Qantas Employee Reviews

Found 232 reviews matching the search See all 305 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Qantas as employer
Ramp / Cargo driver (Former Employee) –  Perth Air23 November 2018
Roster system benefits the company and not the employee, trying to get a sleep pattern is impossible and effects health and social activities.
Pay is just a minimal wage with bonuses it barely covers expenses.
Management is top heavy and not really interested in personal issues but focused on feathering their position
Training was excellent
Safety was good
Work conditions were good but had to endure all weather conditions from heavy rain to 40deg days on the tarmac.
Work is not really hard but is very repetitive, this combined with being tired from odd hours means mistakes occasionally happen.
Enjoyed interaction with other staff as they were all friendly and supportive to get the job done.
Pros
Cheap business seat flights - if available
Cons
7 day roster and hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for.
Q Catering / Property Facilities Manager WA (Current Employee) –  Perth WA21 November 2018
A good place to work as the day to day environment is constantly changing, bringing new and challenging opportunities. We have a good workplace culture within our team, and a can do attitude for this fast paced role.
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flexible and enjoyable workplace with friendly team members
School Based Traineeship (Former Employee) –  Alexandria NSW, Mascot NSW12 November 2018
A typical day at work at the Qantas offices involved a range of administration duties such as filing, printing, laminating, organising and assisting others, as well as computer based duties.

What I learned was how to use various machines, strong teamwork skills and what is expected of an office workplace.

Management at the Qantas offices comprised of effective allocation of employee skills such as mine with regard to my tasks undertaken and listening to employee feedback to reach effective productivity.

The workplace culture at the offices was amazing, as I made new friends and connections within the aviation and hospitality industry.

The hardest part of the job was adapting to new workplace experiences such as computer interaction and overcoming communication barriers by reaching new confidence levels.

The most enjoyable part of the job was working with a range of people that were both committed and welcoming, as well as good mentors to guide me through the workplace and job requirements.
Pros
Gaining experience to kickstart my career into the aviation industry.
Cons
Missing out on school days and study commitments.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
overall i love my job (baggage)
Aircraft Service Operator (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW31 October 2018
work culture is pathetic, i didnt think it was even possible for a workplace work ethic to be so poor, but benefits are great, job is easy and there is lots of down time
Pros
staff travel and other benefits
Cons
no full time work, pay is poor
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work life balance
Cell Leader (Current Employee) –  Melbourne Airport VIC30 October 2018
Variety and challenging roles within the company and a place where you enjoy going to work. The staff travel benefits are good and the people you meant become long life friends.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Reasonable
Duty Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Adelaide SA28 October 2018
Average working environment poor work life balance good staff management relations stable and consistent working conditions unsociable working hours good training availablilty
Pros
Good stability
Cons
Poor work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love to work in the airport, seeing people going out on holiday
Bar & Barista (Current Employee) –  Melbourne Airport VIC18 October 2018
I work in the Qantas First class lounge as a Bar & Barista, work in early morning as a opening person, my job is to set up the restaurant & bar get things ready before the first passage comes in for the first flight of the day.
I love making drinks from coffee to cocktail, founding the right drinks for the customers, build up customer skills & thrive in a busy work place.
Pros
free lunches
Cons
not much of challenge
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Company I have ever worked
Catering Assistant and OH&S Committee member (Former Employee) –  Mascot NSW27 September 2018
Best Company I have ever worked. The management, staff, work place environment, cultural diversity practicing is spectacular. Its won strategy attract any one to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Flying with QANTAS. Best job off the face of the earth.
Flight Attendant (Current Employee) –  Brisbane Airport QLD5 September 2018
QANTAS is an amazing place to work as a flight attendant and most F/As agree that colleagues are closer than family. There is a very unique bond that comes from working in a highly safety sensitive environment. The training is constant and assists in other areas of life. Flight attendants have fantastic communication skills and learn quickly to deal with any situation presented. It is the most wonderful job off the face of the earth. I've seen the world, made life long friends and had world class experiences. If you want to fly for a career dont let anything (including yourself) stop you. :)
Pros
Leaving the ground, new people and places.
Cons
Shift work. But its very happy shift work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable place to work at.
Freight Operations Agent (Former Employee) –  Mascot NSW2 September 2018
Main role was Customer Service Agent servicing customers with incoming freight requirements and also Export requirements. Everybody was friendly and helpful in the workplace. Interaction with customer and helping them was the highlight of the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Administration Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW31 August 2018
I loved the constant communication and collaboration between colleagues. If there a problem, you could always ask another colleague for assistance
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work especially if you want to explore the world with staff travel
Airline Service Operator (Transport) (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW29 August 2018
Good people and place to work.
Traffic getting to and from work can be a nightmare.
On the whole very little to complain about cold mornings and windy days are the worst of it.
Pros
Staff travel
Cons
Cold mornings and traffic.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Treasury Settlements Officer (Current Employee) –  Sydney NSW29 July 2018
Although I was only on a 12 month contact, working at Qantas was excellent. Good people, Management good and I'm going to miss the place once my contract ends.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good if you're looking to mostly work on your free days
Baggage Handler Casual (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC26 July 2018
the hardest part of the job is the shift work it can mess up your sleeping pattern, management is very polite and understanding, very cruisy and easy job if you don't have other commitments such as uni, or anything that requires a lot of your spare time
Pros
Good people, good benefits, easy job
Cons
early hours, shift work, hard to balance with something such as uni
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Employer
Aircraft Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Melbourne VIC23 July 2018
I am very pro Qantas and always enjoyed working for them, during my periods of employment I worked from the ground up and I am familiar with all aircraft types
Cons
I am accustomed to long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Culture and Amazing Senior leadership Team
Executive Manager (Current Employee) –  Sydney15 July 2018
Excellent Career opportunities
Supportive Leadership Team
Flexible Working hours
Empowered culture
Support for further education
Wonderful networking opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very fun place to work, great people
Fleet Presentation (Former Employee) –  Sydney Kingsford Smith Airport NSW9 July 2018
a fast pace environment.

learnt how a team of 11/12 can work hand in hand and knows exactly what their role is.

fun relaxed yet hardworking culture.

hardest part was setting alarm for 0300 hrs as earliest shift was 0430 hrs.

most enjoyable part of the job was the team I worked with, fun , loud but totally got the job done and of course the amazing flight benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work place
Aircraft Maintenance Engineer (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD7 July 2018
Friendly Staff, many resources available to work. They offer a world class training, and work places have strict health and safety rules, gives more opportunities to improve the career
Pros
Staff Travel
Cons
Good Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits, poor culture and management
Flight Attendant (Former Employee) –  Brisbane Airport QLD13 June 2018
Working for Qantas, you get great staff benefits with discounted flights, industry discounts and interesting training. However, management don't treat their staff well. They often manipulate younger staff into high stress and fatigue levels, make promises of work-life balance and then change their mind and force staff back into unsafe levels of work. Would recommend going with other airlines to really get a good idea of what being a flight attendant is like.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and interesting
Ground operations (Former Employee) –  Sydney NSW6 June 2018
There was always something new or interesting happening. Diverse work place. In the reservation centre, did general reservations, Holiday Travel Reservations. At Airport did Customer Check in, Ticketing (domestic and International) Ramp duties ( meeting aircraft on arrival, opening doors arranging wheelchairs etc) and International Load Control (weight and balance mathematically of the aircraft to make sure aircraft not overnight for take off , landing etc, baggage/cargo placed so aircraft balanced for flight, flap settings worked out for pilots to set to ensure aircraft took off correctly with particular load onboard.) Also looked after visiting military and vIP aircraft.
Pros
Discount air fares, diverse job, a lot of the work outside. Overtime always offered
Cons
Not good for family life.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Qantas. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 305 reviews
5125
4104
354
210
112

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
3.9Salary/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.9Culture