience Student (Former Employee) –  Toowoomba QLD12 July 2016
was good at times, when we weren't doing anything because we had done everything and workers did nothing while we did everything
Pros
none
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Childcare worker (Former Employee) –  Hervey Bay QLD6 June 2016
Would start my shift by marking my role then would head over to my activity for the day. Have lunch with the kids and would monitor they're doing the right thing till lunch time was over and the next activity would be started. Ended the day with some free time or games room as the kids would head home we'd start cleaning up & preparing for the next day.
All co-workers we're awesome to work with and helpful.
I learned a lot of myself working this job and a lot about children and their behaviors.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy work environment
sac assistant (Former Employee) –  minden qld3 March 2016
easy work environment
kids were great
friendly staff
lacking of training
i learned what not to do in child care and
how to do stuff the right way
Pros
kids
Cons
split shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great Team Environment made all the difference
Childcare Coordinator (Former Employee) –  PCYC Mackay2 March 2016
Having a great team of Educators to work with and seeing them grow within their working capacity. The children were the highlight of my time at PCYC Mackay
Pros
Free lunches at staff meetings
Cons
Some days more challenging than others
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working their was a fun way to interact with both children and adults.
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Blackwater QLD17 February 2016
It started at around 6, Friday night skating. i mopped the floors and handed out shoes, keeping then sanitary. I learnt communication skills.
Pros
Interacting with children
Cons
The oder
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pcyc Pinerivers allows you to be creative, and learn. People are amazing and inspiring.
Personal Trainer & Crossfit coach (Current Employee) –  Brisbane, QLD13 September 2015
I love working with our community and sense of satisfaction, staff are amazing and inspiring positive people. Allows me to grow and learn and to be creative and free as a trainer and coach.
Pros
Free coffee. Continue to advance my studies.
Cons
Hours are staggered thats the nature of my business.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff, very helpful and friendly work environment
Volunteer/Work experience (Former Employee) –  Cairns, QLD6 August 2015
I did one week work experience at Cairns PCYC from 22/06/15-26/06/15. My coworkers were excellent and by the end of the week 2 of them had agreed to be referees for my resume. I learned how to do archiving by alphabet and date, i learned how to partake in new activities, how to supervise children, and most importantly how to become part of a team.
Pros
Great staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at PCYC Queensland. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 33 reviews
516
49
35
22
11

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.1Salary/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.1Culture