Qantas Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love to work in the airport, seeing people going out on holiday
Bar & Barista (Current Employee) –  Melbourne Airport VIC18 October 2018
I work in the Qantas First class lounge as a Bar & Barista, work in early morning as a opening person, my job is to set up the restaurant & bar get things ready before the first passage comes in for the first flight of the day.
I love making drinks from coffee to cocktail, founding the right drinks for the customers, build up customer skills & thrive in a busy work place.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
not much of challenge
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flying with QANTAS. Best job off the face of the earth.
Flight Attendant (Current Employee) –  Brisbane Airport QLD5 September 2018
QANTAS is an amazing place to work as a flight attendant and most F/As agree that colleagues are closer than family. There is a very unique bond that comes from working in a highly safety sensitive environment. The training is constant and assists in other areas of life. Flight attendants have fantastic communication skills and learn quickly to deal with any situation presented. It is the most wonderful job off the face of the earth. I've seen the world, made life long friends and had world class experiences. If you want to fly for a career dont let anything (including yourself) stop you. :)
Pros
Leaving the ground, new people and places.
Cons
Shift work. But its very happy shift work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work at.
Freight Operations Agent (Former Employee) –  Mascot NSW2 September 2018
Main role was Customer Service Agent servicing customers with incoming freight requirements and also Export requirements. Everybody was friendly and helpful in the workplace. Interaction with customer and helping them was the highlight of the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW31 August 2018
I loved the constant communication and collaboration between colleagues. If there a problem, you could always ask another colleague for assistance
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work especially if you want to explore the world with staff travel
Airline Service Operator (Transport) (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW29 August 2018
Good people and place to work.
Traffic getting to and from work can be a nightmare.
On the whole very little to complain about cold mornings and windy days are the worst of it.
Pros
Staff travel
Cons
Cold mornings and traffic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Treasury Settlements Officer (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW29 July 2018
Although I was only on a 12 month contact, working at Qantas was excellent. Good people, Management good and I'm going to miss the place once my contract ends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good if you're looking to mostly work on your free days
Baggage Handler Casual (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC26 July 2018
the hardest part of the job is the shift work it can mess up your sleeping pattern, management is very polite and understanding, very cruisy and easy job if you don't have other commitments such as uni, or anything that requires a lot of your spare time
Pros
Good people, good benefits, easy job
Cons
early hours, shift work, hard to balance with something such as uni
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Employer
Aircraft Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC23 July 2018
I am very pro Qantas and always enjoyed working for them, during my periods of employment I worked from the ground up and I am familiar with all aircraft types
Cons
I am accustomed to long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Culture and Amazing Senior leadership Team
Executive Manager (Current Employee) –  Sydney15 July 2018
Excellent Career opportunities
Supportive Leadership Team
Flexible Working hours
Empowered culture
Support for further education
Wonderful networking opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun place to work, great people
Fleet Presentation (Former Employee) –  Sydney Kingsford Smith Airport NSW9 July 2018
a fast pace environment.

learnt how a team of 11/12 can work hand in hand and knows exactly what their role is.

fun relaxed yet hardworking culture.

hardest part was setting alarm for 0300 hrs as earliest shift was 0430 hrs.

most enjoyable part of the job was the team I worked with, fun , loud but totally got the job done and of course the amazing flight benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Aircraft Maintenance Engineer (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD7 July 2018
Friendly Staff, many resources available to work. They offer a world class training, and work places have strict health and safety rules, gives more opportunities to improve the career
Pros
Staff Travel
Cons
Good Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits, poor culture and management
Flight Attendant (Former Employee) –  Brisbane Airport QLD13 June 2018
Working for Qantas, you get great staff benefits with discounted flights, industry discounts and interesting training. However, management don't treat their staff well. They often manipulate younger staff into high stress and fatigue levels, make promises of work-life balance and then change their mind and force staff back into unsafe levels of work. Would recommend going with other airlines to really get a good idea of what being a flight attendant is like.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and interesting
Ground operations (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW6 June 2018
There was always something new or interesting happening. Diverse work place. In the reservation centre, did general reservations, Holiday Travel Reservations. At Airport did Customer Check in, Ticketing (domestic and International) Ramp duties ( meeting aircraft on arrival, opening doors arranging wheelchairs etc) and International Load Control (weight and balance mathematically of the aircraft to make sure aircraft not overnight for take off , landing etc, baggage/cargo placed so aircraft balanced for flight, flap settings worked out for pilots to set to ensure aircraft took off correctly with particular load onboard.) Also looked after visiting military and vIP aircraft.
Pros
Discount air fares, diverse job, a lot of the work outside. Overtime always offered
Cons
Not good for family life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to get a lot of different job exposure
Inventory Analyst (Former Employee) –  Tullamarine based4 June 2018
Qantas is a fantastic place to work at ..
I left because of family reasons ... would like to go back there if it was not so far from where i reside..
Pros
Educational
Cons
very commited
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avionics Technitian
Avionics Technician (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW15 May 2018
The camaraderie that existed and feeling off belonging. The work was always satisfying.
The challenges
There was too much red tape, too many new initiatives that wasted resources and then trying to compete with overseas markets on cost making the department competitive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place I've worked
IT (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW7 May 2018
Great in so many ways, such an interesting place to work with great people and benefits. Only draw back is the almost constant restructures which are often not well managed.
Pros
Staff Travel
Cons
Restructures
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overal goos place to work
Airline Services Orderly (Current Employee) –  Melbourne Northern Suburbs VIC6 May 2018
24/7 roster, loading unloading aircraft with heavy freight, the ability to load and restrain heavy freight, push aircraft and use heavy machinery to load aircraft and supervise loading of aircraft ,management is very good and understanding, work culture can be difficult sometimes, hardest part of the jobs is the rotating shift rosters.
enjoyable is watching a fully loaded aircraft take off
Pros
i can earn good money putting in long hours
Cons
very low hourly rate, not very family friendly roster
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Process Worker / Pick packer (Former Employee) –  Mascot NSW5 April 2018
Fun environment and also get the jobs done , people are very friendly.

The company has loved upto their name . They also treat their workers as their own
Pros
Free bfast n lunch n dinner
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work. Life long friendships
Ground Crew - Supervisor/Leading Hand/Allocator (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW4 April 2018
No two days are ever the same............ A great place to work!!! Met so many fantastic people. I learned alot about myself and the different situations I encountered.
Pros
Friendships
Cons
Shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 13NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team based work environment
Airside Service Operator (Current Employee) –  Brisbane Airport QLD4 April 2018
Qantas was a great place to work with when i first joined. A typical day would be using RF scanners to scan bags into various flights, and you would get assigned a belt to work on that have numerous flights going through each everyday. There is also Arrivals which is unloading of bags onto belts that lead out to the Arrivals Hall for passengers to claim their luggage. We also drive Tow Tractors to take out barrows and cans of bags out to the plane.

Hardest part of the job is the repetitiveness, but with the friendships you make it becomes an afterthought.

When i first started it was spouted as a 'land of opportunity' yet as the years went on it was clear after many attempts to progress that it wasn't the case.

The one thing that's kept me there so long is the job security. They are very lenient and sympathetic towards the workers when leave is needed or tardiness etc.

As good as Qantas has been to me, it's time for a change.
Pros
great team, job security, staff travel
Cons
No progression
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Qantas. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 296 reviews
5121
4102
352
29
112

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.7Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.9Culture