Queensland Ambulance Service Employee Reviews

Found 19 reviews matching the search See all 22 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Honest work
Senior Operations Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Spring Hill QLD20 May 2019
No two days are the same - depending on your work position, it can be either 'no time to breathe' busy or 'get everything done' steady. There are a number of avenues for advancement if you are willing to apply yourself.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Paramedic (Former Employee) –  Ipswich QLD17 March 2019
Had fun, enjoyed the other staffs company. Everyone was willing to teach and learn/ work together. I was able to experience lots of different areas of working in hotels eg. room service and events management
Pros
Communication team work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very exzilorating
Honorary Ambulance Officer (Former Employee) –  Cleveland QLD24 January 2019
everyday was exciting to come to work because everyday was different one day you could do a motor vehicle accident the next you could be doing a hospital transfer or delivering a baby.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
staff extremely helpful & fun to work with. casual job.
Technical Officer [TO3] & Admin Officer [AO2] (Former Employee) –  Spring Hill QLD18 December 2018
the team members were extremely helpful as this was the first time I had done administration work. learned an awful lot in the 10 weeks I was there.
also all team from mangers to the guys on the floor very approachable & share a joke. made the days glide by.
Pros
no stress regarding clock watching for time keeping
Cons
alas only a temp/casual job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job with rewarding benefits of saving lives
Intensive Care Paramedic (Former Employee) –  Brisbane QLD16 September 2018
A typical day at work would involve attending many emergencies and assisting other crews with my advanced life support skills and drug therapies.
I would check medical equipment and vehicle before every shift.
Pros
Good shift times and appropriate days off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding job
QLD (Former Employee) –  QLD31 August 2018
A rewarding job with many great opportunities to help, management is not forgiving, long hours, great salary sacrificing opportunity, 9 weeks of leave per year.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaborative Team Atmosphere
Emergency Medical Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Townsville QLD12 February 2018
- Fast paced
- Organized and high stress job
- need great exposure to city locations, streets and cross roads
- able to handle a high stress situation and control it
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding
Ambulance Officer (Former Employee) –  Toowoomba QLD17 December 2017
Very demanding job. fast paced, must be able to think and plan a head for the best out come for your patient. must have good communication skills as you will be dealing with doctors and other health personal.
Pros
good wages and superannuation fund with free life time membership for you and your family
Cons
long hours and never ending on going training.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Qas
SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  Queensland6 September 2017
Good salary, average working conditions, good staff, decent management. Generally, any job within emergency services is predictably unpredictable so expect the same here. Slower pace of work out West, with different workplace cultures than the cities. If you can find a good roster, keep it as the days off are much needed. I would recommend working here.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working with QAS is extremely rewarding.
Emergency Medical Dispatcher (Former Employee) –  Townsville QLD5 June 2017
Working at QAS every day was never the same.
It was an extremely supportive environment and I enjoyed working with everyone there.
Hardest part of the job for me was dispatching of units.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Job
Emergency Paramedic (Ambulance Officer) (Former Employee) –  Queensland21 February 2017
Every day was different no two days were the same.

I learnt a lot about humanity,

Management were fair.

Work place culture was at times toxic.

Hardest part of the job was fatalities.

best part of the job obviously saving a life.
Pros
plenty of different experiences
Cons
Long shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work place enviroment, fellow workers,
Paramedic (Current Employee) –  Brisbane QLD7 July 2016
being a paramedic is a very rewarding career, being a front line health care professional has its ups and downs. each turn out is different, and you have to be prepared for any situation. working for this service has provided me with many skills that most people would take more then a life time to learn.
Pros
saving a life
Cons
loosing a life
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work but there was an overload of work
Administration officer (Former Employee) –  Townsville, QLD28 June 2015
Good experiences, Learnt a lot, I had a fantastic relationship with Co-workers unfortunately Management were not very supportive towards staff.
The most enjoyable part of my job was the variety of duties
the hardest part was not having enough support for the Volume of work over the period of time in my position the work load doubled but I was unable to get Management to give extra staff. also I was working at a A04 level and was paid as an A02 Hence why I left.
Pros
Salary Sacrifice
Cons
work overload
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to work
Advanced Care Paramedic (Former Employee) –  Mackay, QLD31 March 2015
Pre-start vehicle, stock and drug checks. Availability to attend any emergency and non emergent call out to the public. Attendance at a multitude of various accidents and emergency situations. Just pick any situation out of your mind, and I'd say I've probably attended to it in the past.
I learnt a lot about people, management, co-workers and the public.
Hardest part of the job was dealing with loss of children/babies.
Most enjoyable part was attending to emergencies, the team work of QAS,QFRS and QPS combined to deliver the best possible outcome for the patient/s.
Pros
Available overtime
Cons
Management not always reliable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good ambulance service
ADVANCED CARE PARAMEDIC LEVEL 2 (Current Employee) –  Gold Coast Australia2 May 2014
Good service to work for. Depending on the region you work for management can be a pain in the neck. But it is the same everywhere. Overall it is a good place to work.
Pros
great holidays
Cons
hardly any breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The people I work with make the workplace
Emergency Medical Dispatcher - QCC (Current Employee) –  Kedron Park3 January 2014
Shifts are 12 hours long day/night and there are a mixture of shifts
The hardest part of my job is not being able to perform my duties to the best of my ability.
The most enjoyable part of my work are the friendships I have made and the people I work with
I would prefer not to comment on management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good organisation to work for.
Senior Project Officer (Former Employee) –  Kedron (Brisbane), QLD14 March 2013
Very talented and progressive staff. I leant a lot and gained very valuable skills, knowledge and experience.
Pros
flexibility in my role.
Cons
some moments of high pressure but that is to be expected.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Salary/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team building skills
Emergency Medical Dispatcher (Current Employee) –  Rockhampton27 August 2012
Answering calls from the public re health issues and 000 calls. Dispatching of cars to scenes and sick people. Liaising with other Emergency Services and Allied Health. I learned to work as a team member and how to prioritize. Hardest parts were dealing with life and death situations. At the end of the day there was always the feeling that you accomplished something good.
Pros
team building. how to prioritize daily.
Cons
long hours. shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

See more Queensland Ambulance Service reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Queensland Ambulance Service. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 22 reviews
58
411
32
21
10

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
4.2Salary/Benefits
4.0Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
4.0Culture

Queensland Ambulance Service Reviews by Location